We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$84
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$116
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
$169
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matrix Hotel(Edmonton)
$129
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Union Bank Inn(Edmonton)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
98
160
61
23
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
160
61
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressthe penthousefree breakfastbreakfast roomcoffee makercomfortable stayyogurtbed was very comfortableparking lotrooms are cleanstayed one nightup to datepool and hot tuban upgradebusiness tripbalconiesarrows
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 362 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were there in April for work. The hotel has a great location, near the bridges and downtown. There is a parking available next to the hotel. The included breakfast is pretty complete and there is a lot of tables available. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Isabelle,

Thanks very much on behalf of our entire management team and staff for taking the time to post a quick review about your recent experience at our property. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the experience, especially our prime downtown location, easily accessible parking and our huge Great Room for our signature Express Start Breakfast.

Looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Was in Edmonton for work and needed a hotel close to downtown. Picked the HIEX. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't too sure what I think.

Arrived at the hotel around 1030 and there was a large group in the lobby. Was checked in rather quickly. The guy at the front deak was very friendly and accommodated my request to be moved to a room that wasn't by the elevators. He also decided to give me an upgrade to a King jacuzzi suite! Very large room. Was rather clean, although the lamps and such had a small layer of dust on them. The bed was quite comfy. Was looking forward to having the pillow cases labelled hard and soft. I had both types of pillows. Unfortunately they were all labelled soft.

The room also had a balcony. Unfortunately due to time I did not really have time to use it.

Even though I was on the 6th floor I did smell the chlorine from the pool. It was not very strong but it was there.

Parking was not an issue. Checkout was fairly quick, there was a slight freeze of the computers which caused a slight delay. Overall, the staff was very accommodating, the beds were comfy, and the room was clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear KaraL1,

Thank you very much for your candid and positive review of our property. We were pleased to read that you booked due to our central downtown location and despite some challenging reviews on this site; you were able to see the overwhelming majority of our guests have an enjoyable and positive experience at our hotel.

We sincerely apologize regarding the cleanliness issues you experienced in your guest room and lack of pillow variety. Our housekeeping leaders personally inspected all of our Jacuzzi rooms after reading this review to ensure all standards and amenities are in place.

Having a pool at our property (one of the few downtown properties with one) does create some challenges from time to time. Very shortly, we will be installing an additional door at the entrance to our pool to create a vestibule area and assist in eliminating any smell from the pool area.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and the opportunity to continuously improve our service delivery for all of our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in downtown Edmonton. One of the nicest and professional staff you could meet. They always go out of their way to ensure I get a quiet room (behind the elevators is best, no neighbors). The hotel, although older, is great for a good nights rest, as it is made from concrete, so you don't hear anyone above or below you. Balconies with view is a nice touch, as is the pool and extremely hot hot tub. Breakfast is included, with it's own pancake maker. Be sure to come Wednesday nights for the Priority club get together, for free drinks and appetizers. It helps you get to know other travellers and spend some time with the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room behind the elevators if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OutwestCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear OutwestCalgary,

Thanks so much for taking a few minutes out of your busy schedule to send such an excellent review of our property, staff and your most recent stay. We are always delighted to hear stories and reviews regarding the positive impact of our guest service team at the front desk.

We are pleased you were able to experience many of the amenities we offer at the hotel and that you were able to enjoy a restful sleep.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This place has two good things to mention. O e is the perfect location-Downtown yet secluded. The other good thing was very helpful staff. Other than these two things nothing else was worth mentioning.
However I have to notice that the pricing for this kind of hotel is outrageous. It was $174 per night. Breakfast was included but it was terrible. At this price o e would expect to have a fridge in the room at least.
Huge disappointment.
I have visited some other Holiday Inn Hotels, namely Toronto-Markham and London, ON. Both of these were fine in contrast to this one in Edmonton.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bojan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Bojan I,

In today’s economy we realize that value for money spent is paramount. We are disappointed that you did not feel the money spent at our property was matched by the service, amenities and inclusions that we part of your stay with us. Thank you very much for providing your feedback as we a constantly striving to ensure all guests feel every dollar spent at our location was worthwhile. You are correct, our Standard rooms do not come equipped with a microwave or fridge, having said that, to upgrade to the next room type which does include those amenities and other upgrades the cost is a nominal $5-$15 per night.

I sincerely apologize on behalf of our Food & Beverage team that the breakfast was not enjoyable. We are currently reviewing all of our training and service delivery standards specifically with respect to our Express Start breakfast to ensure we are providing a consistently delicious, healthy and enjoyable breakfast experience for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel seems to be an older hotel that has been renovated and although the staff were very nice and accomodating the overall experience was lacking. First, the parking sucks and you have to pay for it so factor that into the cost. If you have a lrage vehicel, trailer or RV then avoid staying here altogether as you will spend more time dealign with parking than its worth.The rooms were too hot and too noisy. The air conditioning did not work and nightitme was unbearable.

Went to the gym and half of the equipment was either not functioning properly, not working at all or old.

Housekeeping was okay but it took forever in the day to get your room serviced. Our room did not get cleaned until 5pm one day and by that time we had to make other arrangements to be out of their way.

The hotel did provide the free breakfast and it was good but for the price of $169 per night in an express hotel it just did not add up. Pile on the cost of parking and the experience was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thunderbird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Thunderbird22,

Thanks very much for writing and taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent experience at your property. We were disappointed to learn that you felt the value you received for the money spent did not align.

We strive every day to ensure we are providing guests with maximum 'bang for their buck' by including things like our free-to-join loyalty program, complimentary 24 hour business centre, pool, whirlpool, steam room and fitness facility. Additionally, our Express Start breakfast and the lowest paid parking at a downtown hotel property at $10 per night continue to be guest favourites.

With respect to oversize vehicles, we do have an oversized/overflow lot available for all guests and are happy to accommodate those vehicles. If we were not able to deliver this for you or you were not made aware of it at check-in, I sincerely apologize. You also mentioned fitness equipment, we were not aware of any broken units, however our Engineering team completed a full review of the fitness facility and we are pleased to report all equipment is operational.

Finally, I want to thank you for recognizing our outstanding staff. At the end of the day, they are the biggest and in our opinion, the most valuable asset to our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews