We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRONT DESK STAFF AND MANAGEMENT WERE JUST TERRIFIC. ALL...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    134
    200
    156
    142
See reviews for
155
126
63
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent 3 nights there on a hockey trip. For a city I guess the rate wasn't bad. What saved it was the included buffet breakfast at the restaurant (good food and nice to not just get a crappy continental breakfast.
Rooms are definitely dated and worn but clean. No fridge or microwave in our room and some of our group that requested them could not get them.
Lots of mixups with reservations. Ours was good but others were told they had not reserved for the whole time (unlikely as we booked a block). One family had other couples walk into their room twice as they booked someone into the same room. Another guy who cancelled his room that he had booked (thinking he couldn/t go) showed up hoping to still get in was told that they had him in their computer for 3 nights still!! Electronic keys kept failing and they tried to blame it on cellphones in your pocket or something (we had 4 keys issued and they all failed so no way all of us had that issue). Staff was friendly! Was a nice hotel but they better get going on the renos!!

I would probably look elsewhere before rebooking but it was ok for what it was. Do not expect too much!

Room Tip: Lower floors better, others complained that the upper floors were hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cascade411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
741LisaD, Manager at Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your concerns about your recent stay. We offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences with your reservations and key cards during your stay. Since your visit, we have been able to resolve the issue with our key cards and have taken steps to prevent it from happening in the future. We agree that our facility is in need of a refresh and reflect this in our rates.
We are glad that you and your group enjoyed our breakfast buffet and that our team was able to assist you during your stay. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are happy to hear that we met your expecatation.
We appreciate the feedback and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks for work and will not choose this hotel again.

Location: The location is convenient, close to lots of things including the Royal Alex Hospital.

Wifi: HORRIBLE!!! One day it took me over an hour to connect as the quality of the signal was so poor the login page would not even load, even after connecting it kept dropping out. They need to upgrade their system.

Breakfast: Food was okay, nothing spectacular, but about what I expected. The service was terrible one day we went down for breakfast and the staff ignored the people waiting to be seated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Ramada Conference Centre we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. Your comments have been shared with our Restaurant Manager about the lack of service in the Botanica Restaurant and we are following up with the supervisor on duty that evening. We have a high standard for service and unfortunately the level of service that evening was not up to our standard. We value our employees and our guests and are continuing on-going training for our staff and management.

We usually get high marks for our internet in the hotel and we will have our IT Manager look into the sytstem to ensure it is always meeting the expectations of our guests.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

John Mytz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A friend told me today that she would never stay at the Edmonton Conference Center again. She has pretty high standards but I think I ,too,have high standards. I liked the Edmonton Conference Center. The suite we had was large, clean and quiet. The room was pretty quirky. We had trouble locating the light switch to the bathroom. The room was showing some signs of age. The bed was not as comfortable as I would have liked, and I think the whole Ramada chain might select different pillows, but we did not experience mold or noise as did our friends, who also had a shower which wasn't working. I would stay there again, but I have heard other negative comments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindadrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We truly appreciate hearing from our wonderful guests, and are committed to providing outstanding customer service and comfortable accommodations. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

John Mytz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'm here for 3 weeks due to work. This would have been an impressive property in the 70's, but tell me if you don't Lol when you see the carpet leading to the elevators ( which, the first elevator likes to close before you're in it )

Rooms are old and dated, though large enough. Fridge and microwave help. Bedding is minimal;no duvets. Old style tv's. I wouldn't recommend staying in the summer, no way to get cool air in the room.

This is a rowdy hotel. One night, kids were tearing up and down the halls slamming doors. If this was Vegas, it would be Circus Circus. If you are an adult don't expect to sleep well.

We tried to move to a lower floor to cool off, thinking laundry etc and hot air rises; buddy at front desk informed us all floors are the same temperature, and didn't entertain our relocation option.

Now the smoking part. Perhaps there is no law here that states no smoking 6 meters from building. There is one in my province. Coming into the hotel you have to battle the smokers, but if the hotel puts ashtrays this close to the front , I guess they don' t consider non smokers.My hallway smells like smoke every day, and in the bathroom it smelled like pot coming through the vent. Our actual room smelled like smoke today, after it was cleaned.

The free breaky is great, though the same every day besides the potatoes, the waffles are a great touch, but little things missed each day, like cooking spray, whipped cream, green rine left on cantalope seperate it from being a breaky I would pay for. The eggs are great, fresh fruit and fruit cups are wonderful, chocolate milk a nice touch, but the pasteries are brutal.

Their fries are great for a takeout to
your room, but the pizza with the homeade crust I was told, tasts a lot like frozen.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blakeh1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank-you for your comments, which I have shared with my team. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast buffet and the food from Botanica restaurant. Our north tower is in need of a refresh, and our rates reflect this. In the spring time with fluctations in outside temperature from warm to cold the teperature does take time to adjust. The North tower does have windows that open for fresh air as well.

Regards,


John Mytz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Ramada for business as it was the hotel for the trade show we attended.

Front staff is very good, friendly and clearly enjoyed their job.

Was disappointed that the hotel no longer has a pool, but that was partially my fault for not thoroughly checking the website and just blindly thinking all Ramada's have one (The south Ramada has a waterslide.)

Room was fine. Got the room with the fridge and microwave, although the fridge was a small bar fridge not a full fridge. Bed was comfortable, the balcony would be a nice addition on summer days. Not sure how the other buildings are in terms of being updated. Lots of parking which was great as we had a trailer. They are pet friendly.

The Botanica Restaurant however is horrible. Breakfast is included, and it is a passable typical continental breakfast - eggs (bland) sausage or bacon, waffle station, some fruit and a toaster and bread. They bring you the receipt to sign off on when you turn in your coupon, I was floored that a non guest would pay $16 for it. Definitely not worth the price if you are not staying there.

The hotel elevator advertised a "delicious prime rib buffet" on Fridays and Saturdays. This is false advertising, it was not delicious. The prime rib was cut against the grain so it was rough. The Yorkshire pudding was dried out and horrible, the chicken was dry... one person in our group has a gluten allergy so couldn't have the buffet and ordered steak rare, and it came out well done. Just an awful dining experience capped off by a supervisor who was a complete jerk to his staff.

So unfortunately the poor restaurant experience had a negative overall effect on the hotel. The hotel is inexpensive but I don't think I would stay there again because of the lack of pool and not wanting to eat at Botanica, even for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Ramada Conference Centre we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at our hotel. Your comments have been shared with our Restaurant Manager about the lack of service in the Botanica Restaurant and we are following up with the supervisor on duty that evening. We have a high standard for service and unfortunately the level of service that evening was not up to our standard. We value our employees and our guests and are continuing on-going training for our staff and management.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

John Mytz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Chateau Nova Kingsway
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Nova Yellowhead
#32 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#61 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 11834 Kingsway NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5G 3J5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to where a DELUXE BREAKFAST is always COMPLIMENTARY with your guestroom! The Largest Conference Hotel in Edmonton.Ideal for business or leisure travel, Ramada Conference Centre Edmonton is conveniently located just five minutes from downtown Edmonton, 35 kilometers from Edmonton International Airport, and minutes from the City Centre Airport with easy access to popular capital-area attractions in just minutes.The hotel offers over 260 guestrooms, 30,000 square-feet of meeting space, Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Graze restaurant serving Canadian cuisine, Arbour Bar lounge, 24 hour Fitness Centre, 24 hour Business Centre and a friendly team of professionals to serve you.Ramada Conference Centre guestrooms offer free local calls and free wireless high-speed internet to keep you connected. If you choose to drive, the hotel offers ample free parking on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Conference Centre Hotel Edmonton
Ramada Hotel Edmonton
Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing