We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel”
Review of Union Bank Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Bank Inn
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Husband and I stayed here for two nights for a conference. I chose this hotel because I wanted something different from the usual business-minded downtown hotel. The person at check in was warm and gracious, welcoming us, and helping us find the parking beside the hotel. The room was lovely, but smaller than some chain hotels. Extremely comfortable queen bed, leather reading chair, large desk, fireplace, flat screen tv, and two extra chairs. Beautifully and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the contemporary wing, which has a separate elevator from the heritage ing. Our wine and cheese were waiting for us in the room - very nice. We decided to have room service from Madison's Grill, and while it was pricey, it was worth it. The view from the two large windows was not great - this is downtown Edmonton after all, but we did look out onto a small park. Outside noise from the people on the street was muted. Keurig coffee maker in the room, modern large, well-lit bathroom with a big shower/tub combo added to the great stay. We had breakfast each morning off the menu in Madison's, a welcome change to the usual bland buffet. Overall, we really enjoyed the Union Bank Inn and will return next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanuckFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

I love staying at the Union Bank. The rooms, all decorated as a reference to the history of the building are extremely comfortable and still functional for a business trip. And it is so nice to come 'home' each night to a glass of wine, cheese & fruit.

I have only one negative, and that is the price of the restaurant for dinner. It is one of the nicest restaurants, and worth the price, but it would be nice if, at least the in room service, had a few options that are more in line with business travel. Its important, because Edmonton downtown doesn't have a lot of options after dark.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent a night here for Valentines Day and had a package deal that included a voucher for supper at Madisons Grill. I've passed this hotel many times on my way to work but had never been beyond the restaurant. We had a rustic/country room in the heritage wing. It was small, but perfect. 4 poster bed, with fireplace and huge washroom. Tastefully decorated. Our supper at Madisons was pricy - I've had breakfast and lunch there before and those prices do not give you any indication at how expensive dinner is. But the meal was great. Id already experienced breakfast there before and knew it was the best breakfast in town (which was included in the package). We were very happy with our one night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the heritage wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Room was very nicely furnished and quite luxurious. Fireplace provided ambience. Wine and appetizer tray provided - nice touch! Have stayed here before and would stay again. Excellent breakfast with room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyviewEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend and it proved to be the perfect getaway. We are from Edmonton and were looking forward to some down time without cell phones, etc. We were so happy with this hotel. From the incredibly friendly staff to the classy, cozy, charming and unique rooms, we truly felt we had gotten away from the hustle and bustle! We felt like we had our own little place in the mountains and we didn't have to drive four hours to get there! The restaurant in the hotel is delicious and we ate there for dinner and breakfast. The food is fresh and unique and we loved that the menu didn't have pages of random dishes to choose from. Instead, it showcased a few choice items that had good variety and something for everyone. If you're looking for a quick getaway, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Hotels fine, rooms are nice. We live close to edmonton but for certain nights get hotels in town. This being for an evening show. Everything was fine with front desk person that checked us in and out. Evening girl was a nightmare. We had noticed on way out for show that she had a complete blank stare when we passed and the same on way back in. After giving tons of attitude on why dominos wasnt allowed to deliver to our room at 10pm(first security purposes, then "chaos with cleaning staff on menus???) She did the "thankyou for understanding" comment with an insanely rude, fake smile. We thought we would try this place out after my other half got a deal on a groupon. Until we know that that employee is gone, we will never stay again.we will stick with the met on whyte where we get treated with respect day and night

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14oilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBI-Management, Manager at Union Bank Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Dear 14oilers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments; we truly appreciate your feedback which allows us to correct this misunderstanding. Our Front Desk Supervisor has attempted to contact you a few times now however has not heard back, we sincerely welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our hotel however would like to sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding surrounding your evening delivery. We do take our security and guest’s safety to a very high level and do have policies in place that we follow; in this case however, our front desk agent was mistaken as we do not have a policy that prohibits deliveries to our guest room floors with guest approval. We never want to make our guests feel as though they are being disrespected and for this, we apologize.

I would like to assure you that we have followed up with this front desk agent and corrected this within the team to avoid any future occurrences.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your invaluable feedback and we hope to hear back from you shortly.

Yours in hospitality,
Customer Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Downtown Edmonton is a wasteland of tired hotels built in the 80's. The Union Bank Inn is a break from this. This is a small boutique hotel with character. The rooms are well decorated and up to date - although a little smaller than many chain properties - and the bathrooms are new.
The restaurant serves a great breakfast included in the price. This is a full breakfast, not a buffet, so it can take a little long, and they don't start serving until 7am. Restaurants in downtown Edmonton are either at the high end of the price range for dinner, or the low end - and you get what you pay for (or a little less than what you thought you paid for) - this restaurant is at the high end of the price range.
The only knock against this property is the gym - one treadmill, one eliptical in a tiny room - if the gym is important to you, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bperekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,100 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 91 in Edmonton
2,809 reviews
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 91 in Edmonton
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#17 of 91 in Edmonton
1,312 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Bank Inn

Address: 10053 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#17 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $147 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Bank Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier 4 Star Boutique Hotel! ALL Guestrooms have Fireplaces. FREE delivery of evening Wine & Cheese. FREE a la carte Breakfast. FREE WiFi. As one of Edmonton's finest Hotels in Downtown Edmonton this historic landmark boasts private meeting/banquet rooms and Edmonton's Award Winning Madison's Grill. NEWLY RELEASED KING SUITES! now available for booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Union Bank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Bank Hotel Edmonton
Union Bank Edmonton
Union Bank Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing