We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edmonton South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edmonton South
Ranked #66 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Pros: decent price, clean bed, clean bathroom, decent breakfast

Cons: noisy, small rooms, prostitutes in the lobby at 7 in the morning

My teenagers pretty much hated it and could find nothing good about it, although the prostitutes in the lobby did make for great conversation on the way home. Won't stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardoundtoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    81
    79
    48
    64
See reviews for
99
42
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

There are many bad, one star reviews about this low budget hotel at the south end of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. I was quite worry after I booked this hotel for two nights stay last week. I hope I can give a fair and without bias comment about this hotel.
When I arrived this hotel on Feb.28 afternoon, I saw a building in pretty good condition, either recently renovated or with a fresh paint job. Check in was quick and I was assigned to a non smoking room # 231. Across the reception counter is the swimming pool and it looks in good condition, some ceramic tiles have been replaced with original style tiles. The pool is very clean. When I got out the elevator, I could smell cigarette in the corridor but not in our room.
Our room was small but well decorated with some pictures, and it was very clean and all things function properly. The queen size bed was comfortable. The room had a 32 inch TV and the table lamp equipped with an electric outlet for computer connection. There was no fridge in the room but it had iron board and hair dryer. The hotel also provided a coffee maker, coffee and tea bags etc. in the room. I always go to the low budget hotels/motels and I rate this room above average.
I went to the breakfast area the next morning about 8 Am., there were 3 or 4 persons in there. Let start with the coffee, which was good, and the hotel provided paper coffee cups with lips too. There were two types of juice and milk, boiled eggs, very sweet orange, apple and banana. There were at least four different types of MacDonald size muffins for selection. Besides white bread, you could have bagel too. The hotel used Kellogg’s cereals and five to six different kinds of Kraft jams. They also provided good quality paper plates and bowls. Oh, I almost forget, they had yogurts too. When I went for breakfast again on Saturday morning at around 8 Am., the room was full without any empty table at all ( there were 8 tables in the room). Some guests just filled up their plates and left, and after I selected my food and wait for a couple of minutes and finally found an empty table to sit down to enjoyed my breakfast and read a compliment newspaper. During my breakfast, I observed a staff kept refilling and cleaning tables to make sure no food is running out of stock. I also rate their breakfast among the best in low budget hotel/motel.
Check out was quick and I am very happy with my stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Always check your room before unload your baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mangotree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I and our infant daughter travelled to Edmonton to meet up with some family from Calgary for the family day weekend. We booked a 2 queen bed room, non smoking. We got there about an hour before the allowed check in and they absolutely would not let us check in a minute early. We came back and they didn't have a 2 bed room ready so they upgraded us free to a mini suite. It looked like 2 rooms with a doorway cut between them, as it had 2 tv's, 2 bathrooms etc. It was clean and suited us fine, as our daughter slept in a travel crib. One bathroom, the light was sketchy and wasn't working properly (large fluorescent bulb) and the toilet seemed to be partially plugged and didn't flush properly. Bed was hard as a rock. Otherwise, we were on a non smoking floor and could definitely smell people smoking, and someone was also burning incense, what a strange smell. The continental breakfast was standard, although there were only 7 or 8 tables to eat at and there was a lineup of people outside the door waiting for food. And the breakfast ended at 930am, a little early IMO. The pool/hot tub is located right off the lobby so when you go in you're overwhelmed by chlorine. The hot tub is tiny, seating 6 people, and the pool is completely unheated and uncomfortably cold. Lots of rude unsupervised kids in there too. This hotel is old and we were not expecting perfection but I guess its tolerable for the price. We paid 95 per night. Would stay again if nothing else was available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyRae1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here last night, while in Edmonton for work (the client booked this room for me). It had the makings of being a decent budget hotel, however its age really really shows.
Cracks between the walls and the ceiling. The furniture was once nice, but is now getting old and has scuff marks on everything.

The girls at the front desk when i checked in last night were nice and helped with anything I needed, however the gentleman this morning when I checked out the guy was quite awkward with me, questioned the name on my booking and then questioned my name.

The Continental breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast.

The internet was very stable and had decent speed for a hotel. I think about 2mbps up and 2-3 mbps down. Served me well.

The two pillows on the bed were quite large and had lumps through out. I found another pillow in a drawer in the dresser. I was small but had less lumps and was softer.
Lastly the cleaning lady I ran into was nice and had a smile when I asked where the elevator was.

Lastly the continental breakfast was really good for that style of breakfast offered for free with your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

One step up from the roadside motels. Good highway access and breakfast included.

The hotel front desk staff were prompt and were able to obtain a room on short notice. Provided a good discount for staying more than 3 days. Hotel is older, they have smoking aand non-smoking rooms on the same floor. Fire doors are provided to separate but cleaning staff continually leave the doors open so stink of smoke enters the non-smoking section.
We continually closed the door. ***** If you have any sensitivity to smoke do not come here!*****
Beds were very plush and comfy, slept great but needed to turn the heater off in the winter due to the noise and resulting dry air produced.
The building is in need of repair,minor falling paint and loose plaster. Bathrrom vents squeal, water pressure is ok.

They do not supply cots. If you need an extra space buy a blow up matress

Never heard any police traffic for saw any ladies of the night as mentioned by another viewer. Some employees of the local adult entertainment establishment do stay here but there was never any issues with them.

Pool and hot tub were ok and clean.

Breakfast was included with the room. Continental breakfast - it my typical breakfast so was good for me, good selection. Installed a new instant coffee machine - Nescafe. Not bad coffee unless you like Seattle's Best or Sstarbucks then you will have to find your local fix.

Room Tip: If you want non smoking rooms get rooms at the ends of the halls to the west. And close the fire do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is really,without exaggerations WORSE place on earth(like a bordel),it's full of drug users and prostitutes,there were 5 of them just on our floor,disgusting!The place is really noise and loud,and you just can't sleep,cops were coming on several occasion to arrest either prostitutes or drug dealers, and it was to scary for us and our baby cause we are just normal people, family,and we have never seen those kind of things in our whole life!Toilet was clogged many times and they didn't care about it a lot.Personnel is really bad and total service,they are very arrogant, rude,inpolite and they behave like you are on the street just keeping there time,there is no kindness and smile at all at their faces.On one occasion at night,some girls witch were really young or even minor,tried to enter our room at 5 am,they were drugged we think,and so loud that it scared our little baby who was shocked and couldn't top crying,and also on several more occasions when prostitutes were arguing with their costumers or whoever in the hole,TERRIBLE!!,!!!!!!!!!!!!Please be aware of this place, DON'T try coming,it isn't worth a single penny,we have learned from our own experience unfortunately:-(Only good and positive thing about this horrible place were cleaning ladies,they should be paid a lot more for what they are dealing with every day:-(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Ramada Edmonton South
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Argyll Plaza Hotel
#64 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
BEST WESTERN Cedar Park Inn
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edmonton South

Property: Travelodge Edmonton South
Address: 10320 45 Ave NW | Off Calgary Trail Edmonton, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edmonton South 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton South Travelodge Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Travelodge
Edmonton Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edmonton South Alberta
Travel Lodge Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing