We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so clean, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Edmonton/West
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
JASPER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not so clean, poor breakfast”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The room itself was ok, and the location is pretty good, close to Mayfield Common and WEM, but it wasn't very clean. We found hairs in the clean towels, a parking pass from a month ago in a corner, which indicated that the cleaners never made it to the corner, and a tired carpet. The back of the desk chair was broken. The continental breakfast left to be desired. Only one type of cheap tea, no hard-boiled eggs, no yoghurt. All very basic. I have stayed in other SUper 8s that were much better all around. We'll pass up this one next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank ROGER35G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    153
    140
    52
    36
See reviews for
171
79
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Luseland, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staff was fairly courteous (Let us check in 2 hours early). Room was very basic, and by basic, I mean BASIC! The room that I was in might have been a previous smoking room because it had a faint smell of cigarette smoke and there were yellow spots on the ceiling light fixtures and in random spots on the ceiling. My room was right by the elevator (I would not recommend the room), in which you could hear the buzzing of the elevator buttons and that mixed with peoples shoes clacking on the tiled floors made for a very loud sleep. TV was missing its power button. The room was also very outdated, with old furniture and the 90s tube TV. The only new thing about the room was the AC/Heater which looked brand new. Continental breakfast was quite nice, they had everything and it was in a very spacious room. Wi-Fi was fast but needed constant updating of the Wi-Fi tickets. Beds were too soft to be comfortable (you sink into the bed). Overall, its a good overnight stay but you could definitely do better and get more at the same price or even just 10 bucks more. Also, I don't know if this is in every room but there are 2 light switches in the entryway to the room, one of them controls the entryway light, and one controls the master breaker for the entire room (One flick of the switch and all of the lights and plug-ins go out), I thought that was rather funny!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in room 206. At 1am there was very loud talking and cursing by a young woman towards her father and his girlfriend in a room beside mine.This went on randomly for at least 1/2 hour. Eventually it settled down and was quite from there on.I decided not to complain. I don't know if anyone else complained.
I would stay there again if in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank KENNETH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a small problem with the heater in the room making too much noise, maintenance came quickly and attended the room. Room was changed immediately and everything was alright in the second room. Very clean, continental breakfast was well organised and on time. Starts at 630. Staff were very professional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank CHRIS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Yellowhead Inn
#31 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#63 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Edmonton West
#54 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Edmonton/West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Edmonton/West

Property: Super 8 Edmonton/West
Address: 16818 118 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5V 1M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Edmonton/West 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Edmonton/West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Edmonton/West Hotel Edmonton
Super Eight Edmonton
Edmonton Super 8
Edmonton Super Eight
Super 8 Edmonton/West Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing