We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra expense for parking!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extra expense for parking!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We weren't told about the height resrictions in their underground parking when we made the reservation by phone. So when we checked in and were told our truck wouldn't fit in their parkade, we were told we had to park across the street at the "paid parking lot". It ran out at 6am, you couldn't pay for more hours, so my husband had to get up at 6am to go and buy an additional parking pass. Our stay then cost an extra $16 over and above our hotel cost. When we mentioned it to the front desk clerk, he said it was all over their website, but we made our reservation over the phone and wasn't told about it. It was also noisy in hallways at night with people yelling and slamming doors and nobody came by to quiet them.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommyof2beautygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    80
    34
    23
See reviews for
44
53
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My family lives in Mississauga while I work here in Fort McMurray. Me and my wife decided to celebrate our 22nd. anniversary in Edmonton, so she flew from Toronto and I drove down from Fort Mac. It was our mis-fortune, we selected Days-Inn downtown for our stay. Very second night of our stay, we found passenger side front window glass smashed. I teried to call police to report but kept waiting somebody on other end for 15 minutes and then we did not have time to report as my wife has to do some shopping for our kids before flying back. We made a complaint to hotel management but they said, "we can not do anything unless you report to police".
When I come back, I registered a complaint with company running Days-Inn and got the answer that the location is independent franchise. They opened a case and no action has taken untill today.
Not only inconvenience, we faced, I have to drove back with glass less window for 450KM, our anniversay become a nightmare and nobody pay attention to our complain. So I request all frequent travellers to bycott all this chain because it's not worth to stay even free of cost, as you will end up with horrible experience ever in your life. Thanks for reading this review.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Front Desk Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry for the unfortunate incident that occurred during your stay. The property does have security surveillance at the hotel and to help prevent a similar situation in the future we will be increasing our security patrols of the parking area.

Our hotel policy is to report any car damage to the police to investigate and hopefully apprehend the perpetrators. Insurance carriers also require an official police report in order to file a claim.

We share your frustration and can be reached if you wish to discuss this situation in greater detail.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to speaking to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Nunavut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I traveled with my son who was five years old at the time and the rooms were just big enough for the two of us. We spent two nights at the Days Inn downtown waiting for my wife and two other children to arrive, then we moved to a more luxurious hotel.

Pros: quiet, staff that were there at the time were friendly.

I don't have much bad to say about the place, its a Days Inn so obviously you won't get 4 or 5 star conditions there but if all you want is some clean, quiet space to sleep for a good price then you might find this place fits the bill.

Furnishings were on the older side, but renovations were being done at the time, so maybe it's improved.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siutiapik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Front Desk Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. All observations are welcomed in order to improve and enhance our guests' experience. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We spent one night here for a shopping trip with my wife and her parents. Overall it served its purpose. The hotel is old and small, however recently renovated and looking pretty decent despite its contracted feel. The room was of average size, nice bathroom and good shower. The free wireless internet is nice but I would consider that standard these days. The room was recently done and looking new and tidy, if you're ok with an orange-based color-scheme. No bugs or signs of poor cleaning. Quiet, beds very comfortable and I had a great sleep. The TV was an old, small tube style. One small table and two chairs. Lots of room in the closet and drawers if you need it.

We didn't interact much with the staff, basically they seemed passive, not warming but not offputting. Traffic was not busy, easy to pull into the loading area at the front doors. The parkade dates the hotel, its very old-looking, difficult to get around corners or park, and there is only one in or out, potentially making it a hazard. There were very few spots for the actual hotel guests, most appeared to be reserved on a monthly basis, presumably by locals or commuters. Immediately after signing in, the cards we were issued did not work to open the parkade gate, they had to be reset while we waited at the gate. They also failed to work consistently later that day and the next day on the doors from the parkade to the hotel. The card system seems old and spotty.

The 'business center' doesn't really exist from I could tell, unless you consider one computer a business center. There was no conference area that I noticed. The gym is a 8 x 8 room with a treadmill and perhaps one other item. I did not take note of locations or existence of vending or ice machines. No lounge or extended area in the lobby, likely due to the small absolute building size. I'm not in business but I would assume its a great location for business people trying to get downtown, but I doubt you could host a well-presented professional or business meeting there.

We paid $109.00 through travelocity. I think that was a bit much for what you get ($89.00 would have been about right), but you can certainly get much worse for that nowadays as well. Looks like they are dealing well with what they have in terms of building. The renos were a good move. I think this place lends itself to the business traveler who needs a good bed, good downtown access and not much else.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Front Desk Manager at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to comment on our property. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize it to improve and make our guets' experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

This a good hotel for the money. I think I paid about $99 per night. It is an old hotel that has been renovated. It is clear from the parkade that the building is really old. That said, the room looks similar to a brand new hotel and I felt very comfortable. The only down sides to the room are the shower (old, hard to regulate) and there is no desk, just a little round table. Parking is free (very rare for downtown Edmonton) and so is the wireless internet that worked very well on the top floor I was on. I think the website says they have a business Centre, but it is only 1 computer that can be used for a charge. There is no pool or Hot Tub and the exersise room looked really small. Overall this is a simple hotel with few services, but the room quality for the money is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

A friend and I were in town for a conference. This hotel had the best discounted rates for conference attendees, so we picked a room with two beds for $108/night. They offer free parking, but it is the top levels of the parkade that was full of snow & ice. We got a spot but 90% of the stalls are reserved for daily parkers on the lower levels. The hotel staff were friendly, pointed out places to eat and other things to know about the area. Our room was very clean, and tidy. We only wished for a mini fridge as we brought beverages best served cold.

As we were involved in the conference, we did not stay around the hotel much but overall it was the best value for the money spent.

  • Liked — price, clean, free parking, proximity to Shaw Conference Center
  • Disliked — no bar fridge, need thicker curtains on windows
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passitforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Claudia from the front desk greeted us with a great smile and provided general informations of the service in and around Days Inn.

We stayed in 3 different rooms during our 2 weeks.

Room 586
The room had 2 queen-size beds. A coffee maker, TV, an ironing board without iron. The wardrobe did not have any door and it hardly had any space left after hanging our winter coats.

Not much view from the window. If you looked far ahead, you could see a church and some commercial buildings. if you looked down, it was the carpark and trash bins.

Room 468
We had a complimentary up-grade. This room was much bigger with extra chairs and tables. It also had a mircowave and a fridge.

View-wise was the same as it was below our previous room.

We used the microwave a couple of times just to warm-up food. However, it would cut-off the whole room electrical supply within 30 seconds of usage! We called the front desk each time this happened. Fortunately, the power supply resumed promptly.

On our last night, the light suddenly went off. The electicity went on & off for over a period of time. It was difficult to do our packing with just the toilet and corridor lights(the only lights not affected).

Was told by the staff that the "line" was not able to support the high electricity consumption. We did not get what he meant. If a room had all the electrical appliances, it should be able to support all of them. Moreover, at that time, we WERE NOT using the microwave(which seemed to be always the problem), TV and even the heater too.

Room 466
We were informed to move to this room after the power failure issue could not be rectified. Luckily, it was just next door. This room was the same size as Rm 586.

The rooms that we had stayed were bright during the day even without switching on the light. But found that they were too dim during the night even with both lamps switched on.

The housekeepers are friendly and did their job well. However, once we came back to find the room filled with the smell, like those of nail polish remover. The smell went off soon after we opened the small window. Another incident, I was bitten by something and developed a rash, after I sat briefly on the floor.

This Days Inn seemed to be popular with weekend revellers. We could still hear the 'party-mood' spreading along the corridor late at night.

The one and only lift also had a signage stating "not more than 5 persons". Anyway, we did not encounter any problem when it was occupied with more than 5 pax.

It was an easy walk to downtown. The nearest LRT(Corona Station) and bus stop were just less than 5minutes walk away.

Budget Car Rental was just across the road. Hertz rental was only 3 blocks away(~0.5km).

Free Wi-fi (signal was weak at times)

Washer & dryer (one each, 24/7 , nominal fee) at Level 2.
Ice marker machine at Level 3.
ps::- we did not stay near any of these but believe they could be irritating to those light sleepers.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. The staff were friendly and approachable. We would be even happier if there was no "electricity" issue :>

  • Liked — Close proximity to all our needs!
  • Disliked — O..that electricity issue!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherryto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Edmonton Downtown

Property: Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Address: 10041 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown Edmonton hotel delivers on the Days Inn slogan of offering "The Best Value Under the Sun." We certainly offer the best value in Edmonton. Inside our award-winning Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel, our ambiance will help you relax from the mayhem of business and travel. Our enthusiastic and friendly staff is eager to make your visit to Edmonton, Alberta a success. ***Please Note : Our Parking lot is undergoing renovations to improve our guest experience. We thank you for you understanding.*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown Alberta
Edmonton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing