We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Edmonton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Edmonton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel and found it to be a good value property. Room was spacious and clean. At three times at the restaurant for breakfast. First day was excellent. Very hot food and very quick service. The last two days was disappointing. Fast service but cold food.

One freaky thing is the lighting in the hallways. They are on a motion detector so it takes a view seconds for the lights to on....

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good hotel in Edmonton.

Room Tip: I always stay on top floor to see the view of the city!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear trace l;
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent stay at the Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton.

It will give me great pleasure to share your positive feedback about your service from our staff. We take great pride in surrounding ourselves with caring, professional people and it is particularly satisfying when our guests let us know we are succeeding. I have passed on your concerns about the quality of the restaurant food to my Food & Beverage team.

Thank you for your feedback and telling us where we are doing a good job. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    38
    22
    28
See reviews for
67
53
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the royal in Edmonton for a weekend while we checked out the mall. It was a very pleasant stay the staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food from the bar was really nicely done, the room was spotless and cleaned daily. All in all we would definitely go back again on our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms were good we stayed in 217.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Maxine J
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent stay at the Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton.

It will give me great pleasure to share your positive feedback about your service from our staff. We take great pride in surrounding ourselves with caring, professional people and it is particularly satisfying when our guests let us know we are succeeding.

Thank you for your feedback and telling us where we are doing a good job. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife just spent a night in one of the best hotels in Edmonton, the rooms and beds were beautiful, the staff were very good, and the food served second to none, the server for breakfast, thank you!!! Great smile and fast service, definitely easy to review just great, thank you again, we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Hughdillon

Thank you for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review about your recent stay at the Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton.

It will give me great pleasure to share your positive feedback about your service from our staff. We take great pride in surrounding ourselves with caring, professional people and it is particularly satisfying when our guests let us know we are succeeding.

Thank you for your feedback and telling us where we are doing a good job. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The first few nights of staying in the Hotel were decent. The bed was good, and the room wasn't too cramped. However, 3 nights after staying in the Hotel, a bunch of families started showing up and were all placed on the same floor that I was. Obviously this Hotel doesn't know the difference between a business customer and a family on vacation. Two nights in a row, I had to listen to screaming kids running up and down the hallway. Another big annoyance was the lack of lubrication on the door hinges. Every door squealed when it was opened or closed, and the door required a hard pull to close it. The Management rectified the family noise issues after moving them to the end of the hall, but the damage was already done. I expect other hotels in the West End to suffer from the same problems, due to West Edmonton Mall being a big attraction for a lot of families. Lesson learned, avoid this Hotel if you are a business traveller.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with double beds, unless you want to get stuck with families that have unruly childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VE7ELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear VE7EL
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of your past August visit at the Executive Royal HotelEdmonton.

I will be meeting with both my Security and Maintenance teams this week, working with them to ensure that these situations that you had experienced will not be repeated.

Again, I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns with me. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove that we can provide you with the quality of comfort and service that you deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hot tubs weren't working properly; A/C was not efficient; restaurant & bar service and food were great. Wifi is good. Only one elevator to access the rooms and takes along time to get to the level you're on. Front desk staff let me park in front of the main access doors to the hotel. Check-in takes a while.

Room Tip: Do not ever stay / reserve or waste your time here. This place needs an over haul interms of servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 952PINGPONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Terry D
I would like to thank you for taking the time to submt a trip advisor review regarding your recent experience at the Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton. This type of feedback is essential if we are to maintain the standard of excellence that we have set for ourselves.

Your disappointment in some of the services you received was made clear in your comments to us, and I would like to offer my most sincere apologies.. I have spoken with my Management Team and I can assure you that I will work more closely with them to ensure that these situations are not repeated.

Again, I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns with me. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove that we can provide you with the quality of comfort and service that you deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here one night during our visit to Edmonton. We were going to the West Edmonton mall which is only a few km away. The room was quite nice with a very comfy king size bed. Nothing fancy but quite nice. All in all i would stay there again.
cheers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Neil H

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent stay at the Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton.

It will give me great pleasure to share your positive feedback about your service from our staff. We take great pride in surrounding ourselves with caring, professional people and it is particularly satisfying when our guests let us know we are succeeding.

Thank you for your feedback and telling us where we are doing a good job. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked through Hotels.com for an executive King Suite and when we got to the room, it was a 2-Queen room which is also much smaller than the King Executive. Called the reception and had to go back down to have it switched. First said it wasn't ready but I had to insist as I wasn't going to be back until much later and didn't want to bring luggage back to the car. She suddenly found one that was ready after I got a bit upset...
Room was very nice and clean, comfortable bed and sofa-bed for the kids. Unfortunately, AC was broken and we were very uncomfortable in the morning. Turned it on when went to bed and tried throughout the night to see if we hadn't set it right but it really never turned on. Told reception in the morning but said I should have called at night! Yeah right, when the kids are asleep and it's about midnight, we'll have a repairman come to try and fix the AC...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear LLFamily2013:
Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor Review of your recent stay at the Executive Royal Hote Edmonton.

Your disappointment in the service you received was made clear in your comments to us, and I would like to offer my most sincere apologies. There is no excuse for the lack of service and attention to detail you experienced. I have spoken with both my Guest Service and Maintenace Departments and I can assure you that I will be working more closely with them to ensure that this situation is not repeated.

Again, I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove that we can provide you with the quality of comfort and service that you deserve.

Yours in Hospitality,
Darrell Pearson
General Manager
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Ramada Edmonton West
#52 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#42 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton

Property: Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Address: 10010 178th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best rest in West Edmonton Whether you are here for business or leisure, the recently update Executive Royal Hotel, conveniently located in the heart of West Edmonton is the preferred destination. This full service, convention hotel is located within walking distance of the world famous West Edmonton Mall and 15 minutes from downtown and the new Edmonton Arena District The hotel faculties include 235 tastily appointed guest room and suites, licensed full service Steels Cafe & Grill and Mirage Lounge, banquet and meeting rooms, business centre and a fitness centre. We invite you to experience the Executive Royal Hotel West Edmonton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Royal Hotel West Edmonton
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing