We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover spot near Edmonton Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I used this hotel prior to our vacation as well as on our return. The hotel is fine. Nothing spectacular, nothing wrong with it. On our return we were in the newer wing which was, obviously newer and somewhat nicer. It is near the airport. There is a shuttle that runs, if not all night, pretty much all night so that is very handy. It is also right next to Park and Fly so when we got up in the morning, my husband just walked over and picked up the car. There is a full restaurant in the hotel - food is average but prices are high for what you get.
All in all, this hotel was clean and had everything you need. We have used it before for a stopover hotel and we may use it again but don't go there looking for spectacular.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room away from ice machines and elevators. This request was honoured here.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel April 28th and 29th. We stayed in the "honeymoon suite" because Saturday night was overbooked in Edmonton and the was one of the last "decent" rooms available on short notice. The room was extremely clean and the finishes were new. It had granite in the bathroom and an older two person jet tub. All bedding was clean, leather sofa, nice carpet, etc.

The bad part...no hot water Sunday morning at 9:00am and Luke warm water at best on Monday morning. As the hotel was fully booked on Saturday night so we forgave Sunday morning, but when I asked about the water upon checkout and why they had no hot water in the mornings the reply was: "we haven't had any complaints this morning...<snicker to associate>. Really? I guess to the staff, $240.00 a night hard earned money isn't enough to receive basic customer service.

I didn't ask, but again, a bit of a discount off of $500 for no hot water two mornings in a row Would have been nice. A coupon for next time or a discount would have earned them a decent review.

As it stands, we wouldn't go back and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless you like poor customer service.

Other reviewers commented on the "jailhouse" hallways. I liked the architecture but we were really surprised at how poor he sound insulation was between rooms and hallways in a masonry building. Don't stay here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell_Pearson, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Randy P
I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review regarding your recent experience at the Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton. This type of feedback is essential if we are to maintain the standard of excellence that we have set for ourselves.

Randy, I am surprised that you had an issue with the lack of hot water in your suite, for we had no other guest room concerns of such over the course of the weekend. A phone call to the front desk on the first day of the issue would have sent up our maintenance team to investigate.

Again, I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove that we can provide you with the quality of comfort and service that you deserve.

Darrell Pearson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was in town for business and found this location great while doing work at the west Edmonton mall. The room was comfortable, the desk in the room made it a good work station for late night computer work

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordtgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spend 2 days in this hotel during the Easter holiday, the staff was great, the hotel is very well located, close to the west Edmonton mall, and across and near many fast food place and also many great restaurants are at walking distance. The hotel also had a brunch on Easter morning which we didn't have due to timings but the display and the food available was unbelievable. The room was very clean and the hotel too. On the down side one elevator was being repaired at the time which made waiting time a bit longer. They were also giving free iTunes card valued 10$. Overall, I will return for sure.

Room Tip: No swimming pool but their was 2 large hot tubs with a small training area,
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

really dirty and messy hallways over days.heater was not able to warm up the room.staff was more than unmotivated. that steels restaurant is expensive and the food is really bad, we ended up eating the last days over at the best western. never again! !! we learned ouer lesson about this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chdbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is in need of a major update. It is trapped in the 70's. the corridors to get to the rooms are long, the one we walked down smelt like a public toilet and the ceiling is really low. If you over 6 4" you will be pushing it!
The elevator is really old and scruffy.
The room was clean and the bed comfy although not enough bedding.
Plus side, there is a bowl of green apples at reception which you can take from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#49 of 93 in Edmonton
226 reviews
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
717 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Ramada Edmonton West
#53 of 93 in Edmonton
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton

Address: 10010 178 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $92 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are here for business or leisure, the recently update Executive Royal Hotel, conveniently located in the heart of West Edmonton is the preferred destination. This full service, convention hotel is located within walking distance of the world famous West Edmonton Mall and 15 minutes from downtown and Ice District. The hotel facilities include 235 tastily appointed guest room and suites, licensed full service Steels Cafe & Grill and Mirage Lounge, banquet and meeting rooms, business center and a fitness center. We invite you to experience the Executive Royal Hotel West Edmonton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Royal Hotel West Edmonton
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing