We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent business hotel...clean...good food and close to mall.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Vancouver
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very decent business hotel...clean...good food and close to mall.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Over the last 2 years I have spent about 3 months at this hotel! Its clean...staff is friendly and the food is surprisingly good and reasonable in price. Its a perfect place for business travel. Quiet and well located on the west side. Within a 5 minute drive you can be at the mall...walmart...and at least 15 restaurants if you choose to have din outside the hotel. I stay on the executive side...spacious well appointed rooms. I look forward to my next stay. Free parking and internet a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    38
    22
    28
See reviews for
67
53
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Only stayed this time for two nights and didn't spend enough time to even use the health centre. Aside from a missing on-line reservation (for which I had a printed copy of the reservation with me), we had no issues whatsoever.

As mentioned, aside from them not having our reservation, which I made on line and had a printed copy of and therefore was able to get the reduced rate I had reserved at, there were no issues with registering and the front staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The room had two queen size beds, very comfortable, and the room was a nice size with lots of room to move around. TV, movies, games, the works -- not that we had any time to enjoy anything but one move late on the first night. But it was nice to know the options were there.

The bathroom was exceptionally clean and comfortable, room to move, plenty of towels and amenities.

Overall this was a very comfortable place to stay and was in a nice location with easy access to the west end attractions and convenient routes to access other areas of the city. We would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowknifer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

The lobby of the hotel is large and inviting. There is a nice little bar just across from the recpetion desk. There is only one computer with internet access which is located right beside the bar. This was kind of disappointing, I was expecting a business room with a couple computers. The girls at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. I also found the cleaning ladies to be quite friendly as well.
The elevators are large, but are quite disgusting and run down. The hallways have very low ceilings and had a musty smell to them.
The room was quite clean, but still had a bit of a musty smell to it. The beds seemed older but they were fairly comfortable. I couldn't hear anything going on in any rooms around me, which was nice.
It's located fairly close to West Edmonton Mall, and several nice restaurants (the Keg, and Koutouki)
I don't think that this hotel is worth the price they charge($110+ per night),I would say that this hotel is worth only around $70-$80 per night. If they decide to update this place to modern standards and figure a way to get rid of the smell then I will come back and pay the price they want. Until then however I will find another place to stay next time I'm in Edmonton.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianDeparture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

I travelled with a group of 8 girls, split into two rooms. We paid $70/night plus 4 free passes to the west ed waterpark or amusement park. The room itself was decent, pretty typical of other hotels in the age range, really no complaints from anyone in our groups. Hotel was quiet at night and we could not here sounds from the other rooms. We only used the hot tubs/sauna for maybe 1/2 hour, but seemed nice.
When we first arrived at the hotel, the lobby looked pretty impressive, but the corridors to the hotel were interesting, very long and covered with some kind of cement rock stuff. The walk to our room was long and our feet hurt, but our feet hurt even more from walking in the mall. I would stay at this hotel again if I wanted to be near the mall again. The bonus coupons really gave us extra incentive to stay at this hotel as we planned on going to the water park and amusement park.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HillaryLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

This place is disgusting! The beds are 100 years old with springs hanging out, the place was dirty, smelled, noisy.......could hear the guy next door peeing!
Asked for a blanket and pillow and never did receive them........... I would sleep in my car before staying there again!!!! DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YOU KNOW TV SHOWS WHERE IT SHOWS THE HOTEL PER HOUR..........THAT IS WHAT THIS IS!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelizinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed here on a family trip to West Ed.

Check in was fast, Lobby was clean.

Room was nice, 2 queen sized beds (the little one loved it!)
Room was clean...lots of towels, extra pillows in the closet.

Hotel seemed to be a bit older, but was priced right for our stay for the weekend.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungBuck47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

I stayed here for 2 weeks for a work trip, it's a good hotel but you'll need a car to get anywhere from here. No view, friendly staff, nice rooms for an older building.

Why can't any hotel put decent coffee in the rooms?!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0URI5T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Ramada Edmonton West
#52 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#42 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton

Property: Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Address: 10010 178th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best rest in West Edmonton Whether you are here for business or leisure, the recently update Executive Royal Hotel, conveniently located in the heart of West Edmonton is the preferred destination. This full service, convention hotel is located within walking distance of the world famous West Edmonton Mall and 15 minutes from downtown and the new Edmonton Arena District The hotel faculties include 235 tastily appointed guest room and suites, licensed full service Steels Cafe & Grill and Mirage Lounge, banquet and meeting rooms, business centre and a fitness centre. We invite you to experience the Executive Royal Hotel West Edmonton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Royal Hotel West Edmonton
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing