We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty historic building, great location, service not quite there”
Review of Union Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Bank Inn
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Upfront I’d like to share that I asked for and received a discount on my final night due my inability to sleep as a result of excessive noise after midnight from a loud party in the ballroom. I felt the hotel handled my complaint properly.

I stayed in the contemporary wing. That is where their ballroom is. I could hardly hear the music, the loud, obnoxious people yelling and screaming kept me up. Some control of the party after 11pm and keeping the ballroom door shut would have helped.

The hotel is in a convenient downtown location, steps to the LRT and easy walking distance to the downtown malls and attractions. My room was a decent size, not spacious but not cramped either and spotlessly clean. There was a fireplace which I did not use, and operable windows, which I did use. The fridge and coffee maker were handy. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean. Each evening a got a tray with grapes, 3 olives, 3 cracker pieces, a small packet of cheese and a small bottle of water. (Wine is available too). The wi-fi was free and I had no issues with it in the room.

One evening I tried to use the business centre to print something but I couldn’t get that internet to work. After trying standard troubleshooting on my own I called the front desk and was rudely told they were busy and would have to look into it later. There are much better ways this could have been handled.

Free breakfast was included. I’m glad it was free. The one server was run off her feet dealing with the guests, and managed to be wonderful, engaging and even remembered my preferences from day to day. Can’t say enough about how terrific she was. However the meals were exceeding slow coming out of the kitchen. One morning it took 40 minutes to get my food. Unacceptable. Each morning I had the breakfast steak and each morning it got smaller and smaller. The last day the steak was tiny, about the size of a small breakfast sausage.

I like to support non-chain hotels, and was drawn to Union Bank due to its creative re-use of a historic building. Too bad the nice room was off-set by so many service issues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wheres-fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBI-Management, Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear wheres-fluffy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and were able to enjoy some of the complimentary services and amenities we include in our guest’s overnight stay.

I am very sorry to learn that you were kept awake by wedding guests and we have followed up on this appropriately to ensure this is not repeated in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding your experience with the business centre and breakfast. We have addressed these issues with our department heads and will ensure this is corrected as it is truly not up to our standards.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and allowing us to ensure proper quality and standards are met in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and if we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to call or email us (reservations@unionbankinn.com) at anytime.

Yours in hospitality,
Customer Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 357 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We had the Chintz & Co. room. Decor was absolutely beautiful. Loved the feel of an old fashioned hotel with modern luxuries. Staff were all so accommodating and made us feel so welcome! Everything about our stay was so nice. Even despite construction noise outside our window, we really loved this hotel!! Such a fun place to enjoy!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurpleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed just one night, supposed to be on a Livingsocial deal. Reservations made a mistake and reserved us a room for 2014 instead of 2012. One of the check-in clerks told our guy (pony-tail, no name tag) he could either give us the Executive Suite or the Presidential Suite. For some reason it took him 15-20 minutes to put us in the Executive Suite, or so he said, but room 309 wasn't a suite at all, just a moderately-large hotel room. TV was small for where it was located (far wall), and we kept bashing our shins or toes on the posts at the foot of the bed (hidden by the quilt).

If this was the second-nicest room in the place, then I'm a little surprised. It was good, but not anything special as suggested by the pictures on the web site and their marketing materials.

The cheese (for the wine & cheese) was just some Black Diamond pre-packaged thing - not quite what we expected for this upscale boutique hotel.

We weren't warned of the construction noise starting at 8:00 AM on a Saturday morning.

Checkout was also odd - we had the same guy, who didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay or anything, and were surprised to see a $20 charge for parking at one of their meters since it wasn't mentioned at check-in. And for some reason, our check-out clerk made me wait so he could answer some questions of someone who had just walked in... then eventually made the other person wait to finish up with the check-out. Seemed like an odd thing to do, and again a little disappointing.

Had dinner at Madison's, as well as the provided breakfast, but that's for a different review!

For what we paid (via Livingsocial), we would consider staying there again, but would have lowered expectations. We'd probably choose the Westin, or the nearby Courtyard by Marriott over this place otherwise.

Room Tip: Room 309 faced south, mostly to the MacEwan campus building (formerly Alberta College), with a slive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barto_barto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBI-Management, Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Bart O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate our guest’s feedback and take it very seriously and we are truly disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations.

Please know that we are working diligently with our team, Madison’s Grill servers and kitchen included, to ensure standards are met and we can clearly see that from taking your reservation, until check out, we did not live up to our standards.

On a note of the Complimentary Wine & Cheese, we have moved to a pre-packaged cheese for this service due to client requests. We are always looking at ways to provide a better experience for this complimentary service however we are also striving to provide our guests the best product based on their preferences.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the construction noise that bothered you and we are doing everything we can to ensure the project taking place next door is not interfering with our business and guest experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, we pride ourselves on our service and attention to detail and truly use our guests’ feedback as a tool to continue our growth. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and if we can be of any further assistance we welcome you to contact us at anytime.

Yours in hospitality,
Customer Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights Aug 13-15 for business. Great location in downtown Edmonton.
Staff were very professional and friendly. I stayed in a designer room which was very nice and extremely clean. A little on the small side especially the bathroom but very nicely decorated. The wine and cheese every night was a nice touch. The room had a coffee maker, iphone dock, good size tv that hung above the fire place. Being an older place i found it a bit noisey at times above me but other than that it was a great stay.
I did not get to take in the complementry breakfast but the dinning room looked great and i wish i had a chance to eat there.
I would stay again for business or a weekend getaway, but not with a family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giddy-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Union Bank Inn is conveniently located in downtown Edmonton with easy access to SkyShuttle (Edmonton International Airport Shuttle Service) and across the street from LRT (Edmonton subway/ public transit system). The Union Bank Inn is a small hotel that provides a private intimate experience appropriate for travelers, couples, and business. The Inn offers two distinctive wings; the traditional unique Historic wing which has been renovated and part of the original historic building. Each room in the Historic wing in uniquely decorated and can be toured on the Inn’s website. The Inn allows you to choose your suite at the time of booking. Although unique in appearance each room has similar amenities including gas fireplace, jetted tubs, and down duvets. The contemporary wing offers similar rooms and amenities but lack the uniqueness of the Historic wing. In the contemporary wing guests have access to a clean exercise room and a business room.

During our stay in August 2012 we stayed in the “Hepburn Suite” of the Historic Wing. This suite overlooked Jasper Avenue which unfortunately was under construction at the time of our stay. The room, washroom and common hotel areas were very clean. The hotel included numerous stay enhancing features such as wine and cheese on arrival (very small serving; but a nice touch all the same), Robes, complimentary breakfast at the Maddison Grill (in which you can order from their complete breakfast menu), Keurig coffee makers in room, and natural soap products.

The positives: Clean, intimate rooms with nice amenities in a central location in Edmonton with an excellent attached restaurant.

The negatives: Current street construction in front of the Inn and building construction next door. Some construction noise could be heard in the suite. Other rooms could offer more space between your room and the construction areas.

Room Tip: Use the Union Bank Inn website in advance to booking to view each of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goingNEwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our wedding reception at the Union Bank Inn was a great success. Christa Hammond and her team took care of our every need in the months leading up to the wedding, and Alvin and his team were excellent hosts on the day and made the whole even run very smoothly. Our wedding was on a Friday which made for a very busy weekend for the hotel as there was another wedding the following day, but you wouldn't have known it as nothing was missed for our event.

The overnight accomodation was superb followed by a wonderful breakfast in Madison's Grill the next morning.

Regards,
C & P, Brisbane, Australia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

At ~$250 per night (parking & tax included), it may be a little overpriced but given the location, it's worth experiencing once. We were very impressed at time of check-in when the staff person came outside to show exactly where we needed to go to get to the covered parking, which is almost literally a few steps from the front desk. The free breakfast is a nice touch. We appreciated our server quickly and quietly moving us to a new table after we had an unfortunate spill. Stayed in a Heritage room and had some "foot" noise from the room above wake me after falling asleep but thankfully, it didn't last long.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emtnesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 91 in Edmonton
2,838 reviews
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 91 in Edmonton
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#17 of 91 in Edmonton
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
1.6 mi away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 91 in Edmonton
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bank Inn

Address: 10053 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#17 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $159 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier 4 Star Boutique Hotel! ALL Guestrooms have Fireplaces. FREE delivery of evening Wine & Cheese. FREE a la carte Breakfast. FREE WiFi. As one of Edmonton's finest Hotels in Downtown Edmonton this historic landmark boasts private meeting/banquet rooms and Edmonton's Award Winning Madison's Grill. NEWLY RELEASED KING SUITES! now available for booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Union Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bank Hotel Edmonton
Union Bank Edmonton
Union Bank Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing