We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continental Eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Treat Fine Bistro

Continental Treat Fine Bistro
Ranked #18 of 2,376 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: German, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: whyte avenue
Description: The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borowka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borowka and their son Sylvester Borowka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Palkowska, Bartosz Beresinski, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.*Adults only after 5pm
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Continental Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Despite the bizarre name of this restaurant, our experience was great! We had a very knowledgeable waitress, which is helpful because the beer/wine lists are quite extensive and some in our party were not familiar with a few of the eastern European items on the menu. From my experience the food was authentic and well presented, which made up for the relatively long wait - this is to be expected however on a busy Saturday night and does not affect this positive review. The décor may seem dated to those not having spent time in Europe but it only adds to the cultural experience. Expensive? Relatively, but nobody eats here every day of the week....do they?? PS - three words: Dill. Pickle. Soup.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocean76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take pride in training our staff to be very knowledgeable about the menu and are pleased to hear that your waitress was able to provide great recommendations for you. Our Dill Pickle Soup is one of our most popular dishes so we are happy that you enjoyed it! We hope to see you back in soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    81
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We happened to be in Edmonton at the beginning of October and it was suggested to go to The Continental Treat for dinner. Fantastic suggestion. The food was delicious the beer was great and varied and the atmosphere was lively and fun. Our group of 8 will certainly go back again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for the review Elena! Glad you enjoyed one of our favorite events, Oktoberfest. Hope you will come back in soon with your group to try some more of our varied beer list and menu.

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as good as other reviews make out!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to Continental Treat a few months ago and while it was a decent meal, it wasn't spectacular. The food was kind of plain and extremely fattening (everything was fried and with gravy). And expensive, including both the menu and the wine list! Won't be going back there again. There are MANY better restaurants in Edmonton to go to for a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lnw132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, General Manager at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We specialize in traditional European food and realize that sometimes that can be very heavy for some people. Also dealing with European food, we use nothing but the freshest ingredients which does mean more expensive than some places.

We welcome you to come back and try us again and, hopefully, experience all that Continental Treat has to offer.

Kind regards,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Classic European Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

You won't go away hungry from this popular Whyte Ave. eatery. I had the Red Barszcz soup, the Chicken Stroganoff with kopytka (24), and Apple Strudel (10). The entrée was quite a plateful, and a bit heavy. But everything was good. Ditto the atmosphere and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fussybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the review! Glad you liked the Chicken Stroganoff among other things. Our goal is to always provide great service and a comforting and inviting atmosphere so we are very happy that you enjoyed those as well. Hope to see you back soon for another visit.

Cheers,
Sylvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hidden treasure. We were a group of 8 and we all enjoyed the place and food very much. The staff and other customers were a lot of fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester_Borowka, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hidden treasure - wow! Thank you taking the time to venture out and try Continental Treat Fine Bistro. We hope that you and your group of 8 were able to have a great time with us and hope to see all of you back in soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continental Treat Fine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Continental Treat Fine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing