We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fondue experience!”

The Melting Pot of Edmonton
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot of Edmonton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: He Melting Pot of Edmonton is a fondue restaurant that specializes in capturing the ultimate interactive dining experience! Whether you are looking for romantic fine dining for two, a happy hour party with friends, or a family gathering in our party room celebrating a special day, our gourmet fondue and intimate atmosphere are the perfect ingredients for an unforgettable night out! The Melting Pot delivers outstanding cheese fondue, wines, salads, entree fondue, and our famous chocolate fondue!
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great fondue experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place has a fantastic ambiance, great for a group or can be a nice romantic setting depending on where you sit. They have quite the selection for cheese fondues, 4 different bases for meat/veggies and an exquisite dessert menu. The drink selection is also above par, with top shelf bottles and a wide variety of mixed cocktails and martinis.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kinni_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    79
    27
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love this restaurant. We drive an hr and a half to come here on special occasions or just when we feel like it. The food is amazing and unique. The staff is great. This is definitely my favorite restaurant. Just one thing to say: bring back the strawberry salad, was sooo good :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As always, a pleasurable meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took my husband for Father's Day lunch so our son could join and as per usual, it was lovely! Service was a lot slower and less interactive/friendly than the past few times we went and we noticed the initial service of dipping items was much less, perhaps due to waste? You can ask for more which is great and overall we had a great meal.

One of our favourite spots for a special family outing or a more romantic evening out. A really enjoyable place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGulliford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Died & gone to food HEAVEN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had fondue once before this in my entire life, which was not a good experience... I honestly thought all fondue would be equally bad... I'm a changed woman!!!!!
I went with friends because they raved about it... I'm so glad I did. I had an amazing time, & the food was TO DIE for!!!!!! My preconceived notion of what I thought it would be like was completely inaccurate. I loved it and have plans to go back!!!
Only bad thing, is you really need to plan ahead. Make reservations if you want an amazing meal and an intimate experience!!!!! A++!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 30somethingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Mediocre Food, Dirty Cutlery”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went as a party of 7 and although we expected it to take over 2 hours it ended up being 3-1/2. The waitress who thankfully had taken a rapid speech course (otherwise we may have been their for 4-5 hours) quickly talked about the menu and how to order. Very difficult to understand.
We started with a cheese spinach dip for bread and chips. The bread was very dry, the dip was cold to start with then runny as it warmed up. Next came salads that were not very tasty. Don't order the Ceasar as two people rated it as the worst they have had. Two others only ate small portions as they said it was not that great. Drinks were slow coming having to wait well over 20 minutes for a drink order to be taken. The chicken and beef dishes were large portions and were tasty. Everybody had portions left over. Desert came in a variety of different morsels but i would not expect marshmellows on a resturant memu. Again the pots were cool. As we had plenty of time to sit around we all at one time or another got up and went for a stroll outside. Looking at the cutlery i also noticed it had not been cleaned properly and also noticed several lights were burnt out.
As far as the service was concerned our waitress was trying hard but had far to much to handle and therefore any time she talked with us she spoke very rapidly, which an interpetation had to be presented after she left the table. Not a shortage of food but they should go for quality of service and quality of food. Also it was very expensive for what you got.
I would not recommend this resturant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi W, Owner at The Melting Pot of Edmonton, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that service was not up to our high standards & that you didn't thoroughly enjoy the experience. We would love the opportunity to talk to you more about it so we can follow up with our team.
Please contact Matt, our GM at the restaurant at 780-465-4347 or by email mattc@thecellargroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot of Edmonton also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot of Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing