We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barely OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“barely OK”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel certainly is not the place to get a good nights sleep. If you get a west facing room the sound of traffic and sirens is non-stop. If you happen to get a room on the east side it seems like your sleeping with trains! The ABC restaurant located in the hotel has teh worst service I've experiencd in a long while! It took almost 40 minutes to get coffee and the toast never did come. The night before for supper was not much better. Overall, I probably would not stay here again but rather at the Holiday Inn Express just south of this hotel.

Room Tip: There really isn't a good one! All are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drifter235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodEdmonton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for informing us of your comments. Without comments from our guests, we cannot strive to improve in the hospitality industry.

We do have The Fionn MacCool’s Restaurant-Pub on property which is an alternative to the ABC. We would love for you to come back and give us a chance to meet and exceed your expectations.

Jessie Moyo
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Conference Centre
Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    29
    13
    14
See reviews for
45
18
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

we booked our room on hotwire.com so we didn't know which hotel we were getting. the check-in was quick and pleasant. we asked if we could upgrade to a jacuzzi suite but because we booked with hotwire we couldn't. our room was nice, modern/tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. the room and bathroom were immaculate. our t.v didn't work and asked for someone to come take a look. he decided he didn't know how to fix it and left. we were not offered a new t.v. or to switch rooms, which i thought would have been a nice courtesy. the most annoying part of our stay was the extremely loud trains that passed just outside our window. upon entering our room we noticed free ear plugs on the night stand and figured it wasn't a good sign! i wouldn't return for that reason only

Room Tip: choose room on the front side, because train tracks are on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodEdmonton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for informing us of your comments. Your feedback is important to us.

We would love for you to come back and stay in our Westside rooms and give us a chance to meet and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Jessie Moyo
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Conference Centre
Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Clean, nice rooms. Hotel was very quiet while i was there but i will return. The pub adjoining hotel is really nice. Good guinness and nice food, nice bartenders and waitresses too. Shower in room was nice and efficient, as was the front desk staff. No complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddydirishman c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodEdmonton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely

Jessie Moyo
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Conference Centre
Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to use the Internet at all. It is so slow that it is useless. I had to connect through my phone for me to be able to get my email.
I was on the 5th floor so I'm not sure if it's better elsewhere on other floors.
Basically, if you need to stay there for business, I'd suggest you shop around before.
On the other hand, the rooms are perfectly setup for business. They have a portable phone, nice desk and a great chair for your conference calls. My business is Internet only so unfortunately I can't work work without it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_trav_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodEdmonton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for informing us of your comments. Your feedback is important to us.

We have looked into our Free Internet Service and ensured that it is working as it should.

Please come back and stay with us again as we assure you that you will have no issues where the internet is concerned.

Sincerely,

Jessie Moyo
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Conference Centre
Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our first stay in this Holiday Inn, which used to be the Greenwood. Upon check-in I noticed the bathroom was very dirty, as my pictures illustrate. There was a dead bug on the floor.

It was very late so my kids were already asleep and we were ready to go to sleep but I noticed some long black hairs on our bed, upon further inspection I saw that they had not changed the mattress pad and it was FULL of someone else's hairs. I stripped the beds the next day and requested all new bedding, which Housekeeping did.

We ate at ABC Restaurant once for supper and it was just acceptable. The prices are fairly low for Alberta (expensive for anyone visiting from the States). The waiting staff was very attentive though.

Lastly, the train tracks are right beside the hotel and the trains literally SHAKE the whole building. As well, the hallways were incredibly noisy at all hours, and because my infant daughter couldn't nap, because of how dirty our room, we will never stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieMarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodEdmonton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
To Whom It May Concern,

Thank you for informing us of your comments. Without comments from our guests, we can not strive to improve in the hospitality industry.

We have taken your pictures to assist in training issues so that we can ensure that we can try to meet and hopefully exceed our guest's expectations.

I would like to iike to take this opportunity to ask if you could contact myself directly, so that we can go into more detail of your stay with us, and invite you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Scott MacKay
Holiday Inn Conference Centre
Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

i just want to say that this hotel in Edmonton is a breath of fresh air in many counts.
The staff here is remarkbly one of the best hotel staffs I have ever encountered.
Arlene the front end representative is extremely attentive to the needs of her customer . She is a breath of fresh air and the complete staff is always acknowledging you and greeting you. I felt appreciated in so many ways. The Hotel is very clean crack free and loads of parking. The rooms are a descent size and always refreshed early and daily. i would definately recommend this hotel to any potential seekers.Thanks for making my stay comfortable,

thanks ARLENE FOR YOUR OUTSTANDING SERVICE...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthapieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.


Sincerely,

Jessie Moyo
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Conference Centre
Edmonton South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was late at night and every place was booked. The reception helped us call other hotels when a cancellation ocurred. What a lucky break for us. The room was fabulous and they even gave us a discount because a family member was in the Gray Nun Hospital. They were very concerned and extremely helpful. It was a wonderful and comfortable stay! The airline crews use this hotel!...So you know it's great!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjdougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodEdmonton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is always nice to hear when our guest service agents have made a positive impact on a stay. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
815 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#56 of 93 in Edmonton
358 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Best Western Cedar Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South
Address: 4485 Gateway Blvd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C3, Canada (Formerly Greenwood Inn Edmonton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#31 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Inn Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Greenwood Hotel Edmonton
Greenwood Inn Edmonton Edmonton
Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing