We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking room/noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Edmonton West
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked two non-smoking rooms, but one of the ones we were given was a smoking room. We woke up with stuffy noses and sore throats. The other room was on the top floor right beside a VERY noisy elevator. It banged and whirred noisily every time it was used. Fortunately the front desk clerk exchanged it for a Sleepy Bear Den room, as my daughter had her 6 week old baby with her.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank weekendwanderer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, General Manager at Travelodge Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize if there was a mix up with your reservations. I assure you, it is not common practice to place a guest into a smoking room unless requested. I’m glad to hear our frond desk associate was able to accommodate your request to move into another room. I certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 298 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lori B, General Manager at Travelodge Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lori B, General Manager at Travelodge Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lori B, General Manager at Travelodge Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The elevator is loud and clunky, you can hear it allll night long.
There were hairs in our sheets.
The mattresses are concave shapes they're so old.
The pillows are rock hard and gave me a sore neck.
Tiny tiny bedroom and bathroom.
Hallways were stinky.
On the plus side...you're very own keurig machine! That was well worth the $130 ;)
It's a shame because it used to be a really nice place to stay with kids, it's too bad it went downhill.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments help us identify areas we need to focus on. The rooms are due to undergo renovations within the next six months. We have just recently renovated the water park, added flat screen TV’s with an upgraded cable package that includes movie channels at no extra charge to guests and Kurieg coffe machines.

We hope you come back and stay with us to see the exciting changes that will be happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Imagine it looking like a hotel, having all the pieces of a hotel, but maintained so cheap it looks like a handyman special. I wouldn't feel comfortable sleeping here, even if it was $30/night. Disruptions and noisy checkins all night long (paper thin walls or poor guest selections?) Picked this for a waterside to enjoy with the kids.. felt so uncomfortable with the "guests" this place attracted we emptied the vehicle.. tried swimming when we arrived; hot tub was closed, went in the morning and pool+hot tub was open but water slide was closed. Apparently this is the only hotel on the planet that opens the pool in the morning but not the water slide until 2pm. Left our 3 day stay immediately and moved to Wingate to enjoy our vacation. NO FITNESS CENTRE exists either

Room Tip: Beware, you will regret choosing this place if you expect it to be a business class hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments help us identify areas we need to focus on. The rooms are due to undergo renovations within the next six months. We have just recently renovated the water park, added flat screen TV’s with an upgraded cable package that includes movie channels at no extra charge to guests and Kurieg coffe machines. We have a brand new fitness center scheduled to open shortly.
The waterslide on the weekends is open at 8:30am for the guest’s enjoyment.
We hope you come back and stay with us to see the exciting changes that will be happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lori B, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Edmonton West, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Best Western Plus Westwood Inn
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#46 of 93 in Edmonton
238 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#52 of 93 in Edmonton
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Best Western Cedar Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edmonton West

Address: 18320 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edmonton West 2*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge - Edmonton West Hotel Edmonton
Travelodge Edmonton West Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing