We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and presentation”
Review of The Marc

The Marc
Reserve with OpenTable
The Marc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 100 ave and 106 street
Transit: We are just off many popular Jasper Avenue routes on 106 street as well as 1 1/2 blocks south of the Corona LRT station.
Lac La Biche, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, service and presentation”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Have had lunch here a number of times and had dinner here twice. Great menu with new specials that are always good. The fish special I have always enjoyed. The omelette is a nice change up for lunch. The steak frites is good with the cold butter slab. Service is attentive and helpful while relaxed. I recommend this establishment, very nice wine selection.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    80
    27
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great lunches”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a lovely lunch with a business colleague at The Marc. The menu is unique and food was fresh and quality. Very modern and open but enough privacy to chat. Staff were attentive but we didn't feel rushed even thought it was a workday. Relaxing, professional, bit upscale, very nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKH000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having been to the Marc several times, I thought it was time to write a review. First of all, this is one of our favorite restaurants and we really like the "french" theme in the menu but I certainly would not classify this as a French Restaurant. I guess a Bistro theme might be accurate. As for rating the restaurant we would suggest that the food is definately the best thing about The Marc. We have always found the service to be very good, we like the wine list and we find it to be pretty good value. If we were to look for something to criticize, it might be the fact that the restaurant can get a bit noisy and it is certainly not intimate. However, these issues do not bother us so we continue to consider The Marc on our favorite restaurants in Edmonton list.
Overall, we think this restaurant deserves a try as it is one of the better ones in Edmonton.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chukchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We heard many good reviews about this restaurant so maybe our expectations were raised but we found it to be overall just an average experience. The design is very open with basically three long rows of tables (yes there is a bit of space between the tables but essentially the restaurant is 3 rows of tables). For us it had a stark feeling - the lighting was not subdued to give a bit more of an upscale feel. The food was good but we were expecting that "oh my goodness this is great" experience. The french fries are amazing as is the lemon tart. The ladies at the table next to us raved about their steak but we felt we have had better at other places at a lower price. The staff were professional but not really engaging. This is likely better suited to a lunch time business meeting type of restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mabes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food and service is outstanding”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We were a last minute booking and it wasn't a problem. We had a veggie with us, again no problem even though there was no veggie selection on the menu; the chef created a most delicious main dish. The food was excellent and all the staff friendly, knowledgable and thoroughly professional. Tis restaurant is highly recommended. I'm a business visitor to Edmonton and will go next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank douglasgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marc also viewed

 

Been to The Marc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing