We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Union Bank Inn(Edmonton)
$117
Union Bank Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
$169
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matrix Hotel(Edmonton)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,436)
Filter reviews
1,436 results
Traveler rating
496
488
254
133
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
488
254
133
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedcity hallthe shaw conference centreroom servicecentral locationheart of downtownvalet parkingfront desk staffchecking inbusiness tripspggymcitadeldoormanconventionparkadelrt
Filter
Updating list...
824 - 829 of 1,436 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

After not a good experience last time I stayed again and this time had a much better experience. Check in was fast and friendly, Internet was fast to connect and worked perfectly and I was invited to a cocktail hour for Starwood members. It was nice to meet the hotel staff and mingle with other guests with a glass of wine. The only problem I had was with the lighting. I really could not see in my room, even with curtains open and all lights on. It appears that the light bulbs are all a soft yellow, no white lights. And no overhead lights, only lamps and wall sconces. I was trying to iron a dark suit and I could not see to iron so I finally dragged the ironing board into the bathroom. Other than that, all was really good. I especially appreciate the large magnifying mirror in the bathroom (at my age this is a necessity!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nella m, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Barbara M, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I will definitely bring this forward to our leadership team about the the better lighting. We really do hope that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon....for a better you....nella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I haven't stayed at a Westin in years mostly because they charge for everything. However, I booked in because it was next to where I had meetings. It's next to city place mall and there are a few good restaurants nearby. I had an "executive" room. It was spacious with 2 double beds. The room was very cool and so I had to turn the heat up quite high just to get it warmed up. Others complained it was too hot in their room with the ac on the blink. It was clean and the washroom was fine but I agree with other reviews that the lighting is poor in the washroom and the entry way to the room. The room could use an update, it was pretty plain in terms of colour scheme and decor. While I generally don't care if there is some fantastic artwork or not, the price of the room suggests that there would be just a bit more than a standard look. This hotel isn't on my "must" stay again list. It was just alright….

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nella m, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

dear 45-nomad, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that we didnt meet your expectations for this stay. To ensure value for price paid, The Westin Edmonton is constantly assessing our competitive pricing for incidentals within 4 diamond city center hotels across Canada.If you would like to discuss your recent experience with us further, please feel free to contact us at westinedmonton.01079@westin.com. For a better you...nella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Pleasant staff, comfortable bed and a quiet room served me well on this occasion. Very good breakfast choices and staff in the restaurant. This was the highlight. Unfortunately, the hotel rooms are in a need of a refit. Average, although clean bathrooms, very poor room lighting. Will stay there again, but the place could do with a bit of a spruce up

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nella m, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Mathew W, thank you for sharing your feed back with us. We will be undergoing a refreshment of our guest rooms very soon. If there is anything we can do in anticipation of your next stay with us, please feel free to connect with me at westinedmonton.01079@westin.com...for a better you...nella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I booked two rooms for 4 nights. In fact, I'm on my last night as I type this. So far its been completely disappointing. Not at all what I used to expect from the Westin brand. I travel 4 or 5 times a year for work. 2 or 3 personal trips a year. This is one of those stays that compels me to write an immediate review. Pros and Cons as follows:

Pros:
- it's downtown

Cons:
- long wait to check-in despite short line (inefficient/slow)
- $29 a day for parking (non-valet); believe it was $35 for valet (tip not included)
- they charge for internet.
- fan in room was noisy. despite ear plugs, i had to turn it off to sleep
- water pipes would make these horrible moaning and screaming noises when i showered
- water was nothing but hot water. my showers were scalding and hurried. quickly i found myself moaning and screaming along with the pipes. went for dinner after shower. "why is your neck all red?" i was asked. nothing like scalding showers
- the room (especially the entry and bathroom) was extremely dark. my colleague pointed out how it was terribly dark in her room too. (hard to look professional for work, getting ready in the dark).
- got a call from front desk to move me to another room. apparently all rooms ending with 08 got nothing but hot water. 07s got nothing but cold. no apology. no offer to make things right. i get moved to another room and of course they put me by the elevator and the ice machine right outside my room. thanks westin! kick me when i'm down.
- while hotel is downtown, the flip side is you can quickly get into some pretty dodgy areas. we went for dinner and decided to walk. shortly we felt we had entered into an unsafe neighbourhood. we ate and smartly decided to cab back.
- pool was under construction during the stay
- gym has poor circulation. hot and muggy. had to cut my workout short.
- hotel seemed outdated. though i'm told they are renovating
- overall not at all what i would have expected from the Westin brand.

Would not stay here again. Hopefully tonight's sleep and checkout goes smoothly.

Room Tip: i had two rooms. 2nd room was by elevator and ice machine. that room also had tv beside the bed. unless you want to crane your neck, dont bother watching tv in bed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigToeFur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nella m, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear BigToeFur, thank you for taking the time to share your Pros/Cons with us. I am so sorry to hear about your stay and did not have the experience you have come to expect from a Westin. I would ilke to discuss with you personally about your stay at westinedmonton.01079@westin.com...for a better you...nella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our seventh stay at this hotel and almost every year there seems to be an issue with the billing. Was talked into an upgrade to an executive room which increase the cost by $40, and it was the same room with free wifi($9) and a $15 food credit. Would have been ok if the room had been upgraded to the room they pictured on the website but was the same as the room everyone else had and the room we had before. At check out they had charged for wifi and for the food. To make matters worse they charge you $35 to valet park or $27 to self park and no help with your baggage. Really gone down hill in the past three years.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Loosespoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nella m, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Ryan M, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Im so sorry to hear about your billing issues and your dissappointment with your stays with us. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further with you. Please connect with me at westinedmonton.01079@westin.com....i look forward to hearing from you....stay well...nella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews