We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Edmonton South
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I travel to Edmonton on business 6-8 times a year and stay a week at a time. I used to stay downtown & after trying different places found this one to be the best. After they did their renovations & made some staff changes the place was wonderful. The hotel has a pub as well as a restaurant - both offer good food. The dining room is better than most hotels. They have a gourmet burger menu that is more 5 star hotel than a Radisson Hotel. They took out the Sleep Number beds thankfully so the beds are much better. The rooms are clean & quiet - all I require. Shopping & other eating places close enough to walk to. It's also a perfect place for a business meeting. The meeting rooms are great & their pricing is very competative.
If something is not right - they make it right.

Room Tip: I avpide the rooms that face into the atrium as they can be a little noisy and you can't open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager4440, General Manager at Radisson Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful that you shared your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I was very pleased to note that you enjoyed our Lionshead Pub as well as the Atrium Restaurant. I also apprectate your kind comments about the Burger Menu, as well as our clean and comfortable guest rooms. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to the entire team. We are committed to providing an enjoyable experience to our guests, and it is rewarding to read your kind review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Hotel Edmonton, during your next visit to Edmonton

Many thanks

Robin Cumine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    260
    109
    45
    33
See reviews for
188
127
57
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stay for a work conference. Rooms were fine, restaurant had very decent food, and the Pub in the Hotel was good. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size. The wifi was solid. Well organized conference done by the staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager4440, General Manager at Radisson Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
First of all, thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Radisson Hotel Edmonton

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments on the guest room quality and your experience with the Pub, the Atrium and our professional service team in the SilverBirch Conference Centre. I will be sure to share your comments with them as we strive to provide outstanding experiences as well as a modern and well appointed guest room

We would be delighted to host you during your next visit to Edmonton. I look forward to your return

With thanks

Robin Cumine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A few things that were unsatisfactory regarding the hotel.

1. Room smelled horrible....animal dung found as reason.
2. Room service food was cold and indelible.
3. Room Service phone attendant very rude.
4. Toilet backed up
5. Shaw digital cable service suspended.

Two satisfactory things

1. Service at front desk
2. Parking

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms have been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilCabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager4440, General Manager at Radisson Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Hotel Edmonton we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel, specifically regarding the room cleanliness and room service experience. I can assure you that your comments have been thorougly reviewed by the executive housekeeper as well as the restaurant manager to ensure that we do not repeat the experience of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased, however, to see that you felt your experience with the Front Desk was positive.

On a seperate note, in regards to the shaw cable; we were not made aware that they were conducting the upgrades until they shut off the HD service, which is why it was not communicated to you. The good news is that they completed the upgrades and we now offer 27 HDTV channels, up from the previous 12.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in order to meet or exceed your expectations when you return

Sincerely,

Robin Cumine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

You can only stay at so many chain hotels before they all start to look the same. Well, the Radisson was pretty much like any other hotel to me. I stayed here on one of those true Edmonton winter nights when it was pushing -30 outside so the first thing I noticed was the free underground parking. Talk about knowing what people want when people visit your city. I stayed in a standard room, which was more than big enough for my needs. The room was a bit bland and I'm not sure who arranged the decor (less than visually pleasing in some areas) but everything was clean and functional, which is the important thing at this kind of hotel.

The restaurant was closed by the time I arrived so I ate fish and chips in the pub, which were disappointing. I was impressed by the beer selection and I wish the food was up to a higher standard to go along with it. If it was at least cheap, I would have given it a pass but it wasn't. Still though, having a pub as well as a restaurant downstairs isn't always something you see in a Radisson so it can only be considered an asset.

Staff were all professional during my stay and I think the hotel management know what people want from their hotel. Free internet, free heated parking and big rooms - not quite the holy trinity but a good way to make your guests happy, especially at this price point. If you're looking for an affordable place to stay in Edmonton that won't charge you for extras and is in a reasonable location, this hotel probably fits the bill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersonalEnsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager4440, General Manager at Radisson Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and valuable feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our large guestrooms, our heated underground parking as well as our complimentary high speed internet. Our commitment to our guests is to deliver service experiences; not just in the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms, but in the warmth and friendliness of our entire team. It appears that in that regard, we met your expectations

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Thank you for choosing the Radisson Hotel Edmonton

Sincerely

Robin Cumine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our room was large, clean and quiet. And what a fantastic bed. They had one of those adjustable king-sized beds, and I could set my side to the exact firmness that I liked. There was a large flat-screen tv and a pull-out couch. We had a great meal in the pub on the main floor. One of my biggest complaints in many hotels is how dark the shower is. They rectified this issue by having a very shear panel at the top of the shower curtain, allowing a lot of light in. Instead of a gift store, they have a vending machine that sell just about anything you can imagine. Although we were able to get parkling right at the front, I could see that parking might be an issue. The underground parking has a clearance of 5'6" and the lot surrounding might get very full if there was an event or if the hotel was at full capacity. That said, it was a great value, and I'm trying to come up with another reason to stay there again!

Room Tip: This hotel has an atrium, I would make sure to get an outward facing room, not one facing the atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4rnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager4440, General Manager at Radisson Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel!

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that our hotel was able to meet all your needs.Your kind comments regarding the sleep number bed, HD flat screen TV's and shower lighting are greatly appreciated. We are very much looking forward to having you back and don't forget; Edmonton has lots to offer for families and little getaways. Our leisure travellers love our convenient location as you can access all the great restaurants, shops and events happening in our beautiful Festivals City!

See you soon!

Robin Cumine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel at this location.

We enjoyed our second stay even better then the first one.

Great room, great costumer service.

Huge gym, nice size pool, hot tub. They even have a tanning bed.

Rates are comparable with other hotels in Edmonton. Please don't forget about free parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitchaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager4440, General Manager at Radisson Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the on-line review and your kind compliments on your recent (2nd) stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, our Fitness Center as well as the wonderful customer service that you recieved

On behalf of the staff and management, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit

With thanks

Robin Cumine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very clean, we went kingsize which gave us a sofa bed and lots of room, staff are very good and are ensuring you enjoy your stay. Breakfast can be a buffet or from the menu and is well done, supper is expensive but well served and very tasty

Room Tip: Went with kingsize bed got sofa as well, lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager4440, General Manager at Radisson Edmonton South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful that you shared your comments regarding our Hotel and friendly staff. We are committed to providing an enjoyable experience to our guests, and it is rewarding to read your kind review. I was pleased to see your comment regarding the large king sized room that you enjoyed. I was also happy to see that you enjoyed both supper and breakfast in the Atrium restaurant, and will pass your comments along to the team with thanks

I look forward to seeing you at the Radisson Hotel during your next visit to Edmonton
Many thanks

Robin Cumine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Edmonton South

Property: Radisson Edmonton South
Address: 4440 Gateway Boulevard, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#19 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Edmonton South offers 235 spacious hotel rooms and suites with such amenities as 42" HD flat-screen TVs, mini fridges, complimentary underground parking, high-speed, Wi-Fi access and free local calls.We offer a wide variety of hotel meeting rooms and event space at the Radisson Edmonton South, which includes 15 function rooms with a mix of small and large meeting rooms and ballrooms. The Radisson Hotel Edmonton South's knowledgeable, professional sales and catering team is dedicated to making your event successful and memorable.The Radisson Edmonton South offers guests delicious dining choices at our on-site hotel restaurant. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the Atrium Cafe in the heart of our courtyard-style hotel. For a casual drink, the British-style Lions Head Pub is the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Carlson and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edmonton South Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Radisson
Radisson Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing