We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Continental Treat Fine Bistro
Ranked #19 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: German, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: whyte avenue
Description: The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borowka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borowka and their son Sylvester Borowka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Palkowska, Bartosz Beresinski, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.*Adults only after 5pm
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food was different and nice to try. We walked in one day when they opened and they said we could not eat as they were all booked up but there were only a few people in the resturant so they really are not into walk ins i guess. definitely need a reservation. its ok and something different to try. a couple visits is enough for me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for dining with us, Chris. I'm sorry we weren't able to accommodate you when you walked in. Sometimes a seemingly empty floor may have already been reserved for later in the evening, which is why we always advise that reservations be made. We'd hate to have to turn you away! On another note, did you enjoy your meals when you visited? How did our service staff do? Quality food and top-notch service is important to us, and we always welcome suggestions on how to improve. Your ratings directly affect our business, so your feedback will help us ensure that our guests enjoy a 5-star experience with us.

Sincerely,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    83
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic over and over again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been dining here for over 6 years and we have not been disappointed yet. Tonight's meal was celebrated in honor of our mother's 70th birthday. This milestone only comes once and we knew we would not be disappointed. The Birthday girl ordered her favorite, Flaczki and Tartar, whom in her humble opinion is the best Flaczki outside of Poland.
Once you are inside it truly feels like a European Bistro. Great beer selection and of course the food never disappoints. The Filet Mignon was exceptionally exquisite this evening.
In summary; It is expensive but unlike some things in this world we feel that you receive what you pay for at this gem of a restaurant. Smacznego!! (Polish for Bon Appetit)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bercom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Happy birthday to your mother again! (Tell her thanks too for honoring us with the title of "Best Flaczki outside of Poland"!) I'm glad we could help you and your family celebrate such a joyous occasion. Great food and happy memories are what we strive for, and it's always gratifying to hear that we did a great job. Thanks for you and your family's support. I hope to see more of you and your family in the future!

Cheers,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful European restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I dined for our anniversary and it was perfect. Table 5 is the one to ask for - best table in the place, but only for 2. The pickle soup was excellent and the gluten free options were good. Overall, a great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angupema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary! I'm glad we could help make the occasion special for you and your wife. Happy anniversary again. I hope we can keep serving you in the future (table 5 will be waiting)!

Warm regards,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place for a meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Continental treat offers a good European menu with some more eastern items such as the dill pickle soup. The food is good. People generally dress up a bit to go to this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks, Jordan, for leaving us a review! I'm glad you got a chance to try our dill pickle soup. It was our pleasure taking care of you, and I hope to see more of you in the future.

Cheers,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Real Treat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I were doing some shopping on Whyte Ave, and just happened past and saw the nice big windows and the atmosphere looked so great we had to stop in. We received a very friendly greeting and excellent service. We enjoyed the lunch special of the day which started with the sauerkraut soup (excellent!!!) Vienna Schnitzel and Hungarian Goulash. The waiter offered an excellent recommendation of beer (many to choose from) and Wine. Wonderful atmosphere and we have definitely added this to our must return to restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Dkuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Glad you stopped in, 2Dkuts! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. (Glad you had a chance to try our sauerkraut soup—it's a traditional recipe perfect for winter!) We try our best to provide a memorable dining experience, and we hope to keep seeing you and your wife in the future.

Cheers,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continental Treat Fine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Continental Treat Fine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing