We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not So Good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Edmonton West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not So Good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Unfortunately, there is not much good that I can say about this hotel (2014/Jun/10 – 2014/06/12). It seems to be a byway for transient workers on the way to somewhere else. The room we had (238) was in poor shape. For instance, the bed closest to the door was worn and uneven. It sloped toward the night table making it almost impossible for my spouse to get a decent sleep.

There is no elevator, so if you are on the second floor, be prepared to carry your own bags up the steps.

The bathroom ceiling was not very clean. My spouse demonstrated to me just how easy it was to clean with a wet tissue. So, it was obvious to both of us that housekeeping ignored the problem, didn’t always look up or weren’t given sufficient time to do a thorough cleaning.

The Wi-Fi was extremely poor!

The only two positives about this hotel were the Front Desk Staff who were friendly, courteous and helpful and the breakfast package at the restaurant (Albert’s) beside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barfly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
On behalf of management and staff we apologize for the recent stay that you experienced. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We will use it to improve so that it will not repeated. We have started to go through bathroom by bathroom as well working on the WIFI part. We really hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    35
    21
    28
See reviews for
46
38
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Definitely LOVED the location, 5 minutes from West Edmonton Mall and an olive garden across the road! (from Saskatchewan, so this is a great plus haha)

They have recently done some renovations which is evident in their lobby, considering how small it is they definitely make the most of the space! We had a room with 2 double beds, very spacious and very clean. The front desk staff was fabulous and very helpful answering our questions.

Be warned this hotel do not have free breakfast which choice hotels is known to have, luckily a mcdonalds is right next door.

Will definitely stay here for our next visit to Edmonton - Thank you Comfort Inn West!!

Room Tip: Be warned they have NO free breakfast unlike every other comfort inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taytraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your time to write us a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn Edmonton West. We all hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Pull out sofa sheets were blood stained. No other rooms available at the time. Requested a full refund of our money but was only offered a free night stay there with breakfast. WILL NOT STAY IN THEIR ROOMS AGAIN. Management offered points for the Comfort Inn chain however the value was fractional to what was paid for the room. Head office only willing to pass on emails when the management at the hotel would not reply to emails. Terrible customer service for what we felt was very unsanitary and most likely a health code violation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We do respect your opinion and are distressed that the cleanliness of your room was not to your satisfaction. The true measure of an accommodation is during its busiest period, and it looks like we need to improve. An experience like this is not indicative of our hotel, its service or quality. We set very high standards for our housekeeping department and are consistently performing quality checks in our rooms and through guest feedback. We would like to assure all guests that cleanliness is a priority at our hotel and that is reflected in many of the reviews of our hotel on this site. We deeply apologize for your experience and hope you can give us another chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Travelling for work , spent a couple nights in the west end . Great location , stayed here last year as well close to the big mall restaurants , clean rooms and friendly staff .. Would stay again . Used the buisness centre to print off a few items .

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a review. We really appreciated that you recognized our services. I will sure share this review with my staff. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Room Rate charged was not what was quoted at time of reservation.
higher and a different rate for second night.
There is now a $100.00 deposit or fee taken in addition to a pre authorization which was upsetting to MANY guests checking in as they were not advised of this prior to arrival
Pet fee has increased, when we booked it we were told 10.00 on check in we were told 20.00. Our child pointed out to the book in the room that tells about the property that the fee was 10.00. The staff was told this and she said all their information has been changed out. So it seems we travel with hotel book pages and insert them just for the fun of it.
Front desk staff was run off her feet. phone was not being answered as there were so many check ins and only one staff. ( 8:00PM )
Hotel states undergoing renovations. It has been this way for over two years.
There used to be a breakfast voucher that didnt cover the entire breakfast but it helped. This is no longer
First night young kids were running up and down the halls after 11:00 PM. Front desk was notified
Second night one of the kids apparently pulled the fire alarm which rang for over an hour, This was after 11:00 Pm
on check out this was mentioned to the staff & words fell on deaf ears. the staff said well did you report it to front desk, you should have reported it. when they were told it was reported it was if the staff tuned out of the conversation.
Really disappointing for a business and family trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. The room deposit is a standard procedure. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Our room looked much different than advertised on the website. Very disappointed with the staff, they were friendly but made a lot of mistakes. Our phone in our room didn't work and we found a dirty sock under the bed. All in all the Comfort Inn did not impress us. My family will never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention. I do apologize for your experience here and the impression that it left you with. I have passed your comments to Housekeeping and Maintenance departments. We all hope that you can give us a chance to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

It's hard to find a cheap hotel that allows dogs, little alone our great dane. We were given a good rate for our week here and a room with sliding doors for easy access to the room without walking our dog through the hotel daily. Staff was friendly and room was well cleaned. Large tv and a couch with a pull out bed, plus a nice desk and computer chair made it a nice stay. The only thing I'd have negative to say is the restaurant attached, "Alberts" wasn't that great. Nice staff but the food was not worth it. Breakfast was okay but I tried the Turkey dinner and it was very salty and poorly made. Overall though it was a good choice to stay here for price and accommodations.

Room Tip: If you stay for a while (a week) you can stay for cheaper if you ask. We got it for $99 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylammichelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Edmonton West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And thank for your good comments for my staff.
Sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant. It is leased and managed on their own. I will sure pass your comments to the restaurant Manager.
We all hope to accommodate you again soon.
Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#35 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Edmonton West

Property: Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Address: 17610 100 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 100% smoke-free Comfort Inn, situated in the West End, has newly renovated the front desk and lobby area which now includes a 24-hour business centre, fireplace and sitting area. All bedrooms have new carpet, vinyl, drapes, 32 inch flat screen tvs & new vanity and tile in the bathrooms. All rooms are equipped with free wireless high speed and the hotel offers a small meeting room. Melt into your pillow-top bed with Truly Yours bedding. Upgraded rooms are equipped with a fridge and microwave. We are a pet-friendly hotel and offer ground floor rooms with a patio. Ideally located minutes from the West Edmonton Mall, Rexall Place, Telus Space & Science Centre, great shopping and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Canada so you can book your Comfort Inn Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Edmonton
Comfort Inn Edmonton West Alberta
Edmonton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing