We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone to the dogs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Edmonton Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gone to the dogs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed here in the past , but never again. Bck in the 90's and early 2000's it was nice little spot centrally located, not flashy but clean, friendly, and didn't have a moldy stench. When we arrived the elevator was out of service but we could access our room from the upper parking level, well that can happen and fortunately we didn't have to haul our bags up 3 or 4 flights of stairs. We headed back out to attend my daughters wedding rehersal which was close to the hotel. Came back late and tired and went to bed, lumpy nasty bed. When I got up in the morning and headed for the shower NO HOT WATER!!! ok pretty much the last straw, the elevator was finally back in service, so we went down to the Alberts Restaurant attached to the lobby. I had always had a great relationship with the management and staff of the restaurant. New staff and management. Not good, lazy rude, more interested in filling their own faces than tending to the clientel at that point and with no hot water in sight, we were told it must just be our room ad they will get to it when they could, we called the Holiday Inn Express down the street, My better half got us a discount which made it cheaper then the Days Inn, clean well appointed just as handy to the wedding site and they had hot water and a balcony. Not only did we leave the Days Inn , demanding and getting a refund and reduced rate, but I also contacted all the family memebers who were to stay at the same hotel and told them of our situation and our move, Holiday Inn Express extended the same rate to my family memebers who all switched to the Holiday Inn. Express down town Edmonton. Days Inn You lost a loyal customer. You should look at your Edmonton operation, it is not a good embassador for your corporate name. Looking and acting pretty skid row.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel no good rooms in this dump anymore
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcticdirtdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is only through the honest and open observations from our guests that we can find out about all those areas that need immediate correction or improvement. I was very sorry to hear that your stay with us was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed their expectations and make their stay as comfortable as possible and up to the standards of Days Inn. It is clear to us that during this specific stay, we did not meet this goal, and we can assure that we will take steps now to prevent this from happening in the future. I have forwarded your valuable feedback to the each person in charge of the departments in question. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    80
    79
    33
    22
See reviews for
43
52
34
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Va.Beach
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had flown in from Virginia Beach, Va. for a wedding. I'm not hard to please and for the price I expected it not to be a 5 start hotel but I did expect the elevator to be working and to have hot water. We had a wedding to get ready for the next day and I didn't want to take a chance and not have hot water. We waited all day for them to fix it and it still wasn't working when we got back. So I called Holiday Inn Express. They were more than happy to accomodate us! The room was much better at a cheaper price. Although the A/C didn't work as well, but the room and bed was much nicer. We also got a room with a balcony still cheaper than what we paid at the Days Inn. The Holiday Inn Express was only 2 blocks away from the Days Inn. Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else but that Days Inn! Oh and the resturant beside it (Albert’s Family Restaurant) had a very unprofessional staff. They were all sitting down eating and looked annoyed if you interrupted them to ask for something! Food was good but staff...not so good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lania67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you suffered during your stay. Event though our elevator and boilers are under regular maintenance checks,during this particular time, we had unexpected situations beyond our control and to which our staff did their best to their abilities and resources available to mitigate any kind of impact to our guests. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, with observatons like yours, we can look for solutions and reach the standards our guests' expect and beyond. We hope you can give us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

toronto
Level Contributor
248 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is good value. It is conveniently located downtown and we had no problem walking to the legislature, city hall and the art gallery. We had a nice room and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was fine: cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It is very good to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed at the Days inn on the 10th of August for a weekend away in Edmonton. We were upgraded to a room with a king bed which was a very nice surprise. Room was clean and the lobby was also very nice. The lady at check out on Saturday morning was lovely and chatty too. Perks were free parking and free wireless internet. Downsides were our window looked out onto a concrete wall and the gentleman at check in wasn't overly friendly.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments reagarding our property. Our enthusiastic and friendly staff is eager to make your next visit to Edmonton a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed here in the summer after reading several good reviews online and in print for this location. The location is good, sandwiched between the government area and the commercial downtown area, which can be accessed via walking. Another nice feature was the free parking, although the parking garage itself can be tricky to manuever. As others have said, the hotel is an older hotel and the outside is dated. The hallways are dark and smell musty. The room was remodeled and quiet. When I arrived the elevator wasnt working. My room was on the 5th floor. The front desk clerk told someone else that there was a call into maintenance, but no direction was given on how to access the room. The stair layout is very odd. A combination of two sets of stairwars, both inside and outside for the garage and room and lobby get you where you need to be, but are inconvienent and not marked well. in addition, usually hotel staff are friendly and inviting. I found the staff here not that way- cold and lacking emotion. If I were to return to Edmonton, I do not believe I would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallcodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the elevator during your stay. The he elevator was temporarily out of service due to routine maintenance and we are pleased to announce that it is now fully operational.
We are concerned and shocked at your comments about our poor service. We will be scheduling a meeting to provide additional service-training to all staff to avoid similar observations from our valued guests. We do pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are hoping we will have another opportunity in the future to show your the hopitality Days Inn and the province of Alberta are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hotel a few times while working in the area. The only downsides are a sketchy elevator and slightly out dated decor in the halls. Other than that, the beds are great, pillows are plentiful, and the hotel is located well.

I'll continue to stay here, and look forward to my next visit

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basque17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests, specially if we were able to satisfy their expectations. Thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to accommodating you again, there is always something new to do in Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is an older hotel but is clean and well maintained. Room was comfortable on the second floor but the air conditioner was quite loud.

Room Tip: Ask about the air conditioner. Rooms on the east side are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick31Burnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We would like to thank-you for your stay at our property. We are happy to see that your enjoyed your stay and we hope to be of service to you sometime in the near future. I will forward your wonderful comments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#53 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#39 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Edmonton Downtown

Property: Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Address: 10041 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown Edmonton hotel delivers on the Days Inn slogan of offering "The Best Value Under the Sun." We certainly offer the best value in Edmonton. Inside our award-winning Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel, our ambiance will help you relax from the mayhem of business and travel. Our enthusiastic and friendly staff is eager to make your visit to Edmonton, Alberta a success. ***Please Note : Our Parking lot is undergoing renovations to improve our guest experience. We thank you for you understanding.*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Days Inn Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown Alberta
Edmonton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing