We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Polish Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Treat Fine Bistro

Continental Treat Fine Bistro
Ranked #19 of 2,378 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: German, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: whyte avenue
Description: The Continental Treat Restaurant is a family affair. Two generations of the Borowka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Owners Ryszard and Helena Borowka and their son Sylvester Borowka oversee the entire operation. Ela Palmowski is the Executive Chef together with sous chefs Maria Palkowska, Bartosz Beresinski, Alexandr Oleineac, and Dusten Dixon. This international team of sous chefs are constantly innovating our menu. Other talented sous chefs joining us this year; Attilla Szabo from Hungary, Zdenek Holub from Czech Republic, Helmut Schumacher from Switzerland and Alexader Davidoff from Russia. Christopher Czapiga and Cindy Oland are the hosts who will welcome you gracefully on any occasion. The ambiance is one of pure charm, combined with an air of luxury and elegance. During the day classical music selection waft overhead, reminding you to take your time and enjoy the journey.*Adults only after 5pm
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Polish Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We especially liked the Pickle Soup and the Schnitzel. The atmoshere was good and the service was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your review, Garth. Glad to hear that you love our Pickle Soup and Schnitzel—classic dishes can go a long way! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    81
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Adults only after 5 pm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Out to celebrate our 41st anniversary here were words to smile by. A wonderful evening unfolds select wine, a gourmet meal, superior attentive service and a wonderful torte to finish the evening off. Oh yes and not a sound of screaming or yelling children breaking the mood set by bubbling conversation from the patrons and the backbeat of jazz music coming from the speakers. Truly an anniversary to remember. More restaurants should adopt this restaurant's policies, polish and style.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Happy 41st anniversary again, jsob1949! We're honored you chose us to celebrate this happy occasion. Thank you for dining with us, and for taking the time to leave us a review back in September. Your kind note put a smile on our faces. We would love to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

What's not to love about this place? I had the herring and tomato sandwich while my wife ordered the smoked salmon. Both were excellent, and a very filling lunch. Attentive waitress and quiet setting. We'd highly recommend this restaurant, though the sandwiches were $16.95 each.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your thoughtful review, Ben! It's always a treat to hear from happy patrons. We're glad you found us worthwhile, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for your feedback!

Warmly,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great food, great selection of beers! Great service and relaxing atmosphere! I didn't have a chance to make a reservation but they were very accommodating and gave me a table right away!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good eats and good treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I often stop at Continental Treat and love the experience each time. i always start off with a cup of soup ( borsht and dill are my favourite) and then go for shnitzel, paprika chicken, or polish cutlet or anything else! I reccomend Continental becque of it's service , food,and quaint ambience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continental Treat Fine Bistro also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Continental Treat Fine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing