We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel - Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Edmonton South
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OK Hotel - Great Service”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Stayed recently as part of a soccer team. First of all the reservations staff were outstanding in accommodating us, especially Cindy.

Hotel is kind of off the way of most hotels in an older semi-industrialized part of south Edmonton. Despite that the Hotel is spacious with many amenities, though is showing its age.

Rooms are OK, though somewhat dated and looking rather tired, except for brand new flat-screen TVs.
There are semi-business centers on two of the upper floors (though this was basically a computer and printer located on a table at the end of the hall). Wireless Internet is good and free throughout the Hotel.

There is a small pool and cozy fitness center in the basement, as well as an on-site restaurant and pub attached to the Hotel. The pub is quite good and offers a good selection of food as well.

The restaurant is quite large and our group had the buffet breakfast which was well stocked with fruit, hot and cold selections, cereals, etc.

The strongest point of the Hotel is the staff who were friendly, accommodating and always ready to help even with our group of teen soccer players.

Nearby there is a Wendy's, Arby's and other small restaurants within a block or so.

Good value for the rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    55
    27
    23
See reviews for
54
43
18
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Second time staying at this hotel. Stayed here Jan 2009 and Jan 14-18, 2010. Stayed in room 211 where there was ceiling damage and mold on the ceiling tiles in the bathroom. The day of departure we awake at 3am to a strong smell of diesel fumes and bad head aches. We complained to the front desk and they aired out the floor blaming the outside air intakes for the building. Needless to say we were unable to get back to sleep and the front desk staff were unwilling to do alot. The doors to the rooms in this hotel slam pretty hard, so if you are a light sleeper, stay away! I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend this hotel. Restaurant serves breakfast, however beware of the prices! Pool is small and not worth the effort

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We had five rooms for two nights. Rooms were ample in size, clean and well furnished. Hotel staff were courteous, friendly and prompt to respond. We liked the location because it was quiet and yet near the amenities were needed for our family time. The price was great considering the benefits derived.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamjantzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I stayed one night at 4 Points Edmonton South. I've stayed at a Mississauga ON 4 Pts; unfortunately there are similarities - and not in a good way. Both are hotels that have been through several names and makeovers, but it's time for another makeover.

Easy to find, since there's no other tall buildings in this light industrial area. A casino is just one block away. Four Points has a Wendy's in the parking lot, and an Arby's nearby. I saw no plug-ins in the parking lot for car block heaters.

I waited at the front desk unattended for a while, then had to call out to get an agent to come out. Computer system was down, so that took even more time (she didn't ask if I was an SPG member; turns out they already had my access card waiting.)

In the lobby in the afternoon were complimentary sandwiches and homestyle cookies. The sandwiches were individually wrapped, but with no refrigeration, I took a pass. Behind it was a corner wall of stone to the basement that looks like it once had a waterfall; water remains at the bottom. At the other end of the building are a pub and restaurant. The lobby has a fireplace and leather couches.

This 7 storey building has 2 small elevators. One was out of service. The 5th and 6th floor have a free computer with flat screen and printer at the end of hallway. Cameras in several public areas.

My queen bed room had also a queen sofabed with huge coffeetable. The hotel is smokefree; there was no odour in my room. In front of the bed is a wide screen TV with wires that hang down and four outlets under the TV, so the appearance could be improved. Also, the storage unit for clothes is weird. There are 8 boxes with handles that slide into the storage spots. You have to see it to believe. Incredibly annoying.

Large desk next to it has both coffeemaker and your one free bottle of water. My room had a fridge, no microwave. All the wood furniture has wear indicating it's cheap. Light fixtures are unique. In my room, the window was sort of bay - with a separate side window. Really drafty - even though the windows don't look that old. As such, the heater was kicking on constantly (there's a digital thermostat on the unit). Near the window is a light green upholstered chair with blue piping; I suspect it was stylish in the late 80s.

There's only one wall print in the room. Majority of the walls have a gold and white striped paper. Carpet is sort of gold; it needs replacement. There's an old style closet with iron/board. When you open the closet door, you block the hallway door.

Next to the closet is a really small bathroom (you can wash your hands while seated) with low suspended ceiling. Curved shower rod and there's a hair dryer. Fan is on a timer; no night light - although I suspect there used to be a light on the floor - and the ceiling light switch is higher than usual.

I can usually sleep through anything, but woke several times during the night. Anyone talking in the hallway can easily be heard as if they had a microphone.

The hotel's basement has a fitness room and pool. I'm still unclear of hours; signs say 6am to perhaps 10 or 11, but I think the room book says the fitness room is 24 hours. The fitness room equipment is described as 'state of the art', but has no built in TVs. There are two flat panel TVs on the walls, and a stereo. Only 1 treadmill (NordicTrak commercial - with fan), 1 elliptical, but 2 bikes, and 2 weight stations (1 is Golds Gym commercial). There was a mat and ball, and a rack of weights. In the corner, there's a bit of construction - looks like a sauna being built.

The pool area has been completely madeover. Great use of colour. Not luxurious, although the one wall next to the pool has stone with glass blocks above. The pool is really a lap pool. Looks like they took out a whirlpool at the end of it and are installing a sauna - but that's only a guess. Towels available in both pool and fitness areas, but not in the changerooms.

The change rooms in the hallway to the pool and fitness rooms have had a complete makeover. Again, not luxurious, but functional (including shower stalls and a few lockers).

I received my bill under door; no need to contact front desk. Free newspapers in the lobby (both Edm Journal and Globe & Mail). The lobby also has a very small store, just before the elevators.

Edmonton doesn't have much for hotels at the south end, although there is now a Best Western south of the Henday (near the airport) and a Holiday Inn Express on Calgary Trail at 23rd Ave.

So, my overall impression? I liked the price and that it's smoke-free, but it is old, cheap, and with non-existent service. I won't return.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

When looking for lodging for 30+ folks, with a weekly avg of 12-15, we looked at several facilities in the area. The reason I chose this facility for our long term lodging needs was that Mark White took time out of his schedule to meet with us, give us a tour of the facility, and spend all the time necessary to address all our questions & concerns. Mark has continually helped us out on several items, and continues to represent your organization in a truly professional manner. While price is important, I chose to conduct business with people, not companies, and Mark sets your organization apart from the others.

Also, as the staff at the hotel has gotten to know us, they have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome, and to do little things which are truly appreciated (like having our luggage out of storage when we get there, or knowing that a person in out party drinks grapefruit juice with their breakfast). It's actions like this that will have us staying at the FourPoints for a long time to come.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillisMJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2009

The sales team at the Four Points goes out of their way to accomodate my needs. I book a lot of hotel rooms and meeting rooms here and they always meet my expectations.

THe food in both the pub and the dining area are great. It is nice to have a choice of a quick lunchtime buffet in the dining area as well as a choice to sit down and eat in the pub.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

This is a very nice hotel in a central location in Edmonton - beautiful lobby area and rooms have been remodeled recently and are very modern and clean. We didn't spend much time at the hotel but were very pleased with the value and would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#19 of 93 in Edmonton
799 reviews
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Edmonton South

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Edmonton South
Address: 7230 Argyll Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6C 4A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Northland Park, Sherwood Park, Casino Edmonton, and many unique shopping areas with indoor pool, hot tub and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Edmonton South Hotel Edmonton
4 Points Edmonton South
Sheraton Edmonton South
Edmonton Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing