We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well priced convenience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Edmonton/West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Edmonton/West
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    149
    140
    51
    36
See reviews for
167
78
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glendon,Ab
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clean, quiet and comfortable. Good location to the mall, restaurants and St. Albert. Check in was relatively painless. Nice rooms, with comfy beds. Like the fact that you were provided with shampoo and soap as we had forgotten ours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blonde4randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights had the front desk girl sleeping in the afternoon, asked me to get the coffee and Whitney which house cleaning forgot. Tryd to take a shower 3x from 9:30-12:00pm with cold water coming after 5min. Maintenance would reply that it works which it didn't. Never vacuumed my room, no shampoo or soap given after the 2nd day. Horrible horrible super 8, I was so shocked after staying at numerous super 8 for the last 10 years. I even had management walk into my room without knocking.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheeba111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed one night here, will never stay there again. Front desk staff (Hong) was brutal, if you work at a hotel in Edmonton you should be able to spreak and understand english. Room was just a very slim ok, there was at least a 1/2" gap in the door at the bottom that you could see right through. Bed was ok, not terrible but not great either. Didn't realize it was attached to a gas station/truck stop. Made us feel unsafe there. The continental breakfast, never have I seen such neon green bananas in my life, a couple of choices of desert and bread just bread terrible. paid $93 a night it is worth $29 a night will nver stay here again even if we could stay for free. Just assumed it would be OK as we wanted something near West Edmonton Mall and if they want to promote that it is in the West Edmonton mall area that it would not be too bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed one night here, will never stay there again. Front desk staff (Ana) was very good, actually she was the best part of the stay. Room was not exactly dirty, but not what I would call clean either, I guess "grubby" best describes it.
I wanted to soak my feet in hand sanitizer after walking barefoot on the floors, and don't look too closely around the edges of the tub. Made the mistake of touching there and it felt slimy to me.
Bed was ok, not terrible but not great either.
Weird and strange people were cruising the parking lot in the evening, asking guests that were entering or leaving their vehicles for money, probably not for legitimate purposes. Made me feel unsafe there.
The worst thing of all was.....the "continental breakfast". What a disappointment-had to be the worst hotel breakfast I've ever seen-the best item I could find to eat was a slice of toast. Very sparse and pathetic selection of items, and disgusting to boot. The pancakes I'm sure were leftovers from a previous days breakfast, very hard and stale dried out disks of starch. The eggs looked similarly dried out. 2 choices of cereal and some unappetizing pastries rounded out this impressive feast. In short, do not bother woth the breakfast, including the fact you will be segregated in the back of the restaurant anyway.
Not impressed with this hotel in the least bit, for the same price you can probably get a nicer room in a better hotel with an actual real breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Figglewiggle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just finished a two night stay on business. Good location, and a very nice room. Was in the newer tower section and the room was large and brightly lit. Very quiet, no noise from outside or the hall. Very clean and the bed was comfortable. Had breakfast in the restaurant both mornings and take out from there for dinner both nights. Food was good, large portions. (Really good club house and way too many fries to eat). Only issue was that the internet was hit and miss as it kept dropping the connection. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abroseabrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Location is 10 min. North of Wesr Ed Mall, but beside a truck stop with no retail shops or restaurants nearby. It does have a 24 hr. Resto on site where food is ok and decent prices, but no room service.

Room was pretty small for a family. Beds were clean but mattresses were way too hard & none of us slept well. Decor sterile. Bathroom fan was on same switch as light and very very loud. TV was old school 27" box.

Front desk personnel were courteous & professional.
This hotel is decent for a brief stay of 1-2 nights. The price drew us, but for a little more money you could be closer to shops & mall & food in a nicer hotel with more room space & sleep comfort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therev68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Yellowhead Inn
#32 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#58 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Edmonton West
#52 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Edmonton/West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Edmonton/West

Property: Super 8 Edmonton/West
Address: 16818 118th Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5V 1M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Edmonton/West 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Edmonton/West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Edmonton/West Hotel Edmonton
Super Eight Edmonton
Edmonton Super Eight
Edmonton Super 8
Super 8 Edmonton/West Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing