We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campus Tower Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Red Deer, AB
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is a suite hotel close to the University of Alberta, the Northern Jubilee Auditorium and the University Hospital. We usually stay at this hotel when attending functions at the University or the Auditorium. It is clean and the rooms all have a kitchen. The down side, especially if staying on the west side, is that the helicopters coming to the hospital make a lot of noise. We also find that the temperature control in the rooms is not always the best--he rooms tend to be hot, One can save a lot using their prepay option when booking the room.

Room Tip: A bit quieter on the east side and lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    122
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
102
47
37
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We've had the good fortune of staying here every time we have had to travel to Edmonton for medical travel with our daughter. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the kitchenettes are a huge plus if you don't want to eat out every meal and the staff are extremely helpful. If you need anything, just ask! The cleaning staff even asked us when we would like our rooms cleaned each day because they knew our kids would nap in the early afternoons.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrailsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is the best hotel location for doing anything at the University of Alberta. It is a cold Alberta day today and I showed up at 10:30am mostly looking to just park my vehicle while I went to meetings. I was worried about some things in my luggage freezing and they let me check in. This hotel is a bit overpriced compared to equals but it can get away with it because of its location on the campus.

Room Tip: Each room here is a suite which I always love. It is right on the University of Alberta campus. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay River, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

With family attending U of A, it is perfect location. Close to Whyte Ave. and several good coffee and eating establishments.
Proximity to the hospital makes for a bit of noise, but not to a level that is a problem.
Elevators are s l o w. We are not usually in a hurry so it doesn't bother us.
Had a problem with the bathroom not being clean and the staff was there immediately to clean it (at 8 pm).
Very helpful staff and front desk.
Parking rates for the large lot next to the hotel are good, but at least once on each stay we have a ticket. The front desk immediately deals with it but they need a better system of identifying hotels guests.
Sofa beds are not comfortable for sleeping, but not many are.
Overall, like the hotel for its location, kitchenettes and staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettelyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Our family stayed at this hotel for 2+ weeks in December 2011 while our daughter was in the Stollery Childrens Hospital. I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone looking for accomodations options for similar situations.

We rented a two bedroom suite with a kitchenette and it handled 5 adults staying there quite adequately. The suites are spacious and well equiped.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the hospital which was perfect. There are also numerous eating options within a two block radius which provded for much needed options when we didn't cook in rhe kichentte. The hotel offers a very affordable parking rate in a parkade next to the hotel.

The hotel offers special rates guests with family in the hospital. They are very reasinable for the type of accomodation.

The only downside was that there is quite a bit of noise from sirens and helicopters. However, that is to be expected when you arenacross the street from a major hospital.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac2476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

NOT impressed. The views were great of the city and the room size was good and location was good (close to whyte ave) but everything else was horrible. Our room came with a kitchenette and I pulled out a knife from the drawer only to see that it had dried up food on it. When I walked into the room I noticed an advil pill on the ground. That got me wondering if the room is clean at all...We had no one clean our room up until our last day there (we stayed 3 nights), despite us putting the "please clean our room" sign up everyday. How do i know? Our beds were not made and we did not have fresh towels or replenished toilet paper or soap. When the lady finally came, she cleaned WHILE we were there and all she did was give us more toilet paper and towels and tidy the kitchen. We wanted to rent a movie on tv one night but we couldn't because it wouldn't even let us pull up the menu on the tv of movies to choose from. We called front desk 3 times to help us but they were no use. Also, the beds were terribly uncomfortable and we did not have a good sleep at all.I would not stay here again. It's NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

Room Tip: Don't bother. You can find a better bang for your buck else were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelsey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
437 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip for some clients I have a the university. The location is perfect.

The room was very spacious and clean, and had all of the amenities you would find at the larger more upscale hotels. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

I would have liked the option of room service, but I'm just lazy sometimes.

I used the gym everyday, kinda small, but still very functional. I also used their free business center, very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djgoldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campus Tower Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Tower Suite Hotel

Property: Campus Tower Suite Hotel
Address: Campus Tower 11145 87 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6G 0Y1, Canada (Formerly Campus Tower Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#13 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campus Tower Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seconds from the University of Alberta campus and within walking distance to a number of attractions, this hotel offers spacious all-suite accommodations, furnished with many modern amenities, including full kitchenettes.The Campus Tower Suite Hotel is located only a short stroll from the Cross Cancer Institute and Timms Centre for the Arts. Many unique shops, local restaurants and popular nightspots are also easily accessible from the hotel.Guests staying at the Campus Tower can enjoy thoughtful amenities including free wireless internet, in-room coffee service and free daily newspapers. The hotel also features a 24-hour fitness center and on-site laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campus Tower Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campus Hotel Edmonton
Campus Tower Hotel
Campus Tower Suite Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing