We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very nice rooms and well appointed. The clock actually projects onto the ceiling so you don't have to turn over to see the time or count sheep. Just look up. Good attached restaurants. Just off the highway on the south side of town

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tractorii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have stayed at 5 of the Sandman hotels in Western Canada over the last year, and this is by far the prettiest of the bunch. I typically travel on my own for work, and have always enjoyed my stays at all of them.

The beds are wonderful, all the rooms I've stayed in at this hotel have also been very quiet. I have stayed on the main floor down the hall from the elevator, as well as on the 2nd and 4th floors and have not encountered any noise issues. Staff has always been more than friendly and helpful.

The coffee machine in the lobby is a great touch, far better brew than that in the rooms, but it can get lined up in the morning when everyone is on their way out.

The rooms I do find a bit dark with no overhead lighting. I like that the desks are built in and have internet connection and plug ins handy.

Again, a very boutique feeling hotel without the crazy prices you can pay elsewhere.

Chop restaurant is very good, a nice splurge for dinner. Rockford is for sure more reasonable, and I like the big booths they have - I will often spend part of my evening working in there while enjoying a glass of wine and dinner.

My last stay was in November 2011, and will be back there again next week (end of Jan 2012) for work.

Don't forget to get your Lucky 13 card - stay 12 nights and get the 13th free. And its good for any hotel, anywhere, anytime with no blackout dates. Bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the hotel - just overlooks the rear parking area - quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idreamofbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel two nights ago for work for the second time in about six months. Both times the night clerk (Dwayne?) has been cheerful, polite and helpful.

The rooms are clean, spacious, have good heating/a/c systems and very comfortable beds. The decor and fixtures are modern and stylish.

The room I stayed in had two queen size beds, good quality bedding and nice thick comfortable pillows.

On the down side, there was a fair amount of traffic noise and the pop machine right across the hallway from my room was very loud. You may want earplugs to enjoy an undisturbed sleep.....I did!

There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, but the fridge had no freezer, so if you have an ice pack to keep frozen, you will have to make arrangements to have the front desk look after that.

I can't comment on the price because my company made the arrangements and I do not know what they paid for the room. If the price is reasonable, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from traffic noise and pop machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oom-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Overall I had a great stay at this hotel. I stayed on business last October and the experience was memorable enough that I wanted to give them a positive review.

My only complaint is that it is very dry in Alberta and they should do something to humidifiy the rooms. People from the states are just not used to the dryness there.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room. They tend to be a bit larger and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pblaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We booked this hotel for two adults & two nights over the Remembrance Day long weekend. We booked a King suite, which has a separate living room & kitchen from the bedroom, just so we had some more room to spread out.

We arrived & were impressed with the lobby, it's beautifully done and reminded me of a hotel in Miami. There is a 24hr coffee machine set up but we didn't use it. There is also a small 'grocery shop' that you access with your room key & has some snacks, toiletries, etc. As well as a business centre.

Our room was on the 1st floor and unfortunately also down the hallway that people used to access the pool and attached restaurants. I'm not sure if all King suites are on the 1st floor or if we just got unlucky, but it made it extremely noisy. There is a fairly wide gap under the door, which opens onto tile in the kitchen area - carrying the noise even more. The soundproofing isn't great between rooms/floors either. We could hear someone's TV, people visiting, banging of drawers above us, etc. The first night I caught a staff member in the hall & commented that there was a lot of noise above us..the staff member seemed confused why I was telling him & not sure what to do with the information. No one got back to us, the noise eventually stopped so who knows what happened there.

The room was fairly clean, all except the kitchen. Quite honestly the sink is a horrible design to keep clean, very deep square stainless. There was dried food on the ledge of our sink and the drain area had not been properly cleaned. There were glasses, plates, etc although in odd numbers..only 3 plates vs 6 glasses? There was no dish cloth or towel left in our room, so I called housekeeping for this. They left a dish towel behind but again no cloth. The room has the small coffee maker with the pre-packaged coffee, which we used on the first day..never to be replaced, despite the open wrapper laying on the tray.

The whole hotel/room is quite darkly lit & because we were on the 1st floor with the parking lot outside of our windows, we didn't feel we could always leave them open for light.

The bedroom is nicely set up, there are reading lights built in the headboard as well as night stands. The bed is very comfortable, with nice bedding and pillows. Once things quieted down we both slept very well. There is also a tv mounted on the wall in the bedroom, which if I'm being very picky is mounted about 2 feet too low but not a big deal. Because we were in a king suite there is actually a stacked washer & dryer in a small walkway/closet area between the bedroom & bathroom. This is a nice thought for families or anyone staying longer than a few days, although you have to buy/bring detergent as there is no complimentary one.

The bathroom was well set up, liked the shower head and curved shower curtain. There wasn't a lot of counter space or a place to put your toiletries but there are shelves under the sink that you can use. There are nice complimentary toiletries, if you like citrus scents you'll love the lotion. There were a nice supply of good quality towels as well. The kleenex is the same as you'd see in any office, no kleenex cover for it..which would be a nice touch. Unfortunately the stopper broke in our tub the last morning we were there, which meant I couldn't pull it up to drain. When I mentioned this to hotel staff as we were checking out, there was no apology for the inconvenience, etc. only a 'oh wait wait, I need to write that down so I don't forget what you just said'.

Overall, this was an expensive stay for a slightly disappointing experience. I'm totally put off the King suite & if we were to return I would not choose this type of room again. I think the Housekeeping can make a break a hotel, and this hotel is in danger of losing that battle. When I called for the extra towels the 2nd morning, I told the housekeeping member that we did not need the room made up. Yet when we returned later in the day they had come in our room, which was only evidenced by how the bathroom was made up. The bed was made worse than I had already made it, no coffee replaced, etc. It was as if they were half done and were called away..bizarre. We did like the location of the hotel, right on Ellersie road. We also liked having two restaurants attached to the hotel, one which serves breakfast.

Room Tip: Be cautious of rooms on the first floor that are down the hallway that leads to the pool/restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanbaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

19 – 21 October 2011 - for work meetings.
This is a new hotel, approximately 1 year old.
The lobby is pretty and service was good. We arrived at 3 pm for check-in and the receptionist spent a bit of time trying to find us a room (on the computer and telephone) – it was all worth it though because we were upgraded to a very nice suite.
The living room had a sofa with built in ottoman and another ottoman, flat screen TV, a side chair, table with lamp, desk and chair. Then came the bathroom which was nicely decorated. The only note is that the counter tops in the kitchen area and bathroom seems to have raised – a shame because otherwise the place seems nicely put together.
The kitchen area has a fridge and microwave, coffee maker and sink. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped with dishes and cutlery.
The bedroom had a large dress with a flat screen TV. The curtains were effective at blacking out light from the window. The bed was very comfortable and so was the duvet. NIce reading lamps.
I will stay here again when I have to work at the Edmonton Office.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This Hotel is one of the nicest Hotels I have ever stayed at. Beautifully decorated, the Beds in the rooms are EXTREMELY comfortable. Very clean, almost brand new Hotel. Very close to the airport with a Shuttle service. The Chop restaurant is a bit pricey, but if you want a nice dining experience it is worth it. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a room with two queen size beds, microwave and fridge in the room, flat screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deisen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#22 of 91 in Edmonton
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel

Address: 10111 Ellerslie Rd SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#26 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $90 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by wide-open prairie skies, this gem is just a 15-minute drive from Edmonton’s city center and Edmonton International Airport (YEG). Featuring a distinctive combination of elegant furnishings and impressive amenities, Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel is four-star hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing