We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So, but very close to WEM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Edmonton Mall Inn
Ranked #62 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So-So, but very close to WEM”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I came for a conference at West Edmonton Mall. I see a review from three weeks ago that the elevator was down. It had not been repaired by this time of visit; fortunately I was only on the second floor. Room was clean but things are getting a little shabby and worn looking (carpet and bathroom particularly). I slept well and all was quiet. Staff were efficient and friendly enough. I came on expense account so normally I would pay a little more to stay someplace nicer - but if cost is a concern and you need to be near WEM, this is probably a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at West Edmonton Mall Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We have been working on upgrading our guest rooms and recently focused mainly on the bathrooms. Our goal is to provide the necessary upgrades in all of the guest rooms. Our team takes great pride in making sure our rooms are clean and that the service they are giving is friendly and efficient. We are definitely affordable with an excellent location right across from the mall. Thank you for your sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    66
    62
    29
    32
See reviews for
104
42
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel and it was great to be able to just walk across the street to the mall. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. I am coming back to Edmonton in June and will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at West Edmonton Mall Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. A clean and comfortable room together with friendly staff and top that with our location to the mall is what we take great pride in at West Edmonton Mall Inn. We are glad you had a great stay and we are looking forward to your return visit in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for the night of the 21st of April for a getaway with my kids to west Ed mall. This place was reasonably priced and could sell us attraction passes for very reasonable prices. We could buy as we decided instead of ordering online and committing.... The room was fine, the service was pleasant, we slept well and carried on. No complaints !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeldazebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at West Edmonton Mall Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Edmonton. I am glad you found West Edmonton Mall Inn to be a very good choice to stay, where you can get a reasonably priced room, discounted passes and pleasant customer service and a good sleep. We are looking forward to your next getaway with the kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The room was clean, has a mini-fridge, usual toiletries, but a big 50in LCD screen. Their breakfast consists of a jug of orange juice and regular bread for making toast, some jams. Front desk was accommodating since we arrived at noon and they managed to get us into our room that early. They have an underground parking, but it was nice enough out that we parked at the front of the hotel. Location, now that is their selling point, you are right in front of the West Edm. mall entrance that leads straight into Bourbon street, so is very convenient. We got this on an Expedia sale at $130 before taxes, and it was a bargain at that point, but I don't think I would pay anything over $150 to stay here. If you're facing towards the mall, it's a little noisy, especially since we had to open the window as the room was too hot and could not control it using the thermostat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the West Edmonton Mall Inn in for the weekend.The room itself was updated and the beds were comfortable.There are no frills like hand lotion,shower caps,room service ect...If you want bottled water you have to buy it.Not a big deal for me but our guests said they would never go back.The elevator was down when we arrived so we had to do the stairs.When our guests checked in the following day they could not locate one of their rooms.They had to wait in the lobby for 45 minutes until they found one(didn'tunderstand as all 3 rooms were bought and paid for)Eventually they found them a room but offered no apologies for the wait.Upon leaving we discovered we left a phone charger in the room.Phoned the hotel to see if they had it.They were supposed to phone us back but never did.Tried calling them today to see if we could pick it up but got disconnected after being put on hold...very frustrating dealing with the front staff.I don't know if management cares or not but they should be training their staff better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freespirit246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

If you are not looking for anything fancy and don't mind a few inconveniences, this hotel is sufficient. No frills, but the water pressure was frustrating, toilet had to be flushed repeatedly and door would not bolt properly. Also, the free 'breakfast' offered was coffee with powdered creamer, toast with peanut butter jam and orange juice. To those trying to eat healthy, you would be better off walking down to McDonald's for some oatmeal… pretty disappointing.
On the bright side, awesome location to some really good restaurant options, comfortable bed and pretty quiet during the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restless1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I am only rating the Inn 1 because I can't give it 0. Where do I even begin! First off the staff when I checked in around 4-5pm on Saturday were the only friendly staff. I chose this hotel due to the location and ease of access to West Edmonton Mall. The room itself was not very nice and needs upgrading the toilet was stained, the sheets on our bed had burn marks on them. When I forgot my key in my room the night auditor gave me a new key 4 times because everytime I went up to try the key it wouldn't open the which I was told this was apparently my fault, the 4th time the key finally worked after going up and down 4 times.The room did not have any extra blankets in it and the blankets that are on the beds are so thin, I froze all night. When I had checked in I asked if they gave AMA discounts and was told no however another person the hotel was told yes. When I went to checkout the next morning I noticed I was charged more than I when I had made the reservation when I booked online at the www.westedmontonmallinn.com so it wasn't even a 3rd party booking like expedia etc. When I checked out the older gentleman at the desk was angry and yelled at me that I should never book online and it was my fault and then proceeded to tell me he didn't have time for this "crap". After much debate and me having to show proof he finally refunded my money back to me. I will never stay here again and it was definitely not worth $169.00/night let alone the $200/night they were trying to charge me. I stay in hotels lots for work and work in a hotel and this kind of behaviour is unacceptable. I feel cheaped out for even having to pay for my room hotel with this kind of service and the state the rooms are in.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_cazzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
196 reviews
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
158 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Edmonton Mall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Edmonton Mall Inn

Property: West Edmonton Mall Inn
Address: West Edmonton Mall Hotel 17504 90 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 6L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Edmonton Mall Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your West Edmonton Mall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Edmonton Mall Hotel Edmonton
West Edmonton Inn
West Mall Edmonton
West Mall Hotel Edmonton
West Edmonton Mall Inn Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing