We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, nice place and central in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Edmonton
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, nice place and central in the city”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything was fine, I just expected the room to look a little more updated, it looked a little old.
I at the hotel restaurant and ordered the fish with sweet potato fries, it was excellent. Their coleslaw was great as well. Overall it served it's purpose.

Room Tip: Gym was on the third floor I stayed on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackpotJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    396
    233
    126
    60
See reviews for
173
223
88
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As a platinum member, a standard benefit is to get upgraded to the best available room (if available). When checked in, I explicitly asked if an upgrade was available, the lady said no. Ok. Walked into my room, got two doubles instead of a king, then i got mad... went on the website and did a search which turns out they do have better rooms available...

which means the lady lied... the thing i hate the most. there is nothing worst than lying to your customers, loyal customers.... who clearly stay at your hotel chain very frequent.. if you dont take your business seriously, you wont go very far. Unfortunately, nowadays you need to pay attention on CUSTOMER SERVICE...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, great salt water pool. The food was not great and the service wasn't great either. On their website it states that through the Westin Kids Club, children 4 and under eat free (in room dining and at the restaurant) but none of the staff knew about it. I actually had to go down to the lobby and show them their own website - and then talk to a manager. Lame that they don't know their own policies. Also paying for wifi is silly.
The location is good though and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed her one night for business and an additional 2 to celebrate my birthday in town. The location is great, an easy walk to everything, but the hotel itself was a let down for a Westin. The air conditioning has been broken for months apparently, but the hotel management is trying to pass it off as something that just happened a day or two before your check in. They've got fans in the room and bottles of water but on the days it was sunny and hot out, it was way too warm in there and I'm always cold. The lighting in the rooms is also terrible, I had to bring a bedside lamp into the bathroom to do my makeup, so the managements suggestion of keeping the blinds closed to reduce heat isn't the best one.

Breakfast buffet was great and front desk staff were very helpful, valet parking was incredibly slow so I suggest calling for your car LONG before you actually need to leave. Room service menu is very limited, took forever to arrive and most of the food was cold. I'll only stay here again if the Fairmont is sold out... they really need to fix the AC, it's ridiculous for a Westin hotel to be so lax about such a major issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banker_barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear banker_barbie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. I am pleased to tell you that we have finished the extensive repairs to our Air Conditioning system and it is now working again. This was a very unexpected repair and took much longer than we had hoped. Our team took every opportunity to keep the rooms as cool as posible but I understand that this was not enough.

We take your feeedback seriously and are looking at your other concerns to ensure that we take this opportunity to improve our services.

Be well...
Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for a function being held at the hotel. Upon check in I was told the air conditioner was not working (great!, especially since I am 7.5 months pregnant!). A fan was provided in the room but not sufficient to be comfortable. The housekeeping was terrible, The toilet had a previous guests urine still down the front which made me question the cleanliness of the bathroom(eww!) and the thick cover on the bed had "staining" (eww!) I pretty much threw everything off the bed besides a few pillows, the undersheet was not even a fitted kind and very thin. The room lighting is very dim and made it very hard to "get ready" in the morning with lack of lighting. The bed faced the window and the tv was far off to the side which made it very uncomfortable to watch tv in bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear mercedy,

I am disappointed to hear of the challenges you experienced during your stay with us. The repairs to our air conditioning were unexpected and extensive. The repair work is now completed and the air conditioning is working once again.

I am grateful to you for taking the time to detail your concerns and do sincerely hope you will permit us an opportunity to regain your confidence in our services. I would be happy to discuss your recent experience with you personally, especially your challenges with your room. Please feel free to contact me directly at WestinEdmonton.01079@westin.com.

Thank you for your candor and your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to improve.

Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very centrally located, the only positive for this hotel. Though the front of house staff are pleasant. Our executive twin room has nothing more than a standard twin room. The air conditioning has been broken for over a month, yet when you check in they make it sound as though its a recent thing and to compensate they give you free bottles of water. I doubt it will be fixed until they carry out their renovations.
The rooms are dimly lit, the bathroom also, you need to know exactly where you have placed everything before you step into the shower as finding it in the dark isnt easy. The housekeeping service is basic, they do not replenish the complimentary toiletries on a daily basis. Neither do they provide enough tea / coffee / milk for two or to even have more than one a day.
I don't see what exactly is 4* about this hotel. Or why they need to charge for wifi.
Valet parking is extortionate at $30 a day but worth having. I wouldnt stay here again unless theyimproved to provide real 4* value

Room Tip: Only ask for standard rooms unless getting free upgrade as no benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed190740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear dissapointed1907,

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am dissapointed to hear that we did not live up to the expectations you had of our products and services.

I am grateful to you for taking the time to detail your concerns and do sincerely hope you will permit us an opportunity to regain your confidence in our services. I would be happy to discuss your recent experience with you personally. Please feel free to contact me directly at WestinEdmonton.01079@westin.com.

Thank you for your candor and your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to improve.

Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

THE BAD
- As others have noted, way back in May, the air conditioning was 'broken', and it remained broken by my end of June visit!?!
- It took three calls to housekeeping to have a request fulfilled - this was frustrating.
- The gym area is very small and was crowded each morning.
- The rooms are very dimly lit and even with every lamp on is still a bit dark feeling.
- The TV's are small at 26" and can be difficult to see from the King bed across the room
- A little pricey for what you are getting, but there don't seem to be any other options in the city that are better

THE GOOD
- The service at the front desk and the bell staff was excellent - truly exceptional.
- The bed!! So nice - white crisp linens and feather pillows.
- Free bottled water in the room, however I thought that was compensation for the broken air conditioning
- Great free Starbucks coffee in the lobby in the morning which switches to infused water and iced tea in the afternoon
- Great proximity to the Shaw Conference Centre and to a mall with some decent stores

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are very quiet but its a long trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#14 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Edmonton

Property: The Westin Edmonton
Address: 10135 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#28 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Edmonton 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, a few steps away from the beautiful North Saskatchewan River Valley Park system. We are within a 10 minute walking distance of the Shaw Conference Center, Roger's Place Arena, and the City Centre Mall. Staying at The Westin Edmonton means you are moments from the best shopping, dining, arts and entertainment Edmonton has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Westin Edmonton
Edmonton Westin
The Westin Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing