We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid food. Great value.”

Tres Carnales Taqueria
Ranked #6 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (780) 429-0911
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid food. Great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We hit this place on our first night in Edmonton and weren't disappointed.

Great value, large portions, and a beauty Frida Kahlo painting.

Overall, some of the best Mexican I've had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotAnotherRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    206
    68
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent but busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is always very busy it seems. Anytime I even walk by there its busy. But its understandable since the food there is amazing. Authentic Mexican food at a good price. Service was great. Look forward to going there again next time I am in the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Need to put the brakes on service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I met two friends for an early supper, and we decided to share orders of fish/chicken/pork tacos so we didn't have to decide! You put in your order before being seated, so I asked if we could have a few minutes with our chips, guacumole, and pitcher of sangria before the mains. They said no problem, but their 'few minutes' was about 3 minutes. So we had a table of food to eat before it got cold. Next time I'll delay, and order the mains one at a time, so we could savour them while hot, because they really are too good to rush. Of course, this would only work when it was slow like our visit, as you would have to stand in line again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

If you're craving that authentic Mexican dining experience than this is the place to go.

The staff are very friendly and happy. All of the waitresses help clean tables in this high traffic. restaurant. They are always smiling and willing to spend an extra second talking to customers.

The food is incredible and delicious to the pallet. The tacos here are quite small but taste great. You get three tacos for 10 dollars and they are each cute mini tacos.

I have not tried anything else other than the tacos but I'm certain the rest of the food is equally as delicious. Tacos came in pulled pork, chicken and other flavors as well.

This would be a good place for a date or a study group.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roomreviewer1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tres Carnales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went with friends on the weekend to try this place that everyone has been raving about. We were there before 5pm and had to wait in a line because they don't take reservations. You have to place your order at the counter then go sit down. The lady taking our order was explaining to us how to order but could hardly hear over the speaker right over our head. it took less than 5 minutes for our food to arrive. I had fish tacos that were very tasty but not sure what all the hype is about. It is a fried fish with some toppings. Other people had different dishes that were OK but nothing that really jumped out at us. Dinner was good but we felt rushed with a couple girls lurking around taking stuff off the table constantly. It was very loud too, we had to try to talk over loud music and bad acoustics. Big shout out to my Fans Frank and Sharon!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirtidawg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Carnales Taqueria also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Tres Carnales Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing