We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Helpful and friendly front desk
Convenient location, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. They also have ABC family restaurant and Fionn MacCool Irish Pub in the hotel. At my recent stay, the Pub was featuring complimentary Oyster Bar every Friday afternoon and live band at night. Good menu choices.
Room was a bit small but enough for 1-2 person. I was booked in a double queen room. It was modern decorated and clean. Bed and pillows were comfortable. In room fridge. No microwave.
The back side of the hotel facing an active train track. I was staying in the room facing Gateway Boulevard. I had quiet and quality sleeps.
Gym- Spacious area and good choices of equipment. This hotel also has a swimming pool.
Rate is reasonable comparing with other hotels in the same area. I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: You might have to pay a little bit more but the rooms facing Gateway Boulevard are more quieter. Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodEdmonton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for providing us the feedback in regards to your recent stay, we are proud to provide our guests with newly renovated rooms, please be advised that microwaves are available upon request at no extra charge. Our newly opened Fionn MacCools Irish pub offers guest a live band every Thursday, Friday and Saturday. The Oyster bar is available every Friday as indicated in your response, available from 5 pm until the last oyster is gone. Looking forward to hosting you in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    59
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
40
16
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

As noted it adjacent the railroad. We had the west side room so it was not a factor. The hotel seems to discount he train side with a "track pack" room. Perhaps rail buffs woul pick it for this reason. Our stay was quiet and comfortable.rooms newly renovated. Good access to west Edmonton mall (15 min drive easy roads) south to airport (15 min). And south Edmonton common shopping was 10 min. Restaurants nearby need a drive. Did not include breakfast, so was only disappointment. Second stay at the hotel for above mentioned features.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Land-air-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you again. The train pack has proven to be a success and provides the train aficionados with a $10 meal voucher and Bonus Priority Club Points. ABC Family Country Restaurant Bed and Breakfast package now available which includes a choice of Continental or Traditional Hot Breakfast, all included in room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed this Holiday Inn May 22 and 23, 2012. It has recently become a Holiday Inn, and will probably be fine one in time. There are still renovations being done and they start early. This also means not all room choices are available. Rooms are well appointed and plenty of space available in the room. Location is great in south Edmonton with easy access to highway, downtown, and the University.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willbetrvlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are pleased to announce that renovations are complete and apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. We look forward to your next visit to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel has recently converted to a Holiday Inn and has added a beautiful Irish pub called Fionn MacCool's. All in all, a very nice place to stay and great for travellers doing business south of the downtown area. It is also conveniently located a short distance from the LRT station at Southgate Mall.

Room Tip: My room was on the front side of the hotel - I did not find it noisy, especially given that it is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GM-HIEKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit. We have finished extensive renovations to our property and are very excited to offer our new product to our clientele. Fionn MacCools Irish Pub, restaurant and patio, is open and ready to service visitors!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here twice in the last month for daughter's volleyball tournaments as rooms booked by club so we didn't have a choice in hotel.
Several team members/parents had concerns with the noise and train tracks right outside the back of the hotel. Personally, I never heard anything once asleep and our room was on the train side both times.
Had MAJOR screwups on first stay with the front desk staff not knowing how to handle a group check in. Took 2 hours standing in line to get our team of 12 girls checked in ... UNACCEPTABLE. Second stay, they did have it all sorted out ahead of time and went smoothly.
Hotel has an ABC restaurant - okay food, but many excellent restaurants close by. Have a small bar on sight with a couple tv's and cozy fireplace, but openin up an Irish pub onsight shortly. The don't include breakfast like many other Holiday Inn's do.
SMALL pool and whirlpool on sight as well as some meeting rooms.
Guest rooms are freshly renovated with new beds (comfortable) and furniture, and our first stay our room had new carpet laid that day so the smell was very strong. I understand the bathrooms are all getting a make over soon - very much needed.
It is in a great location for getting to anywhere in the city and they are making constant improvements/renovations the hotel to get it up to usual Holiday Inn standards.
They are working on improvements to the hotel and we did see a definate change from our first stay to our second one. The only thing they can't change is the railroad behind the location, so ask for a room facing the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for the feedback provided in regards to your past experiences, we apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered previously. We are pleased to announce that Fionn MacCools Irish Pub is currently opened and that room renovations are complete. Come and visit us during your next visit to our wonderful city and we would gladly show you our new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#66 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
BEST WESTERN Cedar Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South
Address: 4485 Gateway Boulevard, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C3, Canada (Formerly Greenwood Inn Edmonton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#31 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Inn Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Greenwood Hotel Edmonton
Greenwood Inn Edmonton Edmonton
Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing