We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO YOURSLEF A FAVOUR DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO YOURSLEF A FAVOUR DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The room and beds were very small. There was hair and bugs on the floors, ceilings, and tub. The walls are very thin and there are permanent residents who look like regular drug users. They slam the doors repeatedly day and night. The air conditioner did not work and it was hot and stifling in the room. We had booked for two nights but complained of the conditions and left after the first night. We were charged for the 2nd night even though we were very unhappy and even had Booking.com call to complain on our behalf also. Do yourself a favour, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We find it difficult to believe that in todays world a guest would not have complained to the front about all of the issues that you mentioned. We don't run this type of operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    20
    7
    19
See reviews for
29
21
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The only positive here is that the room is clean, but it is impossible to sleep as the walls are paper thin. People in the next rooms are just chatting in a normal voice and every word can be heard. We had a queen bed which was the smallest queen I have ever seen ... a double was what it really was. The front lobby reeks of cigarette smoke thus setting off my asthma. Surely management could ensure that people stay away from the front doors when smoking. Only one night table. Our room looked at a concrete wall and was hot with no way to regulate temperature. The TV was still the big old clunker. We stayed here due to a wedding on the north end of Edmonton, but we should have just stayed downtown. I am tired and cranky due to little sleep and my asthma is not happy. Give this place a miss!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank diesel1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comment, what you failed to mentioned is, that you were upgraded to the tower when a room became available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Staying at the Rosslyn right now and not happy. Booked a room online and ended up with a very dumpy room on the main floor. Was billed as a Queen room, but the bed is actually a double. The window looks on to a brick wall. When I went to front desk to complain about the room not being a 'queen' as booked, the attendant said the room was a standard queen and there was nothing they could do. If to HAVE to stay here, specifically ask for a room in the tower as it is newer and HAS TO BE better than this squalid room I am in now. I am here for my brother's wedding and this stay at the Rosslyn will certainly take away from what should be a happy time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Guests reserve rooms but availability when the guest is checking in is what sometimes determines where you are placed. It's not that a hotel is being mean, it's providing you with the best it has available to offer you at that moment. As you can imagine, many factors are in play. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you, we can only ask that you provide us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 2 night 1 in a Queen room and in a family suite..

Both rooms were very clean and bed was great, though the pillows could have been a little firmer for my liking!

The room with 1 queen was the is the SMALLEST HOTEL I've seen is my travels! I should have took pics. It was room 515 and I think all the rooms ending in 15 would be small as they are beside the elevator!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment. You are correct the 15's are our smallest rooms and oddly enough some of our most frequently requested for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We chose this hotel first and foremost for our trip this Valentines. We stayed here 2 years ago and loved it, and immediately thought of it again for this trip. Wonderful hotel. The staff are very friendly and eager to help. With this hotel it's indeed the small things that count! We stay in the jacuzzi suite so cannot comment on other less expensive rooms, but definitely recommend the jacuzzi suite! One of the best Edmonton has to offer. There is a great fridge which is stocked with yummy flavored coffee creamer, and the coffee is very good. Lovely little chocolates, fibre bars, and water bottles awaited us in our room (though last time we had a big basket of goodies, bummed to not have that again but still the treats were nice). The bathroom is stocked to the nines with luxury amenities, everything from a shoe polisher & horn to mouthwash to cotton swabs ... among the usual's. Loved that!! It's a rainfall shower, divine. There are bath salts for the jacuzzi tub. The jacuzzi tub felt wonderful, we relaxed in the tub while we watched a movie (movies that are still in theater are offered on the TV). The fireplace is the added bonus, making it a total vacation package. The bed is very VERY comfortable, one of the better ones. Feel wonderfully rejuvenated after our stay. Side note: when a lady came in who was traveling with her cat, the Manager gave her a little packaged bag of cat toys/treats! Wow now that's service! Have to pay for use of the business center but it's not too expensive (I just needed to print off our tickets, which was quick and easy). Would have liked to know though that printing would cost extra minutes so I wouldn't have to purchase more time. Hotel is very clean and well maintained. Restaurant is average, normal food nothing exceptional or in our opinion very good per-say, but it is cost effective and the decor/setting is nice, relaxing and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MykyNyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we ran out od space for a complimentary business centre when the hotel was last redeveloped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have to admit when I read some of the reviews, I was somewhat worried about whether or not we made the right decision, but it was in the best location for us to go house hunting. However, after being there for 4 nights (including a weekend), we were very pleased with the hotel. Our room was on the 5th floor with the window to the bar side. We did not hear any noise from the bar and minimal to no noise from the traffic. The location was very handy to restaurants and groceries. Our room was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. Although the showerhead did leak a little, we loved the fact that the height of the showerhead was adjustable. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The one thing that was somewhat annoying is that the internet was somewhat sketchy. It was a little frustrating at times when you kept having to reload a page you're browsing because we lost the internet connection, but aside from that, we were very please and will be returning later in February with our cats (they do allow pets). If anyone is worried about that I was told that all the pets are on the 2nd floor only.

Room Tip: If you are worried about traffic noise try the 5th floor in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ehgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your objective comments. In the future, may we request that you report any maintenace issues diretly to the desk so we can have them looked at. We'll speak to IT about the internet connectivity as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I got to stay here for only one night, as we were going through Edmonton, I would have loved to stay longer. I reserved a room via Booking.com and arrived in the evening to find everything in fine order. The main areas of the hotel are clean, well presented and very welcoming. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As I have worked in hotel housekeeping for 11 years, cleanliness is very important to me. I found our suite beautiful, comfortable and clean. The bed was spotless and so soft and comfy. There was also a fireplace with heat, an exquisite Jacuzzi, a big screen tv, and all the bells and whistles. After a very long day on the road from Jasper we relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our room! We went for breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and were pleasantly surprised at the great breakfast at a very reasonable price. We are already planning on going back to spend some time shopping at the WEM (as we had to leave due to weather) and we will be staying here again for sure. Looking forward to seeing you again Rosslyn!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sionainn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we will print and post them for the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Chateau Nova Yellowhead
#31 of 93 in Edmonton
129 reviews
Chateau Nova Kingsway
#63 of 93 in Edmonton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Inn and Suites

Property: Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Address: 13620 97 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5E 4E2, Canada (Formerly Rosslyn Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosslyn Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
92 room value oriented property. Offers a cold continental breakfast, free parking and is a pet friendly facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosslyn Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Edmonton
Rosslyn Inn And Suites Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing