We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed April 9, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank E.l B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoedmonton, VP Sales & Operation at Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 231 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

we stayed at this hotel recently on 3-6 april, 2014 and i booked for one queen room and requested a fridge and microwave as usual. when arrived the hotel manager(he was smelling gross by the way) began to argue over the room type i booked and said i won't get any fridge and microwave and i have to pay extra for that . after arguing for 20 mins i decided to go with the room since it was weekend and most hotels were booked up .when i entered the room i saw fridge and microwave in my room. i felt like i wasted my 20 mins arguing with this stupid hotel manager who just doest knows which of his hotel rooms have fridge and microwave. and btw hotel is very noisy ,not juts because of the renovation. i requested an hour late checkout since i was driving all night, the lady told me i have to pay $30 extra for late checkout?? what?? seriously?? very terrible experience. I'm not ever going back to this hotel ever.

Room Tip: all rooms are congested and gross !!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, VP Sales at Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Mr. Manish A, a hotel worker from another brand of hotel, reserved a standard room and came to our hotel and demands a superior up-graded room, and he does not want to pay extra. Just to avoid his argument, we gave him a room with refrigerator and microwave. When he is checking-out with his female companion, he demanded to speak to the manager, then belligerently and sarcastically said "see we had what we want in our room" we told him 'Are you happy with your stay' , He said YES !!!. So have told him we are RENOVATING and please not to come back until we are FINISHED!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Reasonable price and Friendly Staff. And clean room. So far i m happy with the room and service. Keep up the good job and I look forward to visiting and staying in the hotel soon
Exciting to look forward after main renovation complete.

Andrew

Room Tip: Clean room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewYuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Mr. Andrew Yuen,

Thank you for staying in our hotel, even during our intensive renovations.
In behalf of the employees, staff, management and new owners of Howard Johnson Hotel,
we would like to thank you for your kindness, in seeing our efforts to serve you better.
We are fully renovating the hotel to have a better product for you,
as well, we are re-training (service quality) ourselves to be at par (maybe better) than most hotels.
Hopefully to see you soon !!!!

Cas N.
Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The friendliest and most accommodating staff! Front desk Adrian made our stay so convenient, giving us the best service possible. Affordable price for such a cozy place, worth the money i spent for the days accommodation. Keep up the good job and I look forward to visiting and staying in the hotel soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinkee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Ms. Jinkee S
In behalf of the employees, staff, management and new owners of Howard Johnson Hotel, we would like to thank you for your kindness, in seeing our efforts to serve you better.
We are fully renovating the hotel to have a better product for you.
Hopefully to see you soon !!!!

Cas N.
Howard Johnson Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jean-paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is just gross. When we checked in there was pee all over the toilet from the previous guests, toilet did not flush. It smells, balconies are just plain dangerous. Worst stay of my life. It looks like it should be rented out by the hour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pennerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your comment.
Comments like this encourages us and confirms our decision to do our major renovations that we have started. By the end of spring, new rooms, new restaurant & atmosphere.
Please try us, for the first time , again.
Cas N. H.J. Edmonton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoedmonton, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#49 of 93 in Edmonton
225 reviews
Travelodge Edmonton East
#78 of 93 in Edmonton
195 reviews
Place LaRue
Best Western Plus Westwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yellowhead Inn
#33 of 93 in Edmonton
370 reviews
Thriftlodge Edmonton
#81 of 93 in Edmonton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton

Address: 15540 Stony Plain Rd NW | NW Corner 156th St & 101st Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5P 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $54 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Edmonton
Edmonton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing