We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free
Ranked #15 of 2,473 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: whyte avenue
Description: Continental Treat Fine Bistor. Taste of Europe . Gluten Free
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a regular visit for us, particularly in the winter time when thoughts turn to great soup, warm meals, and a cozy ambiance. I have not strayed far from the schnitzel options, which are consistently crispy, omits, and flavourful. I forego the sauces but always ask for spatzle which adds a buttery taste.

One could go on at great length about the dill pickle soup, but suffice it to say it is one of the truly phenomenal flavours out there. I Strongly encourage everyone to make it part of their meal. Borscht is also very good but in this city where everyone has a Ukrainian baba or knows one, it faces far more competition!

One little niggle, which only happened on our last trip and which I hope was a mistake and not standard practice, was the automatic service charge. I understand and accept this practice for large groups but for our party of 4 it seemed unnecessary. I am more than willing to tip and more than capable of calculating same. I felt a little put off after a great meal, feeling like the restaurant had decided we would not be good tippers for some reason.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you for the great review! We love hearing from our regulars and what items keep bringing them back in to dine with us. The schnitzel and Dill Pickle Soup are always great options and we're glad that you enjoy them as much as we do.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the gratuity issue. We have no doubt that you are a generous tipper and will look further into what happened there.

We can't wait to see you back in soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    84
    27
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Edmonton”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been eating at the Continental Treat pretty well since it opened in the early 1980ties and have never been disappointed in the food and the service. Like others have already commented our favourite is as well the Schnitzel and the Dill Pickle soup. This is just our preference - every other menu option is great as well. The restaurant has definitely a nice "old world" flavour. The service is always great and friendly. If you go there in the evening you may want to make a reservation - particularly on weekends!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertstadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Wow - your favorite restaurant in Edmonton?! We appreciate that very much! We strive to make sure that our service and food exceeds expectations every time and are happy that you enjoy everything so much - especially the Dill Pickle Soup and Schnitzel. Thank you so much for your continued patronage and we can't wait to see you back in soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always the best meal of the stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Several years ago my husband, friend and I were walking down Whyte Ave looking for a place to take our friend to dinner for her birthday.
We passed a couple sitting by the window and noticed they were eating Schnitzel.
We love Schnitzel.
Lisa and I put our faces right up to the window and did a thumbs up/down with the questioning expression. Two thumbs up and some laughter.
We wandered a bit and came back. After wiping our nose prints from the glass, we went inside to a warm welcoming atmosphere and the best meal we'd had in ages.
This is now our go to Edmonton dining choice.
The Schnitzel is supreme. We always swap out potatoes for spatzle (the potatoes are sublime but we love our spatzle).
Mushroom sauce to die for. I might kill you if you take mine. Get your own. They serve it in individual gravy boats. One for you, two for me.
The Dill Pickle soup is as good as everyone says. The Borscht is my fave.
The daily special is always fool-proof if you can't decide. We substitute like crazy and have never had any problems.
In return visits my husband has mowed through several meat combos and much beer.

Last visit was mid-October before going to see Ronnie Burkett's Daisy Theatre at the
Citadel. We ate Schnitzel, we saw Schnitzel.
One of our party was late so we ordered for her and everything came out with plenty of time to spare.
The service is excellent. A real old world European experience.
I worked the last 10 years of Franzel's Gasthaus in Calgary in the 80's and am fully aware of what an amazing job they do at Continental Treat.

All of the side dishes are brilliant on their own (Mmmmm warm beets, purple cabbage….) and the execution and presentation of the main dishes is spot on.
Oma and Opa never had it so good.
Warm Strudel with fresh Cream is the only way to go after eating your way through Europe. The Beer and Wine lists are extensive. Knock yourself out.

Continental Treat strikes me as a more grown up place. They are probably child friendly but I can see some patrons might not appreciate the under 13 or just too-young-for-fine-dining kids.
I would take my 10 year old nieces there in a heartbeat and not be concerned about their behaviour. They know how the rules.

Value for Money is fantastic. This dining experience is worth every cent. Quality is top notch. Not cheap by any means. Who wants discount Schnitzel or cheap Bratwurst?
You get what you pay for.
Well, not always in the real world but always at this establishment.
Honestly, every time we've visited we have been most satisfied, full of food and treated like royalty.
Not planning a move to Edmonton yet, We'll have to wait for the next visit.
Thank You so much Continental Treat for all of your great work.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loonsatlarge_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We love hearing stories about how customers first tried Continental Treat Fine Bistro and your story is at the top! We are also glad that you have tried so many of our menu items and appreciate all the care that goes into making them. We try to put as much "old world" charm into everything that we do - from presentation to decor to meal preparation - so that we can provide the best meal and service possible. Again, thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you back in soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Wine!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch at this very fine resturaunt.
It was pleasant, cosy and the atmosphere was brilliant!
The food was really delicious and the service excellent! I would definitely recommend this lovely resturaunt which is in a great location on Whyte in Edmonton..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review Billie! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and that both the food and service were excellent, We strive to provide the best food and service possible so getting feedback that we are meeting that expectation is always great to hear.Can't wait to see you back in soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Continental Eat”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Despite the bizarre name of this restaurant, our experience was great! We had a very knowledgeable waitress, which is helpful because the beer/wine lists are quite extensive and some in our party were not familiar with a few of the eastern European items on the menu. From my experience the food was authentic and well presented, which made up for the relatively long wait - this is to be expected however on a busy Saturday night and does not affect this positive review. The décor may seem dated to those not having spent time in Europe but it only adds to the cultural experience. Expensive? Relatively, but nobody eats here every day of the week....do they?? PS - three words: Dill. Pickle. Soup.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocean76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take pride in training our staff to be very knowledgeable about the menu and are pleased to hear that your waitress was able to provide great recommendations for you. Our Dill Pickle Soup is one of our most popular dishes so we are happy that you enjoyed it! We hope to see you back in soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing