We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a refresh badly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs a refresh badly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed at Sutton Place for two nights because it was the closest hotel to my destination which offered a rate within my employer's miserly limit for the city. It is certainly showing its age - from the exterior, to the lobby, to the room itself.

On the negative side
- Waitress in the restaurant was extremely unfriendly, almost resentful of having a customer to serve
- The chambermaid took the complementary partially-used shampoo and failed to replace it, leaving me with no shampoo the next morning

On the positive side
- they comped the breakfast
- free WiFi, if a bit on the slow side
- connected to a large shopping mall

All in all, I'd rather pay the extra $10 night out of my own pocket and stay at the Delta

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    145
    177
    101
    81
See reviews for
83
110
38
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Sutton Place Hotel in Edmonton is a premier hotel in the downtown core. It's conveniently and centrally located next to business and retail. The staff are always over the top friendly and willing to assist. I’ve always received first class treatment during my many stays at the Sutton.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky_Mountain069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

The location is very good; within walking distance of the downtown, very good restaurants and quite possibly the patio with the best view of the river. The lobby aims for stately, with an impressive floral display echoing an immense chandelier above it.

Our meeting room was fine, and easily accessible by elevator or up a wide flight of stairs from the lobby. However, to access the washrooms nearby, one had to take a key card from the slot by our meeting room door, and be female: the key card didn't work for the mens' washroom, so we were constantly having to lend out our room key cards. The staff wouldn't (couldn't?) unlock the washrooms for the duration of our meeting.

Our rooms were fine too, with the new style of "super-size" beds that has become the state of the art.

Somewhat lacking in front desk service: staff charged us for photocopies and kept us waiting while they filled out the paperwork for same. Restaurant didn't give us promised discount for joining the "rewards" program because the manager was not on hand to authorize the printed coupon we presented. Hummous in the lounge was dried on top, indicating its age, but a replacement didn't arrive til we were finished. The business centre was not useful or open when we needed it, and the charge seemed excessive. Staff didn't know how early you could get into the mall -- attached to the hotel -- for a walk.

Concierge was much more helpful with printing boarding passes and his recos for restaurants were great. You can walk to the large mall connected to the hotel for some shopping, the fitness centre, coffee, or just walking around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

I stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel in Edmonton for one night while on a business trip in June 2009. The hotel is very conveniently situated in the heart of the Edmonton business district and within walking distance of all amenities.

My main complaint was with the snootiness of the front desk service. While it was professional, I got the impression that the woman checking us in was doing us a great favor by tolerating us.

My other comment is that my room did not provide wireless internet service, and the internet cable had to be delivered to my room after I called to ask for it, even though the front desk had insisted that it was already in the room -- it wasn't.

I was given a so-called Executive Room, which actually was half of a former 2-room suite. So my bed was a permanently lowered wall bed, with a wooden frame protruding all around it. Perfect for stubbing your toe or stepping on a hard and unfriendly surface upon getting out of bed first thing in the morning.

Otherwise, the room and bathroom were nicely furnished, clean and comfortable, with a large flat-screen TV. The carpet had seen better days.

The lobby cafe serves a simple continental breakfast in the morning which may be included in the room rate, depending on the room deal that you get.

All in all this was an OK stay, but I could not help the feeling that the Sutton name should deliver a smoother experience than what I received.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infiniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

I stayed one night in a spacious king room on the non-smoking 24th floor. Check in was prompt. This property is next to the City Centre mall, under-construction Art Gallery, City Hall, Library, and theatre and concert hall. There is an Avis car rental onsite. The large open lounge next to the lobby looks dated. Looks like the business centre has one computer. You'll need your room card to access the elevators.

In the hallways, there’s music. In my room, the clock radio also had a CD feature. My room was next to the ice machine and a service room. A sound of running water was continuous my entire stay. TV was a good size, although not plasma or flat panel, and offered lots of stations and pay movies. Furniture included an upholstered chair, desk with basic chair, tables on both sides of the king bed.

King bed had a gold on gold comforter, but only two king pillows along with a small decorative pillow. (The 2 large gold decorative pillows in the posted pictures didn’t exist). Room was papered in a tasteful muted gold/cream. Large room mirrors were in the entrance hallway and above the desk. There were 2 understated floral prints on the wall.

I especially liked the work desk. It was 2 pieces, one on wheels. The wall had a cord for Internet. Phone calls – even local – are extra. On the desk next to some tourist booklets is a sheet listing events in Edmonton – a nice touch. Carpet is a gold pattern with no baseboards.

Table and pole lamps are of good quality. Large bay window has sheers and blackout drapes. Even a small window that opens. There is a sign on the large window stating not to lean on it. My north view included the city centre airport and an office building next door.

Below the TV was 3 drawers and a empty minifridge that previously would have been a stocked bar. There’s 2 complimentary water bottles with the hotel name. Closet is a good size; that’s where a spare pillow, blanket, iron and board are stored. No robe. No plastic cups anywhere, only glasses in the room. There’s a small coffeemaker, and a selection of tea. Looks like a coffee or soft drink stain on the one wall.

Bathroom is dated but clean, with muted cream/green wallpaper. Tub slightly bigger than most hotels with a useful grab bar. Newer items in there are the shower nozzle and the two wall sconces next to the large framed mirror. Good spa toiletries, as well as shower cap, shoe cloth, and mending kit. Lots of vanity space, and the towels are thick. Unfortunately, the medium brown tiles around the tub/shower and on the floor give the bathroom a dated feel – and the entrance to the bathroom is narrow.

I took the elevator up to the top floor, then walked up the flight and half of stairs to the pool. You must use the phone to gain access to the door. Disappointing. There’s nothing fresh or inviting about it. There are some wood ceiling beams that I suppose are interesting. The pool is shallow; the whirlpool looked okay – but a group was having some sort of business discussion there. Not much for furniture. View is obviously high, but nothing especially attractive.

Just before the pool are small, cramped change rooms with a dry sauna, a shower, and about twelve half lockers. One of the most uninviting change rooms ever. The room info book says you get locks from the main floor – which is really inconvenient. If you’re looking for fitness equipment, you must go to the adjoining mall where there’s a chain fitness centre – at a cost. For a hotel this large, it’s clear they haven’t made the pool area/fitness a priority.

Globe & Mail newspaper on my door in the morning was a nice touch. No bill under the door, and the TV system to check out errored out. At least I was able to do a telephone checkout – although neither staff was especially courteous, friendly or warm on the phone.

Vancouver's Sutton Place is clearly a nicer property with European charm. This one is satisfactory, but hardly 4 star. I'd recommend if you can get a good price; I got a discounted rate.

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

I stayed at the Sutton Place for a conference and it was wonderful. The room was large and clean and the toiletries were premium. Check-in was fast and helpful and the door staff quick to help my mother and I through the door.

As a convention location, it was great. The meeting rooms were well stocked with paper, pens and water and there was lots of room for everyone. The buffet breakfast and lunch that was provided over the three days was very satisfying and the banquet on Tuesday night was superb! The catering staff were friendly and helpful and very proud of their work. After a long day at the conference it was so nice to chill in the oversized armchair.

This hotel is in a great spot because it is connected by a pedway to the City Centre Mall. It's true that it is a few blocks away a casino and I did see some scruffy people walking by on Sunday night, but every downtown has that. The hotel also has a convenient express cafe that is open from 7-2pm, Monday to Friday. We did not try the Capitals restaurant.

I can only complain about two things - the gurgling of the ice machine as we were near it and being charged $1.05 for local calls. I was not told that there would be a charge nor did it say this on the phone. I would definitely stay here again. Although I stayed at the convention rate, I wouldn't mind paying extra.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillKeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

just a brief review:

got a great rate from hotels.ca, expedia had a similar rate just a few dollars more.
when checking in the staff seeemed very friendly and courteous and the room
was average size for a double bed room. very clean very nice plasma
washroom and hotel a bit older but well kept clean and decor is great.
location great connected to city center mall, good for shopping, lol
anyway back to the hotel, it is acess card at all times a bit annoying when your just used to pressing the button,lol. overall great hotel in house restaurant had an amazing breakfast buffet also enjoyed the weekend chocolate buffet! Oh the spa downstairs was amazing as well very educated in what they are doing and do a great job
the pool was clean and the only downfall was the room was attatched to another room and you CAN hear everything....the staff upon my departure were very helpful to help with luggage as i was almost late for my flight and helped me into airport limo quickly and pleasently also got a late checkout due to my flight leaving at 3 for free!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheapnclassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#39 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Property: The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Address: 10235 - 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Sutton Place Hotel you will notice the service, comfort and convenience we provide to each and every guest. Our 313 guest rooms and suites range in size from spacious traditional accommodations to our two storey luxurious Royal Suite. Connected to five major office towers and over 400 shops and businesses in the adjoining City Centre Mall, the property is ideally situated within the Arts district and downtown Edmonton. The hotel brings a taste of tradition and elegance to the heart of Alberta's Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing