We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEEDS room maintenence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The stay at this Holiday Inn Express property the end of June' 2013 was the worst I have ever had. The first room we checked in had NO air conditioning the control didn't work! They moved us into a room without 2 beds, single king and pull out. The bedding for the pull out had dried blood and other unknown fluids from previous guests. GROSS!!! This room also had unacceptable AC controls better than first room but still too hot for a comfortable evening.
Never again at this property. Property is in dire need of mechanical upgrades.
Check the room prior to checking in to ensure AC and Heat works to your satisfaction.

Room Tip: Rooms are too hot and need better detail to housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Art Y,

Thanks for taking the time to provide some candid feedback regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I want to sincerely apologize that we obviously did not leave you with the positive memories most of our guests depart with. Rest assured, after reading this review, our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams were dispatched to the room in question to inspect the room and make any required repairs/upgrades. We pride ourselves here at the Holiday Inn Express on meeting the needs of our guests and therefore rely on our Hospitality Promise - if you advise us of a problem during you stay, we will immediately correct the issue for you. Had we known about this during your stay I'm confident our teams would have resolved all challenges to your satisfaction.

With respect to renovations in general, we are pleased and excited that our property is in the final planning stages for a full renovation beginning this fall/winter.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our award-winning service. I'd be pleased to assist with a future reservation if you contact the hotel directly and ask for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 343 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 night. It was a very comfy place to stay. The beds were comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly, and there was a small pool area with a hot tub and small fitness room. The complimentary hot breakfast in the morning was great as well. The staff at the breakfast were very friendly. All the rooms seem to come with a patio.
The only complaints I have about this hotel is how slow the wireless internet is. If you are just doing simple tasks it shouldn't be an issue, but for me it was cutting out and dropping a lot.
If you are staying with the holiday inn, it is worth joining their priority club, its free to join, you collect points, and you get a little goody bag with a few small things when you check in. I also was upgraded to a room with a fridge and microwave.
The hotel seems to be animal friendly, I did not have a dog in there, but some people down the hallway did.
The hotel was downtown. I didn't find there was a lot going on downtown Edmonton. There were also a few sketchy people around the hotel area, but that is to be expected in most downtown areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CubaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear CubaJen,

On behalf our team, thank you for your fair and balanced review of our property and your most recent stay with us. We were so happy to read that more than anything you referred to our staff as the 'nicest and professional' you could meet. Our staff is truly dedicated to providing memorable guest experiences for each and every guest - each and every time they stay.

We continue to work with our internet providers and support staff to resolve any outstanding issues with that service. In the coming weeks we are installing additional wireless units throughout the hotel in order to assist with consistent and acceptable delivery of high speed wireless internet.

Finally, just want to thank you for taking advantage of all the hotel has to offer including our pool/fitness facilities, complimentary Express Start Breakfast and our awesome Priority Club Rewards Reception every Wednesday night. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit us from the Nation's capital!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were there in April for work. The hotel has a great location, near the bridges and downtown. There is a parking available next to the hotel. The included breakfast is pretty complete and there is a lot of tables available. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Isabelle,

Thanks very much on behalf of our entire management team and staff for taking the time to post a quick review about your recent experience at our property. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the experience, especially our prime downtown location, easily accessible parking and our huge Great Room for our signature Express Start Breakfast.

Looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Was in Edmonton for work and needed a hotel close to downtown. Picked the HIEX. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't too sure what I think.

Arrived at the hotel around 1030 and there was a large group in the lobby. Was checked in rather quickly. The guy at the front deak was very friendly and accommodated my request to be moved to a room that wasn't by the elevators. He also decided to give me an upgrade to a King jacuzzi suite! Very large room. Was rather clean, although the lamps and such had a small layer of dust on them. The bed was quite comfy. Was looking forward to having the pillow cases labelled hard and soft. I had both types of pillows. Unfortunately they were all labelled soft.

The room also had a balcony. Unfortunately due to time I did not really have time to use it.

Even though I was on the 6th floor I did smell the chlorine from the pool. It was not very strong but it was there.

Parking was not an issue. Checkout was fairly quick, there was a slight freeze of the computers which caused a slight delay. Overall, the staff was very accommodating, the beds were comfy, and the room was clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear KaraL1,

Thank you very much for your candid and positive review of our property. We were pleased to read that you booked due to our central downtown location and despite some challenging reviews on this site; you were able to see the overwhelming majority of our guests have an enjoyable and positive experience at our hotel.

We sincerely apologize regarding the cleanliness issues you experienced in your guest room and lack of pillow variety. Our housekeeping leaders personally inspected all of our Jacuzzi rooms after reading this review to ensure all standards and amenities are in place.

Having a pool at our property (one of the few downtown properties with one) does create some challenges from time to time. Very shortly, we will be installing an additional door at the entrance to our pool to create a vestibule area and assist in eliminating any smell from the pool area.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and the opportunity to continuously improve our service delivery for all of our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in downtown Edmonton. One of the nicest and professional staff you could meet. They always go out of their way to ensure I get a quiet room (behind the elevators is best, no neighbors). The hotel, although older, is great for a good nights rest, as it is made from concrete, so you don't hear anyone above or below you. Balconies with view is a nice touch, as is the pool and extremely hot hot tub. Breakfast is included, with it's own pancake maker. Be sure to come Wednesday nights for the Priority club get together, for free drinks and appetizers. It helps you get to know other travellers and spend some time with the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room behind the elevators if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OutwestCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear OutwestCalgary,

Thanks so much for taking a few minutes out of your busy schedule to send such an excellent review of our property, staff and your most recent stay. We are always delighted to hear stories and reviews regarding the positive impact of our guest service team at the front desk.

We are pleased you were able to experience many of the amenities we offer at the hotel and that you were able to enjoy a restful sleep.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This place has two good things to mention. O e is the perfect location-Downtown yet secluded. The other good thing was very helpful staff. Other than these two things nothing else was worth mentioning.
However I have to notice that the pricing for this kind of hotel is outrageous. It was $174 per night. Breakfast was included but it was terrible. At this price o e would expect to have a fridge in the room at least.
Huge disappointment.
I have visited some other Holiday Inn Hotels, namely Toronto-Markham and London, ON. Both of these were fine in contrast to this one in Edmonton.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bojan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Bojan I,

In today’s economy we realize that value for money spent is paramount. We are disappointed that you did not feel the money spent at our property was matched by the service, amenities and inclusions that we part of your stay with us. Thank you very much for providing your feedback as we a constantly striving to ensure all guests feel every dollar spent at our location was worthwhile. You are correct, our Standard rooms do not come equipped with a microwave or fridge, having said that, to upgrade to the next room type which does include those amenities and other upgrades the cost is a nominal $5-$15 per night.

I sincerely apologize on behalf of our Food & Beverage team that the breakfast was not enjoyable. We are currently reviewing all of our training and service delivery standards specifically with respect to our Express Start breakfast to ensure we are providing a consistently delicious, healthy and enjoyable breakfast experience for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel seems to be an older hotel that has been renovated and although the staff were very nice and accomodating the overall experience was lacking. First, the parking sucks and you have to pay for it so factor that into the cost. If you have a lrage vehicel, trailer or RV then avoid staying here altogether as you will spend more time dealign with parking than its worth.The rooms were too hot and too noisy. The air conditioning did not work and nightitme was unbearable.

Went to the gym and half of the equipment was either not functioning properly, not working at all or old.

Housekeeping was okay but it took forever in the day to get your room serviced. Our room did not get cleaned until 5pm one day and by that time we had to make other arrangements to be out of their way.

The hotel did provide the free breakfast and it was good but for the price of $169 per night in an express hotel it just did not add up. Pile on the cost of parking and the experience was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thunderbird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Thunderbird22,

Thanks very much for writing and taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent experience at your property. We were disappointed to learn that you felt the value you received for the money spent did not align.

We strive every day to ensure we are providing guests with maximum 'bang for their buck' by including things like our free-to-join loyalty program, complimentary 24 hour business centre, pool, whirlpool, steam room and fitness facility. Additionally, our Express Start breakfast and the lowest paid parking at a downtown hotel property at $10 per night continue to be guest favourites.

With respect to oversize vehicles, we do have an oversized/overflow lot available for all guests and are happy to accommodate those vehicles. If we were not able to deliver this for you or you were not made aware of it at check-in, I sincerely apologize. You also mentioned fitness equipment, we were not aware of any broken units, however our Engineering team completed a full review of the fitness facility and we are pleased to report all equipment is operational.

Finally, I want to thank you for recognizing our outstanding staff. At the end of the day, they are the biggest and in our opinion, the most valuable asset to our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.2 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
2,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
#70 of 93 in Edmonton
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $95 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing