We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“good hotel room”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

although we didnt plan to stay in edmonton it was more of a convenience thing last minute, but even though edmonton had nothing much to offer, this hotel was just the ticket. It was having renovations going on but this really didnt bother us. nice welcoming reception staff and conceirge really helpful and friendly. the hotel room was huge, the bed was amazing, big and comfortable, quality furnishings and a large tv with inroom movies. in room dining was good, and plentiful. location was ok, walked to a nearby Dennys, and some shopping malls close by too.didnt venture to the pool and spa so cant comment. overall, a pleasant stay, kind of on the luxury side of things.nice toiletries in bathroom.maid service daily.overall a good hotel stay.we used the valet parking service which was helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylooKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    148
    185
    106
    84
See reviews for
89
114
38
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,233 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Can't beat the downtown location of this hotel. Close to many restaurants, Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton City Centre Mall (attached) and Grant MacEwan University. Rooms are spacious with decent beds and pillows. Slightly dated bathrooms but a wonderful selection of toiletries and fluffy towels. Room service is exceptional: quick and hot. Make sure you take advantage of evening turn down service. Extra bath robes will be provided on request. Can't say enough positive things about the front desk staff, concierge and maid service. If time allows, request a walking/running map from the concierge and take advantage of the magnificent paths along the river valley. Only minutes away and a complete escape from the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

the hotel was undergoing some restaurant renovations, but other than that, the room was comfortable and in a good downtown location. I would stay again. I took the shuttle from the airport, saved $45 versus a taxi too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettifog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For one they lost our reservation for two double beds. Since there were no rooms left with two double beds, their suggestion was a king and brought up a cot. Not ideal for two couples. Once we went to the room we found stains on the carpet and chair,of what we don't know. The bed sheets on the cot had holes in it. I would never stay here again. They were not apoligetic for losing ourreservation but suggested we find our reservation code so we would not get charged for our original one. Once we returned home and called with our code they said they found our reservation once we left.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal26_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Airdrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel lobby was quite nice and stylish despite some construction for a new restaurant.
The elevators seemed very dated but got us to our floor safe 
We had a king room on the 21st floor and at first glance seemed very nice, cozy and well laid out.
It was not until the next morning when it came to having a shower that we really noticed how grubby the bathroom was. The corners of the bath looked like they had not been cleaned. There was soap scum in the soap receptacle and the floor towel mat was absolutely filthy. We had to use face clothes to stand on.
We paid $27 for valet parking, however, it took 30 minutes for our car to be brought round. That was for both occasions we used the service
Considering we paid $175 for our night’s stay I am sure there are nicer hotels in that price range
Look elsewhere folks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLePew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We got a special deal from Expedia, so took our chances and arrived at the Sutton Place Hotel. My first impressions were that it was a 3rd rate place, very jaded Las Vegas decor, and the front staff was new; young woman didn't know a thing, neither did the other woman (older), both very unhelpful. Luckily the manager walked by and gave me information about other parking not associated with the hotel. I decided for pay for their $23 charge to park in the parkade beside the hotel. You have to take the stairs or elevator from the basement and then walk through a long hallway into the lobby area, cross it and use your room card to activate the elevator, so don't go out without it.

Since we were on the special rate, we were assigned to a double double bed room and it was OK for the price we paid: comfy beds but too small, Old TV from the '80s, small fridge (no cold) under the TV. But the bathroom! Let me tell you that there is a two-tiered strip of wood above the caulking and at first I thought it was dust. When I swiped it with my fingertips, it was icky mould! I took a piece of toilet paper, wetted it, wiped one bit, and the paper was brown and grey. Horrible housekeeping. The counter was not clean either, one can see spots from left-overs.

So I won't be staying there again, and I don't think I will try the "take your chances" somewhere in this general area offer either. I did not have a good overall experience but it was tolerable for one night. I could have gone elsewhere and I will if ever in Edmonton again.

Room Tip: Don't take the double beds if you have to share a bed. Too small. Check the bathroom for cleanli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnoisseurGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at Sutton Place in Edmonton for two nights while attending Sonic Boom at Northlands Expo Center.
Was a great central location in downtown Edmonton and a short taxi ride to the Expo Center.
Our room was very clean and tidy, enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed the facilities such as the indoor pool and spa.
Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
0.4 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Property: The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Address: 10235 - 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Sutton Place Hotel you will notice the service, comfort and convenience we provide to each and every guest. Our 313 guest rooms and suites range in size from spacious traditional accommodations to our two storey luxurious Royal Suite. Connected to five major office towers and over 400 shops and businesses in the adjoining City Centre Mall, the property is ideally situated within the Arts district and downtown Edmonton. The hotel brings a taste of tradition and elegance to the heart of Alberta's Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing