We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Edmonton
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Right next to the City Center and the Sherlock Holmes Pub, this Westin is in a prime location of the business district. But even as a Platinum member, I got absolutely no freebies. No breakfast, internet or lounge access. The food, as expected was expensive and not great, but there are great places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

Great Edmonton Hotel in central location with staff that are helpful and pleasant. For breakfast, dine in the lower area of the downstairs cafe is you are in a hurry. Upper level is great for a quiet and slower pace. Great palce to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent_DUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_Westin-ExecOffice, Executive Assitant at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. It is through guest feedback that our culinary team and all our associates able to create wonderful guest experiences. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Edmonton.

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The good:
- Staff are friendly and helpful
- Environmental initiatives (You can decline housekeeping service and receive 500 starwood points or a $5 voucher)
- large rooms
- complimentary Starbucks coffee (if you are early enough) and iced tea available during the day in the lobby
- close walk to Art Gallery, Edmonton City Centre (shopping mall), theatre, city hall
- Ordered room service and food was good (Note: you are charged $4 + 15% gratuity...somewhat expensive)

The not-so-good:
- internet comes at a cost
- My hotel room was very very very dry (hotel staff provided me with a humidifier but it was noisy)
- the fan was too noisy
- gym is too small and the air conditioning in the gym is too noisy
- the pool is smaller than it appears in the photos
- on my departure date, I had very little hot water to take a shower

Overall, there are some hits but there are some misses too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odot_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Excellent downtown location. Urgent need to upgrade gym. Staff is responsive to all requests and even surprises you. Prefer healthy meals; shortage of blueberries at breakfast--we were too late at 8 am. Dining room took note and sent them to our room that evening: an unexpected touch. Easy walk to theater, shopping and restaurants. Nice walk or run along nearby river.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I travel constantly around the world, and I have to say I have never felt so at home as when I come to the Westin in Edmonton. As much as we don't usually look forward to the weather in Edmonton, we do look forward to staying here, as all the staff, and especially the guest experience manager, Nella, goes out of her way to make sure everything is taken care of beyond what I have experienced at the Fairmont or Ritz hotels. I'd highly recommend anyone coming to town stay here over any of the other local hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkamph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_Westin-ExecOffice, Executive Assistant at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. You are right that during the winter, Edmonton can be a little chilly. It is our pleasure to make your stay as warm and inviting as possible.

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

It’s not often, as a business traveler that you find a hotel experience worthy of mention, let alone a glowing review on a travel review website. The Westin Edmonton offers just such an experience.

I am NOT a Starwood Platinum or Gold level member – yet each of my stays at this particular Westin have been simply remarkable. Myself & my business colleagues are greeted at the door, welcomed back, and even greeted by name! My preferences are not only noted – but understood and delivered on a regular basis. As a single example, I find hotel rooms typically have very dry air. The Westin Edmonton has available humidifiers to help moisturize the air for guests.

The rooms here are modern – the typical amenities are standard. Starbucks coffee, high-speed internet, flat screen hi-def TV all within a quiet room environment.

Amazingly, this hotel has a “Guest Experience Manager” that has gone above & beyond to ensure guests feel welcomed, their needs are understood & met, and actually LISTENS & uses feedback to improve the experiences of all guests. Wow – a customer-centric approach to the delivery of products & services! I SO look forward to my trips to Edmonton – even though its so cold most of the year!

Bottom line? If you are a regular business traveler to the Edmonton area – give this hotel serious consideration. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Get to know Nella - the Guest Experience Manager!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QFDMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Edmonton for the long Easter weekend. The hotel is located off of Jasper Avenue in downtown, which isn't bad as long as you have a car. Check in was hassle free; as a SPG Platinum member we were upgraded to rooms on the 20th floor. The room was very spacious, and the bed was typical Starwood comfortable. The bathroom was large, but the shower could use some updating.

We also experienced very helpful information from the valet staff, who helped us to save some money big time on parking for the weekend (thanks!). We didn't eat at the restaurant at the hotel, but we noticed that they had a breakfast buffet every day. The exercise room is located off of the pool on the 3rd floor. It was EXTREMELY hot in the room! If you use this room, either make sure the air conditioner is on, or open the sliding doors to allow fresh air to come in because otherwise it will turn into a sauna!

The only drawback to this hotel would be the numerous amenity charges. As a Platinum member staying on a four day long weekend, we managed to avoid most of the charges. But, the internet fees for non-status guests is very high. Also, the phone charges seemed exceptionally high, too. When you get your bill, be sure to go through it to make sure that no accidental phone charges are added to your bill: we had 4 toll free calls that we did not place added to our bill. They were removed without question when pointed out, but they would have stayed there if we did not pay attention to them. Finally, be prepared to get creative to avoid paying the high parking fees. We really lucked out by arriving on Good friday and staying for Easter Sunday, as the Library parking lot does not charge for stat holidays. Look at the parking rates at the Library parking lot to see if you can get creative to avoi paying the $26 with the hotel.

Overall, I would recommend staying at the Westin, but just watch out for the numerous amenity charges.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the amenity charges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.7 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#29 of 93 in Edmonton
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Edmonton

Address: 10135 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Spa Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#28 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $146 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Edmonton 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, a few steps away from the beautiful North Saskatchewan River Valley Park system. We are within a 10 minute walking distance of the Shaw Conference Center, Roger's Place Arena, and the City Centre Mall. Staying at The Westin Edmonton means you are moments from the best shopping, dining, arts and entertainment Edmonton has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Westin Edmonton
Edmonton Westin
The Westin Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing