We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Edmonton
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Edmonton for two nights. The staff were friendly and the rooms were huge and clean. We arrived on a Friday and asked the concierge if he could get us into Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and he got us in right away. Excellent service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Anne J,

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay. Our associates take the utmost care of our guests and it is truly our pleasure to be of service. Thank for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Be Well,
Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    396
    233
    126
    60
See reviews for
173
223
88
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel and would say was a good experience overall. The location downtown is quite central and easily assessible. Our room was average size, bed comfortable and the atmosphere generally relaxing. Although there was nothing particularly outstanding about the hotel in our experience during this stay, the service was noteworthy. The attendants were very pleasant and friendly and valet parking was prompt and at a reasonable cost considering the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

In checking into a Westin or other premium hotel brand, one comes to expect a certain level of upkeep and quality of rooms and furnishings.

On a recent trip, this hotel failed on all fronts - it is hard to understand how it maintains the Westin/Starwood brand designation.

Worn and unclean carpets, hallway walls that were marked up, worn furniture all led to a much darker and dim picture than what was painted online.

One shouldn't have to check out before actually checking in (yes, it was that bad) and guests shouldn't have to wonder about standards within the Starwood system.

Room Tip: Choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TFKinPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear TFKinPS,

We appreciate guest feedback and want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I have shared your comments with our Executive Committee so that we can use this information in the planning process of our next renovation. Should time allow, please contact us directly at westinedmonton.01079@westin.com so that we can learn more information regarding your stay. Thank you.

Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The place has a great location for anything downtown, especially conventions at the Shaw Conference Centre. If you can get the parking and internet package, it's a pretty good deal, as well. Room had a lot of space, great selection of bathroom items, although the soap gave my skin a temporary rash :-(. I found the room and bathroom to be quite dark, though. I've stayed in this hotel before without feeling that way, but this room seemed darker than usual.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempestt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Dahla,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. The lighting in the room you were staying in is being addressed through our energy reduction program. We are changing the lighbulbs in all our rooms to more energy efficient ones that also cast a brighter light.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Be Well,
Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Edmonton again and truly enjoy the comforts of the Brand. The rooms are a very good size and the bed is very comfortable. What I didn't appreciate was the $35 room service bill for a large pot of coffee and a bowl of granola and the $12.95 per day internet charge -- this when I get free wifi at the airport to write this review! I would recommend this hotel but bring extra cash!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Terry F,

Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your return stay and that overall, your experience was a memorable one.

We have reviewed our menu pricing and will be rolling out a new menu with a new pricing tier that we feel will better meet our guests needs. I look forward to hosting you again and receiveing feedback about these changes.

For a better you...
Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

While in downtown Edmonton I like to stay at the Westin, the rooms are always clean and comfortable. The people at the front dest are curteous and friendly willing to please unfortunately the follow through is sometimes lacking. I called at the front desk asking for a package that was sent to the hotel and three hours later went to the front desk to inquire what was happening after having called them three times for updates. Person couldn't even see that it was there so took a note and finally had it delivered to my room about 45 minutes later.
On the other hand the service in the restaurants was great, unfortunately I don't remember her name but the hostess in the bar heard me sneeze and immediately brought some tissue which was very appreciated, all in all a good stay except for my package issue.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are more comfortable and a little bigger then the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback as it is a direct source to vital information which shows us what we are doing right and areas in which improvements are necessary. Thank you for sharing your comments for our clean and well-appointed guestrooms. It is a delight to hear that our associates were very friendly and helpful during your stay. We apologize for the experience you encountered with your package and will look into additional training for how our team works with guests on send and receiving packages. Thank you for acknowledging our hardworking associates in our restaurant, I will be sure to share your feedback with them directly. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we do hope that you will consider The Westin Edmonton on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for three nights as part of a large group.

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Edmonton. Inside, it’s a decent hotel, although feeling a bit old, with some musty smells here and there.

Check-in and check-out, and any other interactions with the front desk staff, get a mixed review. The staff were pleasant and professional, but the front desk seems understaffed. There was almost always a line-up of at least a couple of people, even at slower times; and at peak times, it was a bit of a problem.

The hotel just doesn’t seem to be equipped to handle being at capacity. The elevators were quite slow, and often jam-packed, causing a bit of waiting. Don’t be rushing at the last minute!

The room was fine. Beds, desk, bathroom, shower, TV, closet and drawer space, all OK.

On our last night there we had a banquet dinner for about 130 people. Food was standard but fine; service was good; banquet manager that evening was very helpful.

Having our group members be able to book their rooms online through a custom web link for our group was good. There were a couple of glitches with the billing, including a random charge (one half a night's stay; no reason whatsoever that should have happened) to my credit card a couple of weeks before we arrived (?!), but a phone call to the hotel's accounting department after the stay sorted things out.

Overall, a decent hotel with some weak points.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Edmonton

Property: The Westin Edmonton
Address: 10135 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#28 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Edmonton 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, a few steps away from the beautiful North Saskatchewan River Valley Park system. We are within a 10 minute walking distance of the Shaw Conference Center, Roger's Place Arena, and the City Centre Mall. Staying at The Westin Edmonton means you are moments from the best shopping, dining, arts and entertainment Edmonton has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Westin Edmonton
Edmonton Westin
The Westin Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing