We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in need of renovation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Edmonton Mall Inn
Ranked #65 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Forestburg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location but in need of renovation.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights and found the hotel ideally located by West Edmonton Mall. The room was clean, the hotel staff was friendly. Many things were but working when I was there: no pay movies, door to underground parking, toilet was plugged! Staff did offer complementary wi-fi in lieu of the pay per view movie so they was a nice gesture. I was unfortunate to have partiers across the hall at 2 am.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at West Edmonton Mall Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you enjoyed the West Edmonton Mall right across the street. I will definitely share your compliments regarding the cleanliness of the room and staff friendliness with the entire team. I would like to apologize our pay-per-view movie system was not available at that time; Shaw Cable recently upgraded our system that affected this. However, this is currently being work on and we expect to have it running again in a couple of weeks. We have also started renovating our guest rooms so we hope to showcase this with you on your next trip to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    66
    62
    29
    32
See reviews for
104
42
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This stay was okay. Nothing great. Rooms are old and in need of a really good cleaning, service was polite but not overly friendly . For the premium price I expected better. Will try something just a little further down the road next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Swm655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed with my on in January 2013 for 4 nights.
The room was very clean and everything worked fine.
The location is very good, the West Edmonton Mall is right across the
road and parking even with a trailer no problem.
Very friendly people and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whitehorse1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here as we couldn't afford the FantasyLand Hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and the proximity to the mall was excellent. You cross the lights and go through the carpark and you are at the Bourbon Street entrance to the Mall. It was close enough not to need to wear a winter coat. I didn't want to carry it around the Mall! You are there in 2 minutes.
The hotel itself is clean and basic. There is no room service or breakfast room in the building so be aware of that. There is a small fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The Wifi was on a promotion so we got it for free which was nice. It also worked throughout the Mall.
We had a problem with our cable not working, and the hotel gave us a complimentary breakfast for 2 at the FantasyLand hotel which was a nice bonus that we were not expecting. The service was great from the front desk staff. They were very helpful and always had a smile.
It was a good hotel exactly where we needed it. If you are not expecting a full service place then this is your best bet.
Only thing, if travelling down on the weekend, be aware there is lots of young people who travel in to go to the nightclubs and pubs in the mall. The rooms are not soundproof and they were quite loud and noisy while getting ready having a few drinks and when coming home drunk. It didn't bother us as we were awake, but we could see how it would bother other guests.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms came with 2 queen size beds. I think this is standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I usually stay in cheap hotels. However, this was day 14 of a cross-country road trip, and I wanted something nice and close to the mall. I spent a bit more than normal on this hotel.
It was lovely that they called us, and made sure we were doing well, before we got there. I appreciated the personalized touch.
It was really close to the mall.
Since you are paying for a nicer hotel, of course you are going to have things like a clean room, huge TV, nice staff, free apples on the check-in counter, soundproof walls, a gigantic king bed, and a beautiful bathroom. However, since these things tend not to bother me too much if they are absent (minus clean sheets), paying to have them there didn't make me feel like I was getting a great deal (notably since some of these things are featured in less expensive hotels). That being said, if you are the type of person who needs (or, really likes) comfortable spaces, super-clean rooms, and a very comfortable stay, paying for this hotel might be worth it.
If you are the type of person who carries an extra sheet when you travel (since you're fine with sleeping in disgusting spaces...as long as you have your own sheet), have been comfortable in rooms that smell like old smoke, and are fine with hearing the noise of other guests, you can save your money, and stay somewhere less expensive.
The proximity to the mall was super-cool.

Oh, one thing I had to mention.. we asked the person at the front desk if it is safe to drive from Edmonton to Jasper after dark. She said we'd be safe, and it would be fine. It is actually incredibly unsafe for people who are not used to dark roads in an old car. So, don't listen to them if you're from a flat place, and if they tell you driving to Jasper is safe in the dark! She was really nice, though!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed for the night and for paying $200/ night we were very disappointed to say the least.This room is outdated,bottom of the line everything and extremely small.I would have gladly paid $100/ night for this room at least then you know what your getting.The only thing this hotel has is location but the price still doesn't make up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myadevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Yellowknife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for just one night, and I was thankful that it was only one night. The hotel rooms, and the hotel itself, is very outdated and in need of some renovations.

The room was dingy and I am always worried about very dark carpet. What stains is it hiding? The TV remote didn't work, the bathroom was very small and not clean. The shower head was grungy and in need of a good scrubbing.

Didn't have a very good sleep. Feet were itchy, kept imagining bed bugs. Didn't see any, but imagined them there.

For the price we paid, not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedgi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#58 of 93 in Edmonton
202 reviews
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
179 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Edmonton Mall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Edmonton Mall Inn

Property: West Edmonton Mall Inn
Address: West Edmonton Mall Hotel 17504 90 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 6L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — West Edmonton Mall Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Edmonton Mall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Edmonton Mall Hotel Edmonton
West Edmonton Inn
West Mall Edmonton
West Mall Hotel Edmonton
West Edmonton Mall Inn Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing