We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adults only after 5 pm”

Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free
Ranked #17 of 2,476 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: whyte avenue
Description: Continental Treat Fine Bistro "Taste of Europe" . Gluten Free Continental Treat Fine Bistro is a south Edmonton Best Gluten Free , modern European, Germanic Restaurant. A family affair, as three generations of the Borówka Family work together to bring their romantic turn of the century dining vision to life. Proud to serve since 1982, owners Ryszard , Helena Borówka ,their son Sylvester and Grandsons Matthew and Michal oversee the entire operation. Continental Treat Bistro has become a premier choice for; anniversaries, birthdays, romantic dinners, small weddings and business dinners.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Adults only after 5 pm”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Out to celebrate our 41st anniversary here were words to smile by. A wonderful evening unfolds select wine, a gourmet meal, superior attentive service and a wonderful torte to finish the evening off. Oh yes and not a sound of screaming or yelling children breaking the mood set by bubbling conversation from the patrons and the backbeat of jazz music coming from the speakers. Truly an anniversary to remember. More restaurants should adopt this restaurant's policies, polish and style.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Happy 41st anniversary again, jsob1949! We're honored you chose us to celebrate this happy occasion. Thank you for dining with us, and for taking the time to leave us a review back in September. Your kind note put a smile on our faces. We would love to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    84
    28
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cloyne, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What's not to love about this place? I had the herring and tomato sandwich while my wife ordered the smoked salmon. Both were excellent, and a very filling lunch. Attentive waitress and quiet setting. We'd highly recommend this restaurant, though the sandwiches were $16.95 each.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvester B, Owner at Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your thoughtful review, Ben! It's always a treat to hear from happy patrons. We're glad you found us worthwhile, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for your feedback!

Warmly,
Sylvester, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great food, great selection of beers! Great service and relaxing atmosphere! I didn't have a chance to make a reservation but they were very accommodating and gave me a table right away!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good eats and good treats”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I often stop at Continental Treat and love the experience each time. i always start off with a cup of soup ( borsht and dill are my favourite) and then go for shnitzel, paprika chicken, or polish cutlet or anything else! I reccomend Continental becque of it's service , food,and quaint ambience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“good food so so service”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

went for dinner the other day. the pickle soup and the borsch were fantastic. had the goulash and it was delicous and fantastic. my mom had the chicken snitzel and it was less that fantastic. the service was very subpar to say the least. you canchoose to have the snitzel plain or with gravy. my ordered it plain and was not offered the gravy. upon checking on us we ordered the sauce for the snitzel and things were a little better. the waitress was not very attentive and never told us about the specials but we heard about them when she was telling another table. very disappointed as we probably would have went for the special. the atmosphere was ok but none the less i would probably not rush out again to go here. plenty of other places to dine in the city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Continental Treat Fine Bistro Gluten Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing