We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We chose this hotel first and foremost for our trip this Valentines. We stayed here 2 years ago and loved it, and immediately thought of it again for this trip. Wonderful hotel. The staff are very friendly and eager to help. With this hotel it's indeed the small things that count! We stay in the jacuzzi suite so cannot comment on other less expensive rooms, but definitely recommend the jacuzzi suite! One of the best Edmonton has to offer. There is a great fridge which is stocked with yummy flavored coffee creamer, and the coffee is very good. Lovely little chocolates, fibre bars, and water bottles awaited us in our room (though last time we had a big basket of goodies, bummed to not have that again but still the treats were nice). The bathroom is stocked to the nines with luxury amenities, everything from a shoe polisher & horn to mouthwash to cotton swabs ... among the usual's. Loved that!! It's a rainfall shower, divine. There are bath salts for the jacuzzi tub. The jacuzzi tub felt wonderful, we relaxed in the tub while we watched a movie (movies that are still in theater are offered on the TV). The fireplace is the added bonus, making it a total vacation package. The bed is very VERY comfortable, one of the better ones. Feel wonderfully rejuvenated after our stay. Side note: when a lady came in who was traveling with her cat, the Manager gave her a little packaged bag of cat toys/treats! Wow now that's service! Have to pay for use of the business center but it's not too expensive (I just needed to print off our tickets, which was quick and easy). Would have liked to know though that printing would cost extra minutes so I wouldn't have to purchase more time. Hotel is very clean and well maintained. Restaurant is average, normal food nothing exceptional or in our opinion very good per-say, but it is cost effective and the decor/setting is nice, relaxing and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MykyNyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we ran out od space for a complimentary business centre when the hotel was last redeveloped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    20
    7
    19
See reviews for
29
20
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have to admit when I read some of the reviews, I was somewhat worried about whether or not we made the right decision, but it was in the best location for us to go house hunting. However, after being there for 4 nights (including a weekend), we were very pleased with the hotel. Our room was on the 5th floor with the window to the bar side. We did not hear any noise from the bar and minimal to no noise from the traffic. The location was very handy to restaurants and groceries. Our room was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. Although the showerhead did leak a little, we loved the fact that the height of the showerhead was adjustable. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The one thing that was somewhat annoying is that the internet was somewhat sketchy. It was a little frustrating at times when you kept having to reload a page you're browsing because we lost the internet connection, but aside from that, we were very please and will be returning later in February with our cats (they do allow pets). If anyone is worried about that I was told that all the pets are on the 2nd floor only.

Room Tip: If you are worried about traffic noise try the 5th floor in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ehgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your objective comments. In the future, may we request that you report any maintenace issues diretly to the desk so we can have them looked at. We'll speak to IT about the internet connectivity as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I got to stay here for only one night, as we were going through Edmonton, I would have loved to stay longer. I reserved a room via Booking.com and arrived in the evening to find everything in fine order. The main areas of the hotel are clean, well presented and very welcoming. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As I have worked in hotel housekeeping for 11 years, cleanliness is very important to me. I found our suite beautiful, comfortable and clean. The bed was spotless and so soft and comfy. There was also a fireplace with heat, an exquisite Jacuzzi, a big screen tv, and all the bells and whistles. After a very long day on the road from Jasper we relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our room! We went for breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and were pleasantly surprised at the great breakfast at a very reasonable price. We are already planning on going back to spend some time shopping at the WEM (as we had to leave due to weather) and we will be staying here again for sure. Looking forward to seeing you again Rosslyn!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sionainn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we will print and post them for the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we choose the time around Thanksgiving for us Americans travellers to go and visit my great aunt in Edmonton. She did recommend this hotel to us. and as a family of four it was what we needed especially the separate room for my hubby and i and the kids get to sleep on the sofa bed in the living room. I did have some reservations in re: some of the reviews but since i will be here for 4 days and the family suite is what i needed with being close to my aunt .. i booked.

Lots of parking out there for they own the lot so you can park anywhere as long as you have the permit that the hotel gives you.
Location is excellent - Walmart, $1 stores, Shoppers drug mart, lots of eatery etc etc
The carpet need changing it just looked old and you are not sure if it is clean or not.
The(hotel) should have a separate thermostat for the living room and the bedroom temperature control.
I Like the cereal bars and water they provide during the evening .. also they provide us with flavor creamers, plates, cups and utensils.
The workers who clean the rooms were nice - the once i have encountered.
Leaving at 5 in the morning and asking direction to get on the highway.. the clerk did not know how to get on to the highway - and you live and work in Edmonton. :(
Overall it was a good trip and i will stay here again and i do recommend this hotel -despite the changes i think that are needed.

P.S. checking in and out was a breeze :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We agree with your comment on the carpeting. We are in the process of replacing them, we are staring with the lounge area in February followed by the public area's in April or May (Lobby, Guestroom Hallways and Meeting Rooms) and then followed by the guestrooms in the fall.

We do apologize for our staff not being able to provide you with directions to one of the three highways in our area. I'm quite surprised that they didn't google map it for you, we will work on that part of their training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As there doesn't seem to be much offered in the way of pet friendly hotels in the north end of Edmonton, we felt we had no choice but to stay here again. We had stayed here during our move to Edmonton in 2010 and said we would try to find another one for our move out. The only other hotel close enough that allowed pets is in St. Albert and unfortunately was booked for the nights we needed. So we reluctantly booked the Rosslyn again. They did accomodate our 4 pets, which was great. However, after specifically requesting a non-smoking pet friendly room, the first room we were given just reeked of cigarette smoke, so much I actually gagged when I opened the door! The staff was helpful and gave us another room right away, one problem - it too reeked like an old dirty ash tray! Back down to the front desk I went and this time the staff actually came up to check the rooms before giving it to us ... finally room # 4 was okay and was tolerable. Although I can tell you that by day # 3 of our stay the cigarette smell was starting to come out of the carpets again, we were glad to be leaving the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Even though we are a non smoking hotel, that doesn't stop others from smoking in the guestrooms. We do try our best to return them to a non smoked in status, it appears we did not succeed in your case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

When we drove up to the hotel we were a little confused as we could not find a place to park as the parking lit for the hotel was a little difficult to find. The area seemed a little shady but I don't know Edmonton very well.
When it came to checking in, it was a bit of a problem. My husband and I walked in each with a sleeping child. His ID was better accessible and rather than just keeping the room under my name the agent had to take the time to do a completely new one while we were struggling.
When we got to our room the floors were a little wet as we think the floors were steam cleaned as my husband and daughter have allergies to pets. That was a nice surprise.
The bed was not so comfortable. We had a king sized bed in a suite that had indents on each side and quite lumpy.
In the morning I was leaving the hotel and decided to take the stairs which turned out to be the fire escape with all doors locked and an alarmed door at the bottom. I set off the alarm and went to the front desk to tell them what I did. Rather than an apology I got a snooty "maybe today will be the day we put up the proper signs".
I honestly don't think we will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
The hotel parking lot at the front of the hotel is well lit and has 150 parking stalls. Your concern over the Emergency Stairs was discussed with our Maintenance Manager, we have concluded that you entered the stairwell during the time that he was removing the old signs indicating the stair case was an emergency exit only and installing the new LARGER signs which measure 30 inches wide by 20 inches high. For that you, please accept our sincere apologies for being inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our intro to the Rosslyn was a little rough with the first three non smoking rooms smelling strongly of cigarette smoke, but the staff accommodated us and found us a room without the smell. Unfortunately the worst part about the hotel was not the hotel itself but the location. Stuck in the middle of a poorly designed retail mall and at the cross roads off two major roads, parking was a daily adventure and the bar next to the hotel invited some questionable folks. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were clean, well kept and nicely laid out.

Room Tip: lower level rooms invite you to partake in the conversations of the bar attendees. If you can, try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
The hotel and strip mall are located on the corner of a residential neighbourhood. Our VLT lounge and Horses off Track are a quiet location where many of the locals drop in to meet up with friends and have some fun. The hotel also has 389 parking spaces, on very rare occasions such as a major event are they all used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
277 reviews
Chateau Nova Yellowhead
#30 of 93 in Edmonton
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Inn and Suites

Property: Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Address: 13620 97 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5E 4E2, Canada (Formerly Rosslyn Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosslyn Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosslyn Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Edmonton
Rosslyn Inn And Suites Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing