We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Upon landing in Edmonton I called the hotel to get directions how to drive there. The hotel staff could not clearly describe the route to drive nor distances. Upon checking in the room key did not open my door and had to return to lobby. All of the drink vending machines in the hotel were out of order. It was an unpleasant stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streaker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. In reviewing your comments, I do apologize for the lack of the associate in providing directions as well as the vending machines were out of product.

I jhave spoken to the Vendor for the drink dispensers in the hotel and will certainly share your comments with the associate.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for your business and do hope you will give us another opportunity for our short comings.

Thank you


Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 645 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. This hotel is in a newer area on the far south end of Edmonton. The rooms are nice and the breakfast is good. The fresh baked cookies in the lobby are a nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgary149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at teh hotel, we thank you for the business and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you


Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Upon check in my room looked okay, I had a shower and discovered the water pressure is kept very weak, and then I sat at the desk working on my laptop till bed. When I pulled back my covers I could see what looked like to be a stain on the edge of my pillow and I took a closer look and found an unwrapped condom in the pillowcase. I went and informed front desk. They moved me to another room and offered me one night complimentary. During check out they did not discount the room like promised and the front desk attendant said he could not authorize the discount but he would be sure to do so when his superior arrived. I have received my credit card statement and they charged me the full price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor, i do appreciate the feedback regarding your stay and have shared your experience with the housekeeping supervisor and the team.

I would be happy to speak with you at your earliest convenience at (780) 801 - 2902 and farid.janmohamed@hilton.com.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Arrogant staff, lousy house keeping, hot tub sucked, charged different rate than what was booked over the phone. noisey room and hallway. Didn't bother to try the breakfast. Tre brand new socks on metal edges where the carpet meets the tile, glad no one snagged skin...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I do apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us and appreciate the feedback.

I would be happy to discuss this with you further at your earliest convenience. I can be reached at farid.janmohamed@hilton.com or (780) 801 - 2902.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you


Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Was not impressed with this hotel. They had air conditioning on and it was -31 outside. This made going to and from poool very uncomfortable. Pool was freezing hot tube was luke warm. Sleep was okay but the breakfast left us still wanting Tim's!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I do appreciate the feedback regardfing your recent stay with us and apologize for the inconvenience you encountered .

I will certainly share your experience with the team and would be happy to discuss this with you in more detail.

I can be contacted via email at farid.janmohamed@hilton.com or my direct line at (780) 801 - 2902.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for a night. This is a new property. Rooms were overall clean (although scuffing seen on walls) and equipped with a microwave and mini fridge (that worked!). Free breakfasts offered solid value (including some hot items like sausage). The freshly baked cookies available when checking in was a nice touch! Good location for people heading in on highway 2 or if you need to be in the south part of Edmonton.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrinkwrap8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for the business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel had a deal on rooms and a pool so we booked it as we had an early flight the next morning.
First, they charge you $20 for each extra person. So unless you're staying alone, you'll be paying a lot for a family.
Second, we were put in a room on top of a party so the music was coming though the floor.
When we had to move, after packing our stuff up and going to bed, front desk screwed up our room key and some random guy walked in as we were changing.
I'm writing this review in the room, two hours past bedtime. Someone keeps calling our room. No discounts, coupons or reimbursement was offered for our troubles. I'd have been happier at the best western across the street.
Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. We certainly appreciate your feedback and do apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us.

I would be happy to discuss this with you and address the issues you encountered as this is not what you come to expect from the Hampton.

I can be contacted directly at (780) 801 - 2902 and look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#24 of 91 in Edmonton
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South

Address: 10020 12 Ave SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#12 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $72 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in one of the 100 individually decorated guestrooms, featuring MP3 docking stations and LCD televisions. Your pillowtop bed comes with cotton sheets, down comforters, and down blankets. Windows open for fresh air and city views. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming provides entertainment. Private bathrooms with shower/tub combinations feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. To top it up the hotel offers a daily complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Edmonton/South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing