We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, but not the breakfast you'll get at the Hampton Garden Inn by West Ed Mall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great rooms, but not the breakfast you'll get at the Hampton Garden Inn by West Ed Mall”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed June 23-25. No complaints on anything, but the sloppy breakfast they serve. NOTHING like the incredible breakfast at the Hilton Garden Inns & Suites on the northwest end by West Edmonton Mall.
If you're just looking for a place to crash, the beds are incredible. One of the best we've seen. If you stay here, go next door to the White Spot for a great breakfast.
Also: no pay per view available, but they did have a couple of free movie central channels.
Also, no makeup mirror in bathroom like most of the Hilton/Hampton hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly do appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast offerings.

All Hamptons do have a standard breakfast that we serve and will certainly evaluate the preparation method of the items here at the hotel.

I would be happy to get more feedback on the breakfast and can be contacted at farid.janmohamed@hilton.com or (780) 801 - 2902.

Thank you for the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thanks

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    169
    48
    20
    12
See reviews for
213
117
34
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

There are only two things that I could say would not make this review a 5 star, the breakfast food was a little on the weak side selection/quality wise (not sure those were real eggs) and the one side of the building faces a busy road but the traffic died down as the evening went on. The hotel is rather new, awesome hot water, clean room, great bed and restaurants within walking distance. All this at a great rate, would recommend for anyone looking for a nice new Hampton

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeke7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I do appreciate the feedback and am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We at the Hampton certainly value guest feedback and have added fresh oatmeal with all the toppings prepared and served fresh daily in our breakfast room.

We thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.


Farid Janmohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are extremely satisfied with our stay in Edmonton last weekend. Extra friendly staff allowed us to check out past 2 pm when we requested extra time so that we could get some sleep before a 5 hour drive to Fort MCmurray. The manager Naren Kumar was very friendly and took such good care of us :)
This will be the first choice of hotel for our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for the business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My family had no sleep as the walls and floors are so thin and we had teenagers running up and down the hallways above us all night keeping us awake. Our room had a funny smell, as did the elevators, when staff noticed the elevator smell it was spayed with a strong deodorizer to cover it but it was still there.
Our stay here was awful from the moment we checked in until checking out. With other hotel options in the area I will definitely not be staying here again and booking somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFortTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I do apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and do appreciate your feedback.

In regards to the walls, this is something I will pass your feedback to the construction team and the smell is something I can address as this is the first occurence we have encountered.

I would be happy to offer you a complimentary night stay on your future stay and do hope that you will give us another opportunity.

I look forward to hearing from you and can be contacted at (780) 801 - 2902.


Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

First time staying at this location as we had a function on Whyte Ave. Quiet area right next to a Volvo dealership. We were first given a room with a loud squeaky door which surprised me then I found out the door did not close automatically when it swung shut behind me. It stayed open! Fine, not a big deal we just manually press down on the handle each time to close the door. Hotel doors do not behave normally that way but we could live with that or so we thought. When my husband left the room, he couldn't close the door behind him. Housekeeping service was out in the hall and when he inquired about the door, he was told that there's another room (even named the number) with the exact problem. He had to put a key card in to press down on the handle to close the door!!!!

I can understand issues that need to be fixed but knowing the problem areas in the hotel (they were waiting for parts to fix these doors) and they still put us in these rooms? The person in the room above wore her heels in the room so we were able to hear the dull thumping on the carpeted area and clicking of the heels on the tiled floor. That went on for awhile and I had to wonder about the sound barrier on the ceiling. The A/C was extremely noisy, not a consistent hum but a odd choking noise that made me take notice so with all the issues, we requested a different room. That was midweek so it wasn't busy and we were moved right next door. The second room was perfect! How I wish they had just put us in the second room in the first place!!

The nice touch was a 3 tier fruit infused water container in the lobby. Saw the same thing at the Cambridge Suite Toronto but they filled theirs with ice. This one at the Hampton was just sitting there at room temp. A layer of strawberries, one of cucumber slices and one of orange slices. I spotted them when we checked in in mid afternoon. When we checked out at 11am the next morning, the same desk clerk was working and I saw the same fruit infused water. I asked her if they were fresh from this morning, she nodded yes. The strawberries by now were bleached white from sitting in the water for a long time. I tried some and it was room temp. Keeping fruit in room temp water over night is not a healthy idea!!! Opportunity to impress lost!

The breakfast though was excellent! One of the best I've ever had at a Hampton. Western omelet, sausage links and french toast strips! Excellent orange juice. I know they had fresh fruit, saw the juice but it was not replenished and we still had half hour before the end of breakfast.

The room situation cost the hotel a "star", The fruit infused water was really a nice touch, too bad they didn't keep it pristine. I'd go there again but a quieter problem free room to start with would be nice!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

We certainly do appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and have actioned the various items mentioned on the feedback provided like ice placed in the 3 tier water station in the lobby, rectified the door issue and the air conditioning unit.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My family and I have stayed numerous times at this hotel. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are always fresh and clean. The hotel has always been quiet, no kids running up and down the halls or people partying all night long. Love it. Beds are always comfy. Location is terrific. Lots of shopping and restaurants around. Only minutes from Highway 16, West Edmonton Mall.

Room Tip: East rooms are quieter, if you like the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

We at the hotel are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good night sleep home away from home which the hotel has come to be known for our fresh and clean hampton bed.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Everything was just as expected for a new hotel - very clean facility, friendly staff and good breakfast. I will plan to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DML0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farid J, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South
Address: 10020 12 Ave SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#12 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in one of the 100 individually decorated guestrooms, featuring MP3 docking stations and LCD televisions. Your pillowtop bed comes with cotton sheets, down comforters, and down blankets. Windows open for fresh air and city views. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming provides entertainment. Private bathrooms with shower/tub combinations feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. To top it up the hotel offers a daily complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Edmonton/South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing