We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on our drive from Anchorage to Denver. I have to say I expected a lot more "Quality" from this hotel. I felt a bit nickle and dimed over the little stuff and quite frankly it was enough to make me leave irritated. First of all, I didn't find any of the hotel staff very friendly or helpful. The room was sparse and looked out on a dirty parking lot courtyard. The airconditioner was loud and didn't work very well. The television advertised on demand movies but you couldn't actually order them and there was no HBO. The tipping point was when I asked my husband to run down and grab some coffee from the lobby and he returned with a receipt! Turns out they only serve complimentary coffee from 11pm - 6:30am and then they charge their guests!! I have stayed in many many hotels and motels in my life and every single one had complimentary coffee in the lobby! Not only that but they charged us $4.60 for two freaking cups! The final straw was tasting it and it was watered down and disgusting. We left and drove to Shell and got excellent coffee for less than the hotel had just charged us! Really irritating. I find it interesting that I am writing this review from a Super 8 that is clearly a motel not a hotel. Older, needs remodeling, etc., and guess what they have?! HBO, free breakfast and as much coffee we want 24 hours a day! And the guy smiled at me during check in! What a "quality" experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am sorry that we did not meet this guests expectations.

The Quality Inn West Harvest is a full service hotel complete with restaurant/lounge, banquet/meeting facilities and 159 guestrooms. Our website does note that unlike many of the Choice Hotels we are full service and as such do not have complimentary breakfast and our coffee is free prior to and after our restaurant closes.

We do however offer $10 per day food vouchers with our best available rate if booked directly with Choice Hotels or the hotel.

I am very disappointed to here that my staff were not helpful and friendly but I think the previous reviews will show that this is not the norm. I will be checking on what happened in this instance.

Be sure to check what the hotel offers in the way of complimentary services when booking your room accommodation so that you are not disappointed upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    77
    47
    7
    16
See reviews for
77
36
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

WE STAYED FOR ONLY ONE NIGHT WHILE PASSING THROUGH EDMONTON. We were very impressed by the size of the room for the price. Room was very clean. Only a 10$ cab ride to the mall. Very happy with our stay overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelk1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

West Edmonton was our first stop on our way to a seven day, six nights on the road. Hotel is very convenient for us to start early as we hit hwy 16 on our way to Jasper. Noticeably, this hotel is working around the building but I think they should work on the parking lot first. Infront of the hotel is not paved, no lines and not sure if we are following parking protocol. Staff was very quick in checking us in. Room was okay, bed and pillow help us overcome the hallway noise (some one was running) but was able to get sleep back quickly. Nothing to expect much from this hotel except one pleasant night without a working internet which I was able to use by waking up early. Probably will not use in the future as a staging point.

Room Tip: Book a room located at back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J58Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your comments are important and as you can see we are listening.
The front parking lot is concrete however as you pointed out it needs some updating. We will be doing that this summer.

The hotel has been under some upgrading our flat roofs were replaced and new AC units were being installed for our banquet/restaurant area. This meant there was some disruption in the parking lot however there is no good time to do this and it must be done while weather permits.

We are planning to install another upgrade to our wifi which will give our guests unlimited wifi in each room. High occupancy days put a great deal of strain on our current wifi which is should be more than adequate however with guests operating 4-6 devices that use wifi and downloading or streaming huge files it doesn't take long before the bandwidth is brought to a standstill. Similar to a busy freeway!

We hope you will return for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night while passing through Edmonton. The room was spacious and well equipped with all the necessary accessories. The front desk staff were very pleasant and I was pleased to see that the hotel has an adjoining restaurant; the breakfast was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope you will "Stop over" with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have stayed here often before in the business rooms and I quite like it but unless the internet service is upgraded I cannot stay here anymore. A lot of hotels are suffering from the same problem as they have never upgraded their service to meet current demands. So if you need a nice place to stay but internet access isn't important this is your place

Room Tip: Slow internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and you are right wifi is a big issue not just here but in most hotels. The reason is that now instead of maybe one cell and a laptop you can have 4-6 devices which are all pulling broadband. Some are downloading or streaming large files and this can completely deplete the wifi available. We are constantly upgrading our equipment and increasing our broadband width in an attempt to provide this complimentary service.

New technology is coming out that will hopefully help us with this issue especially on busy days when the house is full.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very clean. Polite staff. Need some updating but was pleased with the stay there. Also nice to see a restaurant in the building. Had breakfast before leaving there and was very good and large servings.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am always happy to hear that our guests are happy to return to our hotel.

We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel! We reserved the jacuzzi suite. The room was huge. The room was very clean too, spotless in fact. It had a king sized bed. A coffee table with two chairs, a desk and a large flat screen tv. The room also had a fridge, microwave and a coffee maker. The jacuzzi was huge too. It was a two person jacuzzi tub. The room rate was extremely reasonable. The hotel is a short drive to West Edmonton Mall. I love this hotel! We will definitely be staying here again, the next time we are in Edmonton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cf_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Jacuzzi Suite. Our housekeeping staff work very hard to keep our hotel clean and inviting.

I'm very pleased that you had a great stay and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
195 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Ramada Edmonton West
#56 of 93 in Edmonton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn West Edmonton

Property: Quality Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17803 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1B4, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn West Harvest)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn West Edmonton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100% non-smoking, 3.5 Star fully renovated, full service hotel is located 2 minutes from West Edmonton Mall with easy access to downtown, airport and all major highways. Coin-op laundry, fitness & business centre for guest convenience as well as free parking & local calls. This is one of the only full service hotels in the area and we offer discounted West Edmonton Mall Choice Passes to our guests. Designated Pet rooms are available for an extra cost per pet/per room. Recipient of the "Housekeeping Award of Excellence" for 2010 & 2011 make this an excellent choice when selecting hotels in west Edmonton, Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn West Harvest Hotel Edmonton
Quality Inn Edmonton
West Harvest Quality Inn
West Harvest Inn Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing