We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable in an older hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable in an older hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and has great friendly staff. The staff are there to assist you and you feel that when walking in. They welcome you with a smile and you don't feel as though you are getting in their way. Finally! Somewhere that knows how to treat a customer - Thanks.

The hotel is older and is showing her age but that is not a bad thing. It is clean and comfortable. The beds and bedding are top rated. We slept like babies.

The restaurant is a little small but the food is great. We ordered off the menu and had the breakfast buffet and both were quite good.

Yup, would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    318
    126
    51
    41
See reviews for
147
146
66
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Edmonton. (and I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the years - even the top priced down town Edmonton hotels and the other Coast options). The Coast Edmonton Plaza is reasonably priced, the people working there are excellent and the room is quiet and comfortable. I love how each time I go there the room's configuration is different... I've even been put in rooms with a conference table! A couple of weeks ago when I reserved my trip for last week I was only able to secure a smoking room. (which wouldn't be ideal) When I called back mid last week to see if a non smoking room had opened up it turned out that they had already switched me to a non smoking room. The location is great and the amenities within the hotel are very nice too. This is most definitely worth checking out if you haven't stayed there yet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Procollola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed here numerous times, and being in the business I can sometimes be picky about the hotels I stay in. The staff are great, the rooms are perfect for my needs and the location is exactly where I need to be. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasoncalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times and always come back when we visit Edmonton. The rooms and facilities are nice and the indoor pool and fitness centre are also good. The staff are very helpful and friendly. For those who like staying downtown, the location is quiet and an easy walk to Jasper Ave and 101 avenue shopping areas and the new indoor markets, as well as numerous restaurants. We think it's great value for the price and we noted that a lot of airline staff stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floors have less traffice noise, Try to stay on the west side for great sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was really great. The staff were extremely friendly. The beds were fabulous. Big room. I was here for a meeting and the food was excellent. I slept well. The meeting rooms were large. Only poor point was we had to travel from meeting room on first floor to the other meeting room in the basement - down some stairs, which was odd and the meeting room downstairs was pretty small, so check that out. The manager at this hotel was extremely helpful and went out of his way to ensure I had a my travel back to the airport handled just right. I was extremely impressed and would definitely use this hotel again. I didn't find the hotel dated at all. Didn't go downtown - so cannot comment on the location.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room that is higher up to avoid the noise from the street but I was on the 8th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkswithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you in Edmonton and want to stay close to the downtown, this is the hotel you should stay at! Walking distance to the downtown, very clean and has all you need for a weekend brake in Edmonton. They have a swimming pool and jacuzzi, but did not get to use it as it was closed for the private party.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1nga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel has seen better days but for the price is a good bargain in downtown Edmonton. My room was very clean and the bed very comfortable as were the pillows. I did find the room dark despite the lighting but the internet service was great. The bathroom was adequate but I was up on the 16th floor and it took a long time to get hot water to the taps and the bath tub plug was a pain. The bathroom actually could do with a good reno. It is only a block away from the LRT which was handy and three blocks away from Eaton Center for shopping. Edmonton closes down at night and does not feel very safe so I would suggest just taking the LRT out to the Southgate Mall for shopping and to walk around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pottylorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#22 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#39 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel

Property: Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Address: 10155 105th St, Edmonton, Alberta AB T5J 1E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#27 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Hotel convenient to Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing