We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed September 7, 2013

For downtown Edmonton and especially in winter months, have plus 15s that can take you anywhere without walking outside. Edmonton Centre with shopping is adjacent. Has been updated but it took forever to do. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast included is nothing more than stale pastry, boxed cereal and fruit that has seen better days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 621 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this hotel on line and they said parking was included, but when we arrived at the check in they told us that we have to pay for every night we stay at the hotel.
The final rate was much more expensive that if we would booked in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dama1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Sutton Place Hotel is known for class and outstanding customer service, but it was obvious that this particular hotel is in dire need of renovation. Our room was a descent size, that included a clean and comfortable queen beds. I probably expected a bit more for the price we paid, and I was extremely shock to learn that local calls were $1 each (not per minute) when I checked out of the hotel. There is no one to blame but myself - I should have definitely clarified this with the staff prior to making any calls.
The staff were friendly, check-in/out process was okay, swimming pool is located on the top level with a gorgeous view of downtown Edmonton. Negative aspect was the parking fee, which was $27/night, and the outdated style of the hotel.

Room Tip: For the price per night of this hotel, I would recommend checking in else where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was a frequent guest here 6 years ago and was always happy with the hotel. I recently stayed here and discovered that nothing has changed with the rooms (at least the room I stayed in). The restaurant is new, not sure when they added this, but it looked quite nice. I wasn't able to eat there so I cannot comment on the food / service.
The lobby has minor changes, mostly furniture, lighting, and lounge ceiling. The walls are still the honey colourd oak panel. If they wanted to go with the boutique hotel look (they added large purple velvet sofas, shag rug, new lighting), they should have painted the walls.
The staff were nice, I checked in late so there was only one person working. The free breakfast that was included in my rate was okay, typical continental breakfast.
The rooms were dated but relatively clean. The owners committed to a renovation a few years ago when they purchased it, I think thy need to move on this to uphold the Sutton brand as this property is nothing like the Vancouver hotel.
The rate was good, but I think I would try something else if I were returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itrvl4work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel was disappointing, not a disaster, but it just felt tired. The line to check in was always 5 or 6 people deep. One elevator wasn't working when we were there and even with all three elevators going it seemed that they would be insufficient. Our bathroom didn't feel as clean as it should have, especially the bathtub/shower. The rest of the hotel was just average. Everything looked liked it needed renovation, probably five years ago. This is a satisfactory hotel, but not a superior one that the Sutton Place name would normally convey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdn_Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We found our stay to be very pleasant. The room was large and comfortable, good bed! The maid staff vey thorough. Concierge and Security were very friendly and helpful, even suggested a great restaurant with a patio. The front desk ladies were excellent, very nice friendly and professional. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauisunset28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is slowly updating the lobby and is now looking more modern The service is always excellent and the room service food is excellent. I stay here for business as it is central location and am always treated very well . Friendly staff and helpful

Room Tip: get the rooms away from the elevator less people noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldmaxima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
0.4 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.3 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Address: 10235 - 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $143 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Sutton Place Hotel you will notice the service, comfort and convenience we provide to each and every guest. Our 313 guest rooms and suites range in size from spacious traditional accommodations to our two storey luxurious Royal Suite. Connected to five major office towers and over 400 shops and businesses in the adjoining City Centre Mall, the property is ideally situated within the Arts district and downtown Edmonton. The hotel brings a taste of tradition and elegance to the heart of Alberta's Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing