We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Sweet Mango

Sweet Mango
Ranked #995 of 2,424 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My supervisor took me for lunch here. I found the food very bland and of little taste. The food seemed a little overpriced and of inferior quality than similar type of restaurant such as Doan's. The service was fast and good as it was towards the end of the lunch break.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RHJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“3.5 for good value and service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was in the average range for food quality, atmosphere and service. We were there a year ago and it was about the same. Portions were good and well priced especially with a coupon. What knocked it down from a 4 was that our meals were served separately, about 8 minutes apart without an apology or explanation. Both were standard fare, one vermicelli and the other Pad Thai. The vermicelli arrived about 7 minutes after ordering which was pretty fast. 15 minute service is still acceptable, but when it spaces the meals this way it deserves an explanation. The other issue with the service was we were asked if we wanted desert before both of us had finished eating which made my partner feel a bit rushed, though the eatery was far from full. The only real deficiencies food wise were that the grilled chicken pieces in both selections were a bit dry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Raynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food Wow, Service Wow. Our new Favorite in Edmonton.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We love Asian food and this was the very best, freshest we've ever had. Wow. Extremely reasonably priced, Ample portions and our waitress was GENUINELY nice. Wow. Just over $50 (including 1 dessert) and our family could barely eat it all. You have to try the Szechuan Beef here. We love Ginger Beef, but after trying theirs, we have a new favorite. The decor could have used some attention, but set that aside and enjoy the food and service. Did I mention we were there without a reservation and on a Statutory Holiday? It made our day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Gosh, where to start! Was here for a birthday dinner for my mother in law. Service was OK but I'm being generous. Our waitress was nice although was quick and sharply reminded my grandfather that she was taking appetizer orders. She took everyone's drink order but neglected to ask two people at the end. Food was awful! I had the Thai Chicken curry, it was OK at best. Way to much veggies, way too little chicken and curry. Rice came out dry. I also ordered the peanut sate soup. They should rename it FLAVORLESS OIL SOUP. Full of oil, absolutely no flavor, just oily slime. I've had diarrhea every since eating here. Want an example of good sate soup, go to Doans, way better food, much better decor and atmosphere. AVOID THIS PLACE, TRUST ME!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Awdil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

great food & nice portions. large variety on the menu. i had springrolls, deep friend wontons & a meatball & beef soup...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Mango also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Sweet Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing