We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for a budget property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service for a budget property”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is an affordable/ budget hotel in a good location (quiet area, centrally located). The rooms are decent and clean. The staff are very friendly.

The breakfast is great. It includes eggs, yogurt, baked goods, coffee, tea, and a bit of fresh fruit. If you checkout in the wee hours of the morning (before breakfast starts), they offer fruit and coffee to go.

The fitness room includes a few cardio machines, free weights (dumbbells), and a multi-use weight machine. The swimming pool is lukewarm, which is nice (not too cold!) The steam rooms were being renovated when I was there (Feb 2014).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaChick640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    139
    54
    20
    16
See reviews for
63
57
26
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Its getting difficult to find a decent hotel to stay at in downtown Edmonton - unless you want to pay a lot and stay at the Fairmont MacDonald. The hotel is well located if you have meetings downtown and is reasonably priced. That said the area is a little sketchy - and I wouldn't recommend walking by yourself at night. The Red Arrow bus stop is located next to the hotel - so thereis always an idling bus in front of the hotel. The hotel itself is only so-so but I rated it VG because the staff is exceptional. I almost felt like I was staying at a friends house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just back after a weekend in Edmonton. Stayed two nights at the HIE, Friday and Saturday nights in a King room with a pull out sofa bed. We travelled to Edmonton for a dance convention and try to stay at HIE hotels when we travel as a family for the amenities - especially the included breakfast.

This location was okay. It was relatively clean. The staff were nice (only dealt with them at check in and the staff in the breakfast area), but overall the hotel is dated and in dire need of updating to be at the standard we are used to with the Holiday Inn Express brand.

My biggest areas of concern:

- I hate paying for parking when the lot is not a dedicated hotel parking lot. It is an Impark so one night we had to do a bit of driving around the small lot to spy a spot. We lucked out but were concerned that there was not a space available.

- The walls really are paper thin. I am used to this complaint, read it all over this site. I usually ignore it - this time it is true. Saturday night we were woken up by the guests in the next room who were really not that terribly loud... adults talking after a few drinks at 11:00 - 1:30 am. But it was like they were in the room with us, they were obviously smoking on the balcony (who would go out there at 1:00 am when its -30 ???) It was very loud. We did call down to the front desk and they sort of quieted down but not enough that we didnt hear them at all.

- This was a big one to me - the rate that we booked in at (online) was NOT the rate they tried to charge us. Make sure you have a confirmation number and a copy of the rate you book in at. The desk agent did honour our quoted rate but only because we had a confirmation number with us.

- Really just an overall reno is needed - old furniture, old coffee pots, the place just feels a bit worn out.

The good aspects of the stay:
- The breakfast, lots of choices fruit, cereal, yogurt etc. and a few hot items. Perfect when you dont have a lot of time in the morning for heading out for breakfast. The coffee was decent as well.

- I am a sucker for Bath and Body Works and love that this brand is always provided in the bathrooms - shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion! All lovely

- The free wifi worked just fine for all our devices

We didnt use the pool but stopped by to check it out - looked ok and clean. It was empty so not sure if it gets used much.

So would we stay here again??? Only if we were attending something like the dance convention at the Shaw Convention centre again. This would not be my first choice of a place to stay in Edmonton at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daLesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear daLesters,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We appreciate your compliments on our breakfast and bathroom amenities.

However, I am disappointed to read that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of our amenities and particularly with the room condition. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our guest services.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we look forward to serving you again and allow us to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile


We arrived late into Edmonton and there was no close by parking available. Once in the room, king exec that furniture was dated and the rooms next to us were Very noisy up to 2am, thin walls, unable to get any sleep and phone in room didn't work, therefore unable to contact the front desk - checked out the next day

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYohannes, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear David P,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We take every feedback very seriously.
We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectation as an IHG hotel chain.
As you may be aware the city had lots of great concerts that took place during the time of your city. As a downtown property our parking spot has been fully taken as we had 100% occupancy and over flow from other businesses in the area.
Based on your comment we have now addressed the issue with our engineering department and the phone / thermostat issue is resolved and we thank you for that.
We are not certain if this is going to help for your inconvenience however we have plan to do major renovation of the entire hotel that will also include new furniture’s, door thresholds and many more that is scheduled to be completed before the end of this year.
Once again thank you for your valued comments and if you would like to give us another chance, we will be honored to have you stay with us again.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and wonderful. It's rare to see staff interact with guests, but the staff at this hotel were different. I was greeted every morning by someone before or during breakfast and that was a great start to my day. Furthermore, the front desk staff were awesome. They made me feel welcomed and ensured that their services were available at my whim. Housekeeping was no slack either, they ensured my room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: high floor rooms facing south are nice for the river valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahnawake
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Was in town for 6 nights to watch a few Oiler games. The Hotel was great. Free serve yourself breakfast every morning; scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, several kinds of breads, cereals and juices each day, sometimes there was also bacon and I think an omelet.
They had a small gym good for an easy workout (free weights up to 30 pounds, a machine and 4 treadmills and bike machine), a small pool and a hot tub which was excellent when coming back from those cold days or nights. There's a small computer room with 4 computers that can be used for free by guests, printers also available to be used. There was no refrigerator in the room though, that would have been nice but not a big deal.
The location is excellent; the Subway and several Bus transits just a block away and it only took 15 minutes to get to Rexall Place. Lots of restaurants nearby, and downtown mall just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was our 4th year to return to this hotel. We stay every Christmas when visiting family as well as other occasions for both family and business. The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious and staff are always friendly. They are always accommodating even when we arrive early. The kids love the pool and the gym offers everything one needs for a workout. The complimentary buffet style breakfast has enough choices to please all of us. The décor is beautiful for a hotel at this price. I would recommend staying here any time. The manager Louis Monsod is one of the friendliest person you will ever meet, always a smile and willing to help. We always enjoy our stay here and look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#14 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
0.2 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing