We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine, but not stellar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Edmonton
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was fine, but not stellar”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location for my business needs was the best part of staying at the Westin. I had a 1/2 block walk to my meetings. For me that was important, but the other aspects of the hotel were not outstanding. I did get a very good deal on the room so was very happy with the value. It's looking a bit worn down - marked up walls in hallways, etc. The room had up-to-date furnishings and was clean and bedding was lovely. Pool area old and small. Restaurant appeared to be overpriced considering very average reviews (on urbanspoon). Decided to go to outside restaurant. I lwould stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewmyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    396
    233
    126
    60
See reviews for
173
223
88
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here again (despite my disappointing review from my last stay) because a good friend of mine insisted I give it another chance as it is one of her favourite hotels in the world, and she took it rather personally that I didn't enjoy my stay!

This visit was much better than the last and solely because of the staff. The two front desk staff who I dealt with were friendly and efficient. They gave me a room on the opposite side of the hotel as the front entrance was being dug up and was very noisy, but they had a very positive attitude about it and from my room I didn't hear a thing. Housekeeping staff were quick to respond to my request (I needed more soap).

I had a vehicle and couldn't find anywhere to park nearby so I finally gave up and paid the $25 for hotel parking which seems a bit steep.

I would stay here again, and probably will as I'm in Edmonton fairly often (although when they close the City Centre Airport that will change) and I hope the staff will remain as friendly as they were on this visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_Westin-ExecOffice, Executive Assistant at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear greatslave,

Thank you for giving us a second chance. I am very pleased to hear that this experience was better than your last. Our associates do take pride in taking care of our guests and I am pleased to hear that, even during our driveway construction, they took care of you and made you feel special.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Be well,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very average except for the prices which are out of this world. Front staff are cool. Wait staff in bar are very nice and very slow. Food and beverage prices are unbelievable considering that the food really is mediocre and very little selection. The hotel location is very convenient but one can do better for less.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hutchx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_Westin-ExecOffice, Executive Assistant at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear hutchx,
Thank you for posting your comments. We take all feedback seriously. Your comments will allow us to review our services and work on making improvements.
Please connect with our team at WestinEdmonton.01079@westin.com if you would like to discuss further.
Be Well,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Westin on a recent trip to Edmonton. For what you get it is a bit pricey but acceptable if you are going to be in downtown for a few days. My room was fine, clean and comfortable. The facilities were mixed. The workout facilities were OK if you were the only person there but crowded and limited otherwise, The food was fine but pricey. The breakfast buffet was good but should open earlier. I ate in the bar a few nights, the food was good but with few choices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT_Traveler_Sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_Westin-ExecOffice, Executive Assistant at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear CT_Traveler_Sport,
I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Our culinary team reviews and changes our menu regularly. The team would embrace the challenge of creating new menu items for the next menu refresh and we would love to hear your feedback about these changes during your next stay.
Be Well,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms, like the entire hotel, are average and spartan. This does not come close to either Westin expectations or the prices charged. This is also another hotel that believes that it can submarine guests with $10.00/day (more if you want something equivalent to what airports and fast food outlets give you for FREE). Parking is $30/ day and the valet service is like the Keystone Cops.
The hotel unfortunately is located in a difficult location to access by car. Because of one way streets and no left hand turn rules getting into the hotel is difficult. Overall this is a nice clean Holiday Inn miss labeled as a Westin. The other issue is that the rooms are noisy from sounds in the hallways and streets. This again is the sign of a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbowman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_Westin-ExecOffice, Executive Assistant at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear dbowman3,
It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. To ensure value for price paid, The Westin Edmonton is constantly assessing our competitive pricing for incidentals within 4 diamond city center hotels across Canada. We are also in the planning stages of renovations for our rooms. Any renovation is a big undertaking and will impact our guests. We are working to ensure that this process has the least impact possible to our guests. It is our hope that, once the renovations are complete, our guests will notice a difference in their stays.
Thank you for your feedback.
Be Well,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am staying at the Westin Edmonton on business. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean but is in dire need of a makeover. It looks like the hotel has not been updated since the 90's. The carpets are tired, the bathroom is outdated, there are issues with the locks that others I am traveling with have also experienced. In addition to the outdated decor, the lighting is horrible throughout the room. Especially if you are a woman trying to apply makeup properly.

I was expecting much more for a Westin. I have stayed at much nicer Comfort Suites than this hotel and am quite disappointed. If I have business in Edmonton again I look into what other options are available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOAdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_Westin-ExecOffice, Executive Assistant at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear TOAdventureGirl,
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that our associates delivered the experience that the Westin Edmonton is proud of and that they were a highlight for your stay.
Our Engineering team is working toward reducing our energy consumption at the hotel but still making improvements. The lighting that you refer to is part of this project. We are changing out all our lightbulbs in the entire hotel to high efficiency bulbs. This will improve our consumption and offer more light in our guest rooms and common areas. We are also planning renovations to the hotel including guestrooms and common areas such as the carpeting in the halls. Please bear with us as we move from the planning stage to the action stage. We want to ensure that these much needed improvements have the least impact on our guests as possible.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Be Well,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel is in a good location, and main lobby/restaurant/bar are very modern and bright. Staff are all excellent.

As noted by many other reviewers, the rooms are in need of a refresh. Carpet frayed, wallpaper peeling, ceilings stained. But, as you can always count on with Westin -> the beds are comfortable, and the showers have lots of water pressure.

If you plan on entertaining for hours at a time in your room, find something fancier. If you're just using your room to sleep/shower - then this place is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#14 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Edmonton

Property: The Westin Edmonton
Address: 10135 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#28 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Edmonton 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, a few steps away from the beautiful North Saskatchewan River Valley Park system. We are within a 10 minute walking distance of the Shaw Conference Center, Roger's Place Arena, and the City Centre Mall. Staying at The Westin Edmonton means you are moments from the best shopping, dining, arts and entertainment Edmonton has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Westin Edmonton
Edmonton Westin
The Westin Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing