We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but trying hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm not sure how to best rate Sutton Place Hotel in Edmonton. It is a hotel with great potential that lives up to expectations in a few areas but is generally run down.

Reservations and Reception: were well handled, all my information was properly captured and recorded and staff were well prepared on my arrival. The receptionist was very pleasant and had a gentle sense of humour but was very soft-spoken and difficult to hear in what was a very noisy lobby at the time.

Parking: The hotel has underground parking that is easy to access. I had to move my car to another lot after one day as their lot was being closed for cleaning. The alternate parking was easy to find and the transition arrangements were fairly straight-forward.

Elevators/Hallways/Rooms: everything has a tired, worn-down look. Panels in the elevators are scratched and marked up and many have shifted or settled creating a "disheveled" look. Carpets, paint and furniture are all worn.

Equipment: everything worked from the clock, to the TV, to the plumbing all functioined as intended. The complimentary wireless was easy to connect to, however, is quite slow and only suitable for checking email or light browsing. I did not pay for the internet upgrade.

Housekeeping; was a pleasant surprise. They were very fast thoughout my stay and did a nice job with the exception of forgetting faceclothes on one day.

Meeting facilities: were pretty standard. I am one of those individuals who makes a lot of notes during a conference so found the tables a bit cramped, but when I look around the room I observed I was a definite minority.

Location: everything of interest in downton Edmonton is easy to find and if there is bad weather the pedway system is quite easy to navigate. Location is one of the Sutton Place's best attributes. I did find my room quite noisy with frequent interruptions from sirens or other street noise,

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator, I was in XX03 which is situated right across from the elevator and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 617 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sutton Place in Edmonton. Sadly the hotel is very dated and run down, also they don't even have a gift shop open to get snacks. After 8 at night finding anything open downtown is virtually impossible. Also you have to pay for the WIFI which is not the fastest it wouldn't even play Netflix very well. Staff were friendly but a little embarrassed that they didn't have anything in terms of a gift shop. One highlight is the new Chop Steakhouse in the lobby it is very nice and looks a little out of place compared to its surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A very tired hotel. The rooms are spacious but need to be updated. The beds are fine. It is rather a bizarre place and takes about a day to figure out how to get around in the hotel. The service in the restaurant in the hotel was very bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandwichhole6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Horrible experience at this hotel. The entire place is very dated and lacking modern upgrades but that's something that I can live with. My entire stay stay was just a comedy of errors. It started with their entire phone system being offline for the first 24 hrs of my stay. I then had to get FIVE different keycards re-coded over the course of a two night stay. Each time I had to wait at least ten minutes in line at the woefully understaffed front desk and each time I was told that the keycards must have come in contact with my cell phone. (which was not the case) I also had to call the front desk because the tempertaure controls were not working in the room. After waiting over an hour for someone to come and take a look, I called down again and it was obvious that no one had been sent and not so much as an apology when I told them not to bother because I was going to bed. The only redeeming qualities of this hotel is a friendly and efficient front desk agent named Andrea (the rest of the staff was indifferent or incompetent) and the lounge in the Chop restaurant was very nice with great staff. Everything else was terribly over-priced, run-down, unclean, and just overall disappointing. Can't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at a hotel for a local event at the Shaw Conference Center. The location of the hotel was perfect walking or taxi distance.

The hotel was busy and I had to park in a loading spot to get my ticket for garage parking. The garage looked brand new inside and made me feel safe.

The front desk staff was overwhelmed with customers and phone calls.

To access the elevator a customer is required to use their key and then again to pick a floor. This is an awesome extra security feature however becomes frustrating far too quickly.

The room had a king sized bed, a nice view, and large shower. It also had a safe in the closet. It did not have a microwave or refrigerator.

There was also a menu that one could hang in their room to preorder breakfast.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any individual staying in the area. It would be great for business or pleasure.

In addition to above there is a public computer in the lobby, free wifi thats password is whatever the month is, and finally, a Chop Steakhouse if you enjoy their food.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomreviewer1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Really hard to try and find a positive for this hotel to be honest. I agree with the other reviews, the hotel and the rooms especially seemed very dated. The blanket on my bed looked like it would be more suitable for my pet dog! The views from the room were good, we were on the 2nd top floor and the inclusion of a large LCD television was good but that's about it. Really for the price we were paying it was incredibly disappointing.

To top it all off I found out that I was paying $26 PER DAY to park downstairs after being told at check-in that it would be supplied complimentary. This is on top of the already high rate I was paying for the room. Didn't bother arguing with them about this and just left. Wont be coming back here again that's for sure. There are so many other fantastic hotels downtown in Edmonton, you're better off paying a little bit extra and getting somewhere a lot nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyPerth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nothing premier about this place: just a perfectly acceptable ordinary business stopover that's identical to a hundred other competitors. Bland standard room is comfortable enough for an overnight - but no bathrobe, cheapo amenities and lousy room service: they promised 30 minutes and took close to an hour, Switchboard no great shakes either: they kept an incoming call on hold for minutes. This may all have to do with corner-cutting to counter the economic slowdown, but it's taking the luster off the image of the SP chain.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
0.4 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.3 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#19 of 93 in Edmonton
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 93 in Edmonton
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
0.4 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#45 of 93 in Edmonton
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Address: 10235 - 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $122 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Sutton Place Hotel you will notice the service, comfort and convenience we provide to each and every guest. Our 313 guest rooms and suites range in size from spacious traditional accommodations to our two storey luxurious Royal Suite. Connected to five major office towers and over 400 shops and businesses in the adjoining City Centre Mall, the property is ideally situated within the Arts district and downtown Edmonton. The hotel brings a taste of tradition and elegance to the heart of Alberta's Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing