We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice if you Get Renovated Room -but Souless” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice if you Get Renovated Room -but Souless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

It is a big older concrete block hotel and with huge souless lobby. Very friendy front desk and housekeeping staff. In midst of lots of renovations but tidy and not working late or starting early. Showers are prefab and even though I am not tall (5'9') I found I had to stoop to use shower. Near a very large choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    38
    22
    28
See reviews for
67
53
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a few nights as we visited the West Edmonton Mall. We had bought vouchers from livingsocial.com that entitled us to two nights at the hotel, two passes to the water park at WEM, and breakfast.

We did get one of the older rooms, but it was clean and quiet. The hallways were a little strange - in need of a desperate update... and the elevator, kind of creepy. But that was minor. The price of the hotel and extras was well worth it, and those weren't the most important things.

All in all, we had a good time. Great location from WEM, literally just down the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found the hotel to be pretty good! The walls are a little outdated (like other reviews said looked like jail). We asked for a renovated room which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reannareema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppersands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Booked this hotel through Expedia and sure glad I did. Paid 76.30 a night and stayed for 3 nights. Great location close to West Ed Mall. Lots of other restaurants close by. The staff were very friendly. Our room was awesome!! Big spacious room with a huge flat screen tv. Beds were comfortable and clean. I did have to call the front desk and ask why our room hadnt been cleaned the second day we were there and eventually someone came and did a quick clean, could have been done better. I had trouble with the wireless internet, my laptop would not pick up their signal but it would pick up the Holiday Inn next door but that was useless because you need a password for theirs. There is a computer in the lobby that I was able to use. The hot tubs were great to use after a long tiring day at the West Ed Mall. Wasn't thrilled with the continental breakfast that is provided. We only used it for the first day as the selection is terrible. Its ok if you just want cereal and toast but with two teenage sons it wasnt enough. Other than that it was a great hotel, will definately book this one again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to purchase a two night stay at this hotel using a Groupon sale. The hotel was under some sort of renovations.

-We were given wrong directions to our room.

-Room smelled like it was a smoking room when it was non-smoking.

-Windows wouldn't open.

-Missing coffee table.

-Toilet had urine (was obviously not cleaned).

-Ice machine did not work and there was no sign to indicate it was broken or where to go for ice.

-Air conditioning unit was not set up properly. Sign said to use the wall thermostat to control the unit. When I couldn't find the thermostat I asked front desk and they said that the controls were on the unit (why have an incorrect sign to confuse people?)

-I left my camera and battery charger in the room. The next guest found it (why didn't housekeeping find it first?). They were supposed to ship it back to me but to this day I still don't have the battery and charger.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor. Ice machines don't work and the windows don't open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redox9k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

- The pillows were not changed, smelled bad and there was hair.
- The toilet was clogged.
- The floor was a mess
- Outside noise while sleeping.
- No fans in the workout room, it's already hot enough with the hot tubs running.
- Great location with fast food restaurants such as, McDonald's, KFC, Arby's, Pizza Hut and more plus a gas station. Close to W.E.M.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justnik01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

my husband & our 2 boys stayed several times at this hotel - we found staff friendly & helpful , the breakfast was great, the location of hotel is only 20 minutes walk from the west edmonton mall & with two active boys this was great for them to burn some energy off prior to bed. the parking lot is big -always enough parking for my truck. my sons enjoyed the games / arcade room located in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Ramada Edmonton West
#52 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#42 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton

Property: Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Address: 10010 178th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best rest in West Edmonton Whether you are here for business or leisure, the recently update Executive Royal Hotel, conveniently located in the heart of West Edmonton is the preferred destination. This full service, convention hotel is located within walking distance of the world famous West Edmonton Mall and 15 minutes from downtown and the new Edmonton Arena District The hotel faculties include 235 tastily appointed guest room and suites, licensed full service Steels Cafe & Grill and Mirage Lounge, banquet and meeting rooms, business centre and a fitness centre. We invite you to experience the Executive Royal Hotel West Edmonton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Royal Hotel West Edmonton
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing